We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The kids want to come back!”
Review of The Rose and Crown

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middle Mayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rose and Crown
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Found this via the rooms for 5 website whilst looking for accommodation near alton towers. It completely exceeded our expectations - the room was perfect for our family, lovely, clean and fresh feeling. Breakfast was great and dinner even better! Our children have never raved about food so much - even our fussy eater! All the staff were lovely to the children, making us feel very much at home and it made our stay very relaxing. It was perfect for visiting Alton Towers - only 10 mins away, but it was great to be away from the mania of the theme park in the evening. I would completely recommend staying and eating here - and we hope to visit again. I wish Danny and his family every success in the business - they are clearly passionate about good quality, locally produced food, and the results are amazing.

Room Tip: Family room is perfect for 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 114 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2012

Had lunch here as we were walking in the area. Nice pub/restaurant. Staff were friendly and efficient. We had baguettes with bacon, brie and cranberry / steak which were excellent. The desserts were even nicer! Sticky toffee pudding and Belgian chocolate brioche bread and butter pudding with icecream. Couldn't fault the food in any way and very reasonable prices. Can only imagine the evening meals are just as good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SandstoneUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed here for the second time at the begining of May for 2 nights what a delight Danny Henriette and all the staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful especially the breakfast lady who remembered my wife didn't like brown toast and must be a treasure.We had a very comfortable room No 4 and the food in the bar/restaurant was absolutely fabulous .This is not a threat rather a promise we shall return

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pensionerBoltonLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stopped for 2 nights for my wife's 50th birthday Danny and the staff could not do enough for us the room was comfortable but the quality of the food was something else never tasted anything like it and the sweets were to die for we will definately be back to sample the delight of Danny's cooking .

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed here for two nights while attending a friend's wedding nearby and it was a comfortable stay and good value for money.
The room was clean, tidy and nicely decorated. The bathroom was fine, if a little small. The owners were welcoming and helpful. The room we stayed in faced the road so it was a little noisy with passing traffic. Breakfast was good, freshly made and tasty, although we had to be up earlier than we'd hoped on a Sunday morning!
We ate here the night we arrived (the day before the wedding) and had a great meal and good wine - and I would highly recommend it for food.
All in all, a pleasant stay

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twirlie666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Stayed with a friend at this lovely B&B for a night. Rooms were clean and comfortable - and a short trip up the stairs from the excellent restaurant! Very friendly staff and great service. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here over the Easter Bank holiday. Danny (the b&b owner and chef) was perfectly hospitable, the room was clean and well equipped, and ideally located on the edge of the peak district.

We dined in the pub's restaurant on the Saturday evening and the food was really good, especially as we only had to walk down the stairs to sample some! My husband enjoyed a beaufitully cooked steak and I had the venison pie, which hit the spot on a nasty, wet and windy night.

Breakfast was also very good and included in the room's price.

Would certainly recommend for a short break to the Peak District, and ideal with the conveniently located restaurant just downstairs!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsBatey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middle Mayfield
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
339 reviews
2.0 mi away
Callow Hall Hotel
Callow Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mappleton
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The George & Dragon
The George & Dragon
#2 of 26 in Ashbourne
234 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Wheel House
The Wheel House
#11 of 26 in Ashbourne
36 reviews
2.3 mi away
Okeover Arms
Okeover Arms
#4 of 26 in Ashbourne
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose and Crown

Address: Main Road, Middle Mayfield, Ashbourne DE6 2JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Middle Mayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Middle Mayfield
Price Range: $51 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose and Crown is situated in a village 2 miles from Ashbourne and 10 minutes drive from Alton Towers. We are a freehold, family-run business, with a focus on excellent food and drink and professional service in a friendly environment. Our guest accommodation comprises of 1 family room (children are welcome in the bar) or 3 double bedrooms, all of which have en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rose And Crown Hotel Middle Mayfield
The Rose And Crown Middle Mayfield, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing