We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect relaxing retreat”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Middle Mayfield, Ashbourne, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
April F
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Perfect relaxing retreat”
Reviewed January 8, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We stayed at this fantastic cottage for a week which included the New Year and had the most perfect holiday with everything we needed for a relaxing time. We honestly could not find fault with anything and the owners Mike and Wendy are a really lovely couple who ensured that the extra touches made our holiday even more special. The Xmas tree, the welcome pack were lovely and the cottage was equipped to the highest standard I have ever seen, luxurious and practical. This is definately five star quality and the work that Mike and Wendy put into making it special for their guests really is outstanding. The hot tub was amazing and Mike does a great job in ensuring it is clean every day and ready for use. We brought the New Year in at midnight in the hot tub with champagne watching the lovley fire work dispay that Mike set off. We would all like to say a massive thank you to both Mike and Wendy for making our holiday so very special and I have recommended this cottage to all my friends as it really is a wonderful relaxing cottage set in a beautiful area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riasymond...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Christmas away!”
Reviewed December 26, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We stayed at Orchard Cottage for the few days before Christmas through to Boxing Day and I can honestly say we had the most unforgettable experience.

Wendy and Mike had thought of everything to make our stay as comfortable and as festive as possible... a welcome Christmas hamper, Prosecco in the fridge, a huge Christmas tree (that puts our own to shame) and of course the hot tub waiting for our presence! The whole cottage was to a very high impeccable standard and there was plenty of room for four adults and two children. The kitchen was more than equipped for cooking Christmas lunch and we had plenty of towels, robes and slippers(!!!) so that we could utilise the hot tub to the max.

Waking up on Christmas morning with two small children was unforgettable in the Derbyshire countryside. After opening presents we spent some time sipping Prosecco in the hot tub feeling like royalty. We were so sad to leave on Boxing Day and wished we were staying the whole week!

We will definitely be back, hopefully in the spring to enjoy the surrounding area even more. Thank you so much for an absolutely wonderful and flawless stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loopylou6...
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing, clean, spacious and very modern!”
Reviewed September 25, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Amazing A+ - stayed in lots of places - this is far the best. 5* accommodation - very spacious - huge kitchen with really modern appliances, huge bathroom with wet room - all mod cons - owners lovely - left a welcome basket as well plus milk, tea, lovely coffee machine - everything thought of ! Also lovely quiet rural spot - perfect for getting away from the noise of Brighton! - will be going back in April -

Will definitely recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela W
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant ”
Reviewed July 30, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Staying here now till Friday 4th August it is exceptional lovely goodies basket and milk butter in fridge was perfect we were greated by Wendy and Mike 2 lovley people so friendly we love cottage owners made our stay special it's so nice to find spotless nice 5 star places as we are very fussy we holiday in area 3 times year I have found perfect 1 we are booking next year thankyou so much angie hollie Thomas and Mike xxx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anotherja...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful cottage that really gives extra!”
Reviewed December 19, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Orchard cottage was a wonderful place to stay! A lovely interior and really well equipped and maintained too. We'd never tried a hot tub before, but that was great! There was a lovely Christmas tree and stove too. The welcome basket was really nice, thank you to the lovely (and helpful) Mike & Wendy!
The location was also in lovely countryside, rolling hills and fresh air, hooray!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drummerbo...
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect, perfect , perfect!!!!”
Reviewed August 31, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Well what can we say about this beautiful cottage other than what our title suggest. A truly lovely retreat matched only by our wonderful hosts Mike and Wendy. Upon arrival my family and I were warmly greeted by our hosts and shown around the accommodation which is gorgeous, spacious and so tastefully presented. We also had an amazing welcome basket of food and drink which was not only a pleasant surprise but the sheer thought put into it was fantastic. The location of Orchard cottage is perfect and enable us to explore this lovely part of the country we had lovely days out to Bakewell, Matlock, Heights of Abraham and a day to Alton Towers water Park which was only a 10 minute drive. Other days we loved our accommodation and its facilities so much we had a couple of days lazing around Orchard Cottage.

To summarize we have had the perfect family holiday in a perfect cottage with perfect hosts who really could not do enough for my family and I and I feel that when we left we didn't leave behind our hosts, we left behind new friends. We will 100% return next year, in fact, I'm counting down the weeks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: we had to leave!!!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2016
Wow, thank you for taking the time to share this thoroughly lovely feedback, we are absolutely over the moon that you had a fabulous holiday at Orchard Cottage. Hearing that everything was "perfect" is music to our ears, we are so pleased you feel that way and we will be sure to pass your compliments along to the owners! We certainly hope that time passes quickly for you and you will be back at Orchard Cottage before you know it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nannie050...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb cottage”
Reviewed August 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

One of the best cottages we have ever stayed in. The owners gave it 110% everything you could want from a cottage rental bathrobes slippers shower gel shampoo and conditioner in the bathrooms. Televisions in lounge and each bedroom. Th welcome pack was amazing never had one as good everything you could want including a bottle of Prosecco very well equipped in the kitchen. The owners couldn't do enough for you we will definitely be booking again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package
Liked least: No negative comments at all
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us, we couldn't be happier that you had a wonderful stay at Orchard Cottage. To hear you describe the property as the best you have ever stayed in is music to our ears, the owners have obviously given much time and thought to the place and we will be sure to pass your compliments along to them! We certainly hope you return to enjoy it all over again very very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing