We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently excellent food at great prices. A local favourite!”
Review of The Rose and Crown

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middle Mayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rose and Crown
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent food at great prices. A local favourite!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Rose and Crown is close to my parents' house and always a favourite when we go back to visit. The food is locally sourced, generously portioned and always delicious, plus is excellent value. Service is always friendly and efficient. In fact I wish there was a R&C closer to home!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CatinCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    22
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
27
56
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a Friday and Saturday night whilst on a walking weekend in the peaks. This makes an excellent base. Rooms are comfortable, welcome is warm and the food is truly first class. Already booked our next trip.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Npro65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We dined at the rose and crown with my Dad on Easter Sunday. As always the food was consistently excellent - Danny is a superb chef - quality of the food is always top class and the menu is always varied to suit everyones tastes and dietary requirements. The staff are always efficient and friendly and the atmosphere was warm and inviting. I cannot recommend this restaurant more highly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pennybambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Came in for a bite on Tue night. There were a couple of other tables in. It was very quiet and the service wasn't exactly smily. But on the other hand the food was brilliant. I had pasta and my partner had stroganoff. It looked and tasted delicious. This is a local for me so we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayteedumpz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at The Rose and Crown for 1 night recently. Clean, comfortable room and excellent breakfast. The food we ate downstairs in the restaurant was really good and couldn't fault Danny and Henrietta for their service. A few of the waitresses could have been a little friendlier but other than that we had a really nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank draowbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed recently for 3 nights during the cold & snow spell.
Danny & Henrietta are fabulous hosts & we were made to feel very welcome. We were the only guests over this period, but nothing was too much trouble.
The room we had was small but very clean & comfortable. Lovely bed & sheets! Great shower for after our walks. There was a heater supplied which we did use.
The pub food is amazing! Big emphasis on local produce, great choice. Such good value as well. My belgian chocolate brioche pudding was out of this world!
The wine list is very good value - plenty of choice around 12.95.
Wifi was intermittent, but Danny kindly let us use his laptop to plan a few trips. I think this is a BT problem rather than the pub.
Overall, I would definately recommend this pub.
My only downside would be that it doesn't open until 6.30 which can leave a little gap in the day when returning from winter walks around 4.30.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We called at the Rose & Crown for Lunch

The staff were very friendly. The Food was good with added taste - not your average pub food. The sauces were very lifting.

Price was reasonable - especially the wine, with good bottles at reasonable prices

The only negative comment would be that the dining room is large, maybe a little dark and on the day we visited, it wasn't quite warm enough

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DPALTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middle Mayfield
1.5 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
331 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Callow Hall Hotel
Callow Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mappleton
317 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel
1.7 mi away
The George & Dragon
The George & Dragon
#2 of 26 in Ashbourne
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose and Crown

Property: The Rose and Crown
Address: Main Road, Middle Mayfield, Ashbourne DE6 2JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Middle Mayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Middle Mayfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose and Crown is situated in a village 2 miles from Ashbourne and 10 minutes drive from Alton Towers. We are a freehold, family-run business, with a focus on excellent food and drink and professional service in a friendly environment. Our guest accommodation comprises of 1 family room (children are welcome in the bar) or 3 double bedrooms, all of which have en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rose And Crown Hotel Middle Mayfield
The Rose And Crown Middle Mayfield, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing