We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Milkmaid Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Back garden of Church Farm which can be used by guests. Snowy day in Kniveton
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Back garden of Church Farm which can be used by guests. Snowy day in Kniveton
Double bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Twin bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Miles of walks from the front door
Brook at back of garden offers shaded tranquility
Llama in field overlooking Carsington Water
Garden with bridge and swing seat
View across field to Church Farm in the background
Open fields with panaromic views of Kniveton,Ashbourne and Carsington Water
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Kniveton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mrs pauli...
1 review
“Milkmaid Cottage”
Reviewed October 30, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Milkmaid cottage is one of the most charming and cosy cottages we have stayed in, very well equiped and a central base to visit lots of attractions in Derbyshire.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Beautiful, homely cottage”
Reviewed September 26, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We loved Kniveton, quiet and friendly. The cottage was beautiful and very comfortable. We only caught up with Liam on our last day as we were out a lot, thankfully had chance to say thank you and for the yummy cakes that greeted us. We had a great time visiting local areas, Ashbourne and the Tissington Trial, heritage train lines, including Ecclesbourne. Carsington Water is beautiful. Monkey Forest is amazing. We enjoyed tasty meals at Red Lion Kniveton, Knockerdown and The Ketch.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shirlhud
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage and quiet village location”
Reviewed August 20, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This cottage was the perfect location for anyone who wants to explore Derbyshire. Lovely cottage, home made scones on arrival which was a nice touch, thank you. Quiet village location and good pub a short walk away. What more can you ask for. Would definitely recommend this cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nannyanni...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed May 17, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Perfectly placed for all we wanted to do, home from home, loved it. Everything we needed was there, couldn't fault it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneMarie...
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely old country cottage with every amenity you could want.”
Reviewed January 1, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

My husband and I, along with our son and two of our grandchildren (ages 11 and 15), stayed here between Christmas and New Year. When we arrived we were delighted to find that Liam has left two selection boxes for our grandchildren and a plate of mince pies for us adults. There was also milk in the fridge and tea, coffee etc. The cottage is very old and quite beautiful! However the bathroom and kitchen are both quite modern, the kitchen having a dishwasher and washing machine along with ample cooking equipment (even an interesting cookery book) if needed. The beds were very comfortable, lovely crisp white bedding and although small there was enough storage space for us. There were games for all ages, DVDs, books and lots of local information including some good walks. The weather was very cold and frosty each day, although nice and sunny and the cottage was lovely and welcoming to return to after our days out and we enjoyed the cosy evenings. There are some very pretty gardens for visitors to make use of although it was too cold for us to really appreciate those! The Red Lion, a couple of minutes walk down the road, is excellent. Good food, very comfortable with a lovely big log fire and very good food. I would recommend Milkmaid Cottage to anyone wanting a good base for walking and we would certainly return without hesitation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg_S_09...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love This Place”
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We've stayed here a few times before so knew what we were getting. Even though this is under new ownership, the quality of the place has not changed at all.
It's well equipped (people moan that there isn't much phone signal or any wifi - these people should get their head out of their ar**s for 5 minutes and appreciate the place and its setting, and try talking to people instead of burying your head in a laptop/tablet/phone all the time - you're on holiday after all!!)

It's location is great. Ashbourne is a great little town, only 5 mins drive away, and Matlock is fantastic.

I can't recommend this place highly enough, and will be going back again soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing