We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rose and Crown

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middle Mayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rose and Crown
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We found this lovely pub and restaurant by chance, we usually meet up with friends in the Ashbourne area and were running out of places to try, then i spotted the Rose and Crown on a search engine site, What a find!
The restaurant is spacious and well decorated, the staff are welcoming and very helpful, the food is superb with lots of choice, one of the best Sunday lunch menus I have come across in recent years. The food is fresh and nicely presented. It was excellent value, pre lunch drinks a bottle of wine with a two course meal averaged £23 per person. we will be returning very soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salmon-tors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    21
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
55
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
spalding
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a two day stay at the Rose & Crown. I have to say, this is a gem of a place to stay when visiting Derbyshire. Our hosts, Danny,Hen and all the family and staff make you so welcome, it makes for a very relaxed chilled out break. The food served by Danny is a marvel, fresh local ingredients brought together in an imaginative menu makes for a great dining experience. We use the Rose & Crown as a base when walking in the Dales and this stay was our fourth. After a day tramping across the beautiful Derbyshire hills, the great beers and fantastic foods prepared by Danny makes for a complete perfect experience. Looking forward to our fifth stay already.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jeccu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed for 1 night with my Dad, whilst we visited the area where he grew up. Although the pub was closed, as it was Monday, Danny, the owner met us and showed us to our room. We stayed in the family room as we wanted a twin bedded room. Beds are very comfortable, linen and décor is pleasant and the tea/coffee supplies are abundant. We didn't get a chance to eat in the pub in the evening, as it was closed, but the cooked breakfast in the morning was very tasty. Service was friendly and price is very reasonable compared to other lodgings in the areas. Would stay again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Row, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We are regular visitors to the Rose and Crown. The food is ALWAYS excellent, superbly cooked and presented. They do the best steaks in the area and the Sunday lunches are wonderful. Delicious fresh and locally sourced produce. Such good value.
The wines are really good as is the organic lager. The service is efficient.
Only one slight criticism, the Pedigree is good, but it would be nice to have one or two local real ales available to sample.
This is a seriously good pub for food, top quality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tannoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

There are many great aspects to the wonderful rose and crown and here are just a few:
-a warm welcome
-great food thank you! :D
-friendly service
-very fun and enjoyable
-overall amazing place!!
Thank you for an amazing stay

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlistairWallace3467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had dinner at this pub several years ago (my husband and I, his mother aged 95 and my adult daughter). We were smartly dressed and expected a good experience . Our allocated table (we had booked) was away from the main restaurant area along a passageway next to the toilets and it was cold. There were only 2 tables here and a family with young children were at the other. When we requested a change we were treated with great discourtesy and eventually, we were sqaushed into a space next to the entrance door in the bar. Although the food was fine, we decided against going there again. However, last weekend (Bank Holiday) we (my husband, mother-in law and I) decided to give it another go at lunchtime as our original choice was absolutely full and we were told there would be a long wait (45 minutes). The Rose & Crown was empty. There were 4 tables occupied and we were assured that as they were not busy there would not be an appreciable wait. The young woman at the bar was friendly and helpful. However, we waited 40 minutes for our lunch - mine was a vegetarian dish and my mother-in-law just had soup. It was served by an older woman who virutally threw the food down on the table. She was surly and uncommunicative. When my husband asked for mustard, she was begruding and although she came and enquired if the food was OK she seemed to resent having to do so. When my husband went to pay, he asked her the name of the young woman at the bar. The older woman would not tell him. Instead she said 'why, what have I done?' My husband replied that he did not have time to engage in such a discussion, at which she responded 'I came and asked if the food was all right didn't I?'. Needless to say, we will definitely not be returning to this pub. We expect courtesy and decent service when we go out for a meal. We are friendly people and have no difficulty (normally) in engaging with others on an equal footing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LoveScotland13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Rose and Crown is close to my parents' house and always a favourite when we go back to visit. The food is locally sourced, generously portioned and always delicious, plus is excellent value. Service is always friendly and efficient. In fact I wish there was a R&C closer to home!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CatinCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middle Mayfield
1.5 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
1.1 mi away
Callow Hall Hotel
Callow Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mappleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
8.5 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 3 in Uttoxeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The George & Dragon
The George & Dragon
#2 of 27 in Ashbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.7 mi away
Okeover Arms
Okeover Arms
#4 of 27 in Ashbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Dog & Partridge Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose and Crown

Property: The Rose and Crown
Address: Main Road, Middle Mayfield, Ashbourne DE6 2JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Middle Mayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Middle Mayfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose and Crown is situated in a village 2 miles from Ashbourne and 10 minutes drive from Alton Towers. We are a freehold, family-run business, with a focus on excellent food and drink and professional service in a friendly environment. Our guest accommodation comprises of 1 family room (children are welcome in the bar) or 3 double bedrooms, all of which have en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rose And Crown Hotel Middle Mayfield
The Rose And Crown Middle Mayfield, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing