We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two-night business trip”
Review of Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crown Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Two-night business trip”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had a lovely stay at the Crown Inn. It's the only place of note in the village (hamlet, really), but is set in beautiful countryside. Very warm welcome, comfortable room finished to a good standard, and quality food. I spent the evening in the bar, and the staff could not have been friendlier. The food is also reasonable priced, considering the quality. Breakfast is served from 7.30, which was perfect timing for me as I had to work. Everything cooked to order. Lovely.

Only downside was a slight damp problem in the en suite - it looks like the Expelair hasn't worked for a while.

Definitely recommend if you're in the area, whether it's for Alton Towers or you want to explore the Derbyshire/Staffs countryside.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    46
    23
    10
    17
See reviews for
29
83
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Betws-y-Coed, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Friendly, clean and homely, unhurried and free wifi , the evening meal was tasty and not over priced, the breakfast took a while to arrive but was definately worth the wait, it was very tasty and still hot. Relaxed atmosphere in the bar in the evening, friendly locals.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enid T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Wanted something cheap while visiting alton towers for 2 days, was only 10 mins away. Staff couldnt do enough for you very friendly, room was great spacious and clean and had a great nights sleep. Food was excellent what you would expect from a top restaurant and great value. Nice quiet area, wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LM9213Mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds uk
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

just returned from Crown Inn. Room was spacious and spotless, Inn is situated in a small village.
The bar was well stocked with several real ales, a large variety of wines priced generally between £14 and £20 and a huge selection of whiskies including Japanese and Finnish ones, Derek is very knowledgeable regarding these.
Food was well cooked and neatly presented with starters £5 ish and mains £8 to £16. Breakfast was very good using locally sourced quality bacon, eggs and sausages.
Overall a very reasonably priced break with top quality food, drink and service, would love to return

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philthestripe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Arrived for drink & Sunday dinner at 12am. My partner went to the Loo to find them in discusting condition. Urine on floor, unflushed loos & generally unclean. Gents were the same. Oviously not been cleaned from Saturday night. Landlord looked hungover. Surly attitude. Served me a pint that had been in the pipes all night, my partner got a cranberry juice covered in mould. Changed it, no apology. Finished drinks Left. Wont be going back.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank graham335D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gazrey8814
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We arrived and thought the place looked great! Really picturesque! We were welcomed in a strange manner and shown to the room! The bar had just closed so when we went down to ask for the Internet password we asked for a drink and were told not until the bar opens???? We went back to the room and made a coffee as we could not get any other refreshments! Unfortunately there was only enough for 1 cuppa each! The bed was broken and the metal head board was falling on top of us as we lay on the bed! Not good! We then went for a shower before tea which was tough as we only had one towel in a double room! We ate in the bar and this was a really nice meal (however we both pooly the next day but can't say 100% it was the meal)! We had a quick drink after tea and went to bed as we were going to alton towers the next morning and wanted to feel fresh! The hotel put paid to this as the outside smoking area was directly under our room and was extremely loud! As the guests started to leave around midnight I looked out to see people leaving and urinating by my car! Nice! The sleep we so were looking forward to was unexpectedly destroyed by a cockerel making the noise of a matching band at 04:20 and continued until it was time to get up! No pre warning of this necessary as they must have thought the surprise of it was much nicer! So we went to breakfast looking slightly dishevelled and worst for wear and I must admit my full English was really good! The lack of fruit juice and toast however not so good! My girlfriends bacon and sausage sandwich can only be described as sub standard and only fit to feed the friendly cockerel as mentioned earlier in my tale! So all in all I would not stay here again as I was seriously disappointed! Next time I'm hoping to book the bates motel and hope to be butchered in the shower instead!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazrey8814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We booked to stay here for our long awaited short honeymoon as we could not get away any sooner and money was an issue. Getting there we walk into the bar area to everyone in there stop talking as we walked in. Bloke behind bar was a bit snotty and told us we could not check in till two, we said that was fine and got our drinks and sat down. Got to our room to find it so small we could not even walk round the bed. Dusty and very cramped. Toilet seat kept falling down. Fan extractor is so loud. Food at night was horrible, we wanted the belly pork as stated on there website but not on the menu. :-( sleep, didn't get any as the noise from outside as well as the people in the next room kept us awake. Bed very noisy as not good when its your honeymoon and the walls being paper thin. Breakfast was not bad but the sausages had gristle in them, only nice thing was the toast. I have done nothing but cry this weekend as its so upsetting that we wasted our money on this place and we called it our honeymoon. Won't recommend to anyone. :-(

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellyjayfreya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marston Montgomery
5.4 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
3.8 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 3 in Uttoxeter
172 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
4.7 mi away
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draycott in the Clay
335 reviews
4.4 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Inn

Property: Crown Inn
Address: Riggs Lane, Marston Montgomery DE6 2FF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Marston Montgomery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Marston Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Marston Montgomery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing