We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great holiday cottage in Derbyshire”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alsop en le Dale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Church Farm Holiday Cottages
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had an extremely comfortable and relaxing week at Church Farm with dog and one teenager . My husband and I explored and walked everyday in delightful countryside, never having to go very far afield, and always coming back to a warm, dry cosy cottage. Christine and Chris were extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating in every way. A very happy and memorable week.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VisitortoYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 53 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Pinster and had a wonderful few days at Church Farm. The cottage is really beautiful and in a very peaceful location with lovely views. Inside it is very nicely decorated (living room and kitchen upstairs with high ceilings, beams and a lovely view over the farm to the hills), equipped with everything you could need (I cannot think of anything we could have done with which wasn't there!) and spacious. It's easy to walk or cycle to the tissington trail (less than a mile on a quiet lane) and a short drive to the lovely market town of Ashbourne, Dovedale amongst many other places. There are lots of maps, walking guides etc in the cottage so it's easy to decide what to do when you get there. Chris and Christine were fantastic hosts. I would highly recommend Church Farm to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We recently returned from Church Farm Cottages after a super family holiday.

We stayed in Winnetts, the larger of the two cottages. It is a lovely cottage, very well furnished and has everything a young family could ever need, including storage for the all important bikes!
Christine left a home-made cake for us and some fresh flowers from the garden. A thoughtful and much appreciated gesture.

Church Farm is situated in the most beautiful rural area with a little church next door. We all enjoyed the various animal characters around the farm especially the two sheepdogs who were very good at football! Christine and Chris made us feel very welcome and gave us lots of good tips about the area and things to do.

We did lots of cycling on the Tissington Trail and Monsal Trail. Both are superb for cycling with young children as there are no cars and the tracks are level. We all loved the Monsal Trail with the long, dark, cold tunnels to go through!

Ashbourne is about 6 miles away and is a lovely market town with a variety of quality shops, including Waitrose. We also visited Bakewell and Chatsworth House and enjoyed a lovely evening picnic from the farm shop there.

We throughly enjoyed every aspect of our holiday and can't wait to return to Church Farm again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Our fourth visit to Church Farm, just as exciting. we were welcomed as on previous visits, more as family than as friends. Pinster, our home for the week, is a delightful well furnished and equally well equipped cottage with careful consideration given to the requirements for a trouble free holiday.Our hosts Christine,Chris and family are very hard working throughout each and every day and yet still have time to dedicate to their guests.With many attractive towns,stately homes,Dovedale just a short walk away and the Tissington trail on the doorstep you can choose to do as much or as little as the mood takes.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

we had a wonderful time staying at church farm cottages - we stayed in Pinster Cottage - it has a bathroom (bath and shower) and 2 well furnished bedrooms downstairs - as a couple we only made use of one of these, but expect that the other bed is just as comfy as the one we used. The kitchen/lounge is upstairs. We often self-cater, and were pleased to find that the kitchen was very well equipped (in fact the best we have experienced), with all the utensils/pots/pans/oven equipment we could possibly expect to need, and everything in very good condition. The cottage itself was well furnished, with freesat, radio, board games, wifi, and the family was very welcoming and seem genuinely interested in ensuring that guests staying in the cottages have everything they need, and are enjoying their stay. Home baked victoria sponge upon arrival was also a welcome treat.

We stayed for 7 nights, and didnt want to leave...There are lots of walking trails nearby some right on the doorstep, and lots of sights and activities just a short drive away (chatsworth house , matlock, bakewell and alton towers to name a few). The cottage was well equipped with maps and leaflets and information about the surrounding area. Alsop en le dale itself is very peaceful with very little traffic (the odd car or tractor once in a while - cannot be heard from inside the cottage), so it was very easy to take lovely walks right from the doorstep - the nearest village with a small store is about a 30 min walk, 5 min drive away, and the nearest town with supermarket (sainsburys/waitrose/grocers/butcher/deli) was very close - we just did a big shop on our way there, but Christine noted that waitrose is happy to deliver (Christine noted that she would be happy to take delivery for us so that everything would be ready for us before we arrived if we chose to order through waitrose - didnt need to do this in the end, but certainly appreciated her thoughtfulness).

The owners have a couple of lovely dogs. I am usually slightly nervous around animals, but didnt feel the slightest bit of unease - the dogs were very well behaved, and seemed very used to people staying in the cottages (the younger was also great fun - inordinate amounts of energy, loved playing fetch - imagine she would keep kids entertained for hours!). Enjoyed seeing the horses, the family chickens and turkeys wandering around the courtyard.

So, all in all a fantastic stay - 10 out of 10, we plan on staying agian at some point soon if we can!

Room Tip: our cottage had one double and one single (although apparently they have a full sized extra bed that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prem p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We were incredibly well looked after after a weekend away with our 17 month old toddler; she had a lovely time watching the animals from the window seat, and - some minor reshuffling of the coffee table later - was safe and happy roaming around the cottage.

The cottage is incredibly well equipped - every meal we prepared had exactly the right utensils immediately and easily accessible. The living room is comfortable, the TV equipped with Freesat for lazy evenings and there's decent broadband/wifi included too.

The hosts were wonderful; Chrissy greeted us with freshly baked cake on arrival (including a piece for Emily), provided a highchair for our daughter to save us bringing one all the way up, provided a soft toy when we left our daughter's favourite bunny behind and had all manner of toys from their grandchildren's visits lying around for our little girl to delight in. They provided helpful recommendations of things to do and great conversation for when we were wandering around the farmyard, marvelling at the turkeys and more!

Oh - and the location is good. There's tonnes of great stuff to do within 30-35 minutes drive (Chatsworth, Bakewell etc), and Ashbourne is 15-20 minutes away if you need a semi-urban centre.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank division6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Just got back yesterday from a lovely break here with our 17 month old. The family who run the farm couldn't have been more welcoming, showing us round the farm and letting us meet a new born calf who had just been born. The cottages were extremely well equipped and there is loads to see nearby. Our daughter was absolutely in her element and adored sitting at the cottage window watching the animals of the farm. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Church Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Farm Holiday Cottages

Address: | Ashbourne, Alsop en le Dale, Peak District National Park DE6 1QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Alsop en le Dale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Alsop en le Dale
Hotel Class:4 star — Church Farm Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Church Farm nestles alongside the historic Norman church in the tiny village of Alsop en le Dale, at the head of one of the most beautiful but undiscovered dales in the Peak National Park. Our topsy-turvy cottages were created from an old barn on the farm. They have a wealth of character with high ceilings and and exposed beams, are at the top end of the Tourist Board Scheme and inspected annually. They are situated in the cobbled yard of our Rare Breeds farm and are just the place for your Peak District Derbyshire holiday. Winnets is the larger of the two cottages. There is a downstairs single bedroom, another single bedroom upstairs and a double bedroom that overlooks the courtyard. Pinster has one double bedroom and one single. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Church Farm Holiday Cottages Alsop En Le Dale, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing