We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fully equipped cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Parkfields Stable has been beautifully designed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Parkfields Stable has been beautifully designed
The cottage is really warm and cosy Super kingsize bedroom with plenty of storage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Parkfields Stable has been beautifully designed
The cottage is really warm and cosy
Super kingsize bedroom with plenty of storage
This bed is really comfortable!
Twin bedroom with excellent storage and views to the back of the cottage
The cottage is light and airy with windows looking out on great views
The kitchen is brilliantly equipped with everything you need
Double doors from the sitting room lead onto a patio at the back
We aim for homely but without the clutter!
This looks out onto our field at the front
There is a BBQ, outdoor furniture and lots of space to store bikes etc
The Stable was extended a few years ago then architect and interior designed inside
View across the fields from the back garden
View from the back garden towards Ashbourne
Back garden with fields beyond
Fields behind the cottage - this leads down to a stream and footpath to Ashbourne
We are surrounded by fields.  There are beautiful views and birds of prey
View from the front of the cottage - this is also the view from the super kingsize bedroom
Field to front of cottage
View from the front of the cottage
This was our winter wonderland of a few years ago
From the front of the cottage cut across the fields opposite and pick up the path to Kniveton
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kniveton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
madavis33
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fully equipped cottage”
Reviewed May 7, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed our short break in this beautiful cottage. Very friendly and helpful owners.
Extremely clean and with nice little extras of good quality. Let's not forget the yummy Lemon Drizzle cake that was still warm when delivered to us.
Hoping to visit again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfy bed
Liked least: Can't think of a thing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2015
Thanks for choosing to stay here and for your comments - glad that the cake passed your taste test given your own baking expertise! Becky & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim187048
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very comfortable,beautiful setting”
Reviewed January 22, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We spent 2 weeks at this cottage - its really a modern apartment - during a period of snow and icy weather, and were always comfortable and warm. Its a beautiful location, with views both ways across the lovely countryside. Every mod con and comfort you could want, excellent quality linen and many extras provided by friendly and helpful hosts. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and friendly hosts
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 23, 2015
Thanks for your review. We hope you enjoyed your travels after staying here? Best wishes for your next adventure! Becky & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian P
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Offers excellent bijou accomodation, providing good base to visit Peak District .”
Reviewed January 17, 2015 for a stay in September 2014

From arriving and being met by Becky and Tom( the owners) , the whole experience was made to feel relaxed and informal, they gave a quick guided tour of the property , providing a nice welcome pack with basic essentials which included a home baked cake to die for.

They were able to provide information on local walks , eating and drinking establishments , all pretested where ever possible.

The accommodation is compact ,yet provides every thing that one would require to make a break enjoyable. Beds are comfortable . We will certainly be revisiting in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hosts friendlyness and location for touring and walks
Liked least: Not the easiest place to find in the dark .
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 19, 2015
Hi - good to hear from you! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are continuing to take our research of local eating and drinking establishments very seriously! We would be delighted to see you here again. Becky & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sadeque
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed November 18, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Me and my family spent four nights in this cottage and it was perfect. The cottage was fantastic, very clean and tidy and had a warm cozy feeling to it. Tom and Becky were very welcoming and helpful and were always there to answer any questions. We enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a private retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 20, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. It is great to hear that you all enjoyed your stay; we enjoyed having you here!

Becky & Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip W
1 review
“Very well maintained, high quality cottage in beautiful area!”
Reviewed October 2, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My wife and I with our two young children had a lovely week staying here this year. Tom and Becky are both friendly and welcoming hosts, and we really appreciated the little touches.
The cottage was of a very high standard throughout and is set in a very picturesque part of the world.
Within the cottage some children's toys are supplied (very handy!), as well as many leaflets of various places around the area (again this came in handy!).
The welcome hamper that was supplied went down a treat, just the right way to start your stay after a long drive!
I would most definitely recommend this holiday to anyone, and would certainly stay there again should we visit that part of the world again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: friendly and high quality
Liked least: so far from home
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we really appreciate it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
404kelly
South West England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Immaculate house in great location”
Reviewed October 1, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed for a week in the Easter holidays. The house was immaculate and furnished to a high standard. I really liked the Egyptian cotton bedding and towels. Toiletries and cleaning products were all provided as well as a hamper with a lovely cake baked by Becky and all the essentials needed to get you started. It was the first time away when we felt completely relaxed. The views from the house were lovely, it's a great base for exploring the Peak District. We would definitely stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and quality of fixtures
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2014
Many thanks for your comments. It is really good to hear that the things we think will be important to our guests are the things that are most appreciated. We hope to see you here again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertina32
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay in quiet and attractive location”
Reviewed October 1, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

House is small but perfectly formed! Comfortable beds, small but well equipped kitchen and beautiful country views. Lovely welcome hamper provided by the owners who live just next door. Even gave us a delicious homemade birthday cake for my son!! Well placed for exploring the surrounding countryside. We enjoyed the cycling opportunities close at hand.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2014
Thank you for staying here and for your review - we appreciate both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;