We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Church Farm Holiday Cottages
Nearby Hotels
$162
$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel(Ashbourne)(Great Value!)
$86
Travelodge
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Red Lion Hotel(Wirksworth)
$112
$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hodgkinson's Hotel(Matlock Bath)
$129
Priceline
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mousehole(Whiston)
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveler rating
50
2
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturkeycakevictoria spongepeak districtrelaxing weekhome madecd playerperfect staycows and sheepyour doorstepos mapchrisutensilscatstvbakewellwalks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 53 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2012

we had a wonderful time staying at church farm cottages - we stayed in Pinster Cottage - it has a bathroom (bath and shower) and 2 well furnished bedrooms downstairs - as a couple we only made use of one of these, but expect that the other bed is just as comfy as the one we used. The kitchen/lounge is upstairs. We often self-cater, and were pleased to find that the kitchen was very well equipped (in fact the best we have experienced), with all the utensils/pots/pans/oven equipment we could possibly expect to need, and everything in very good condition. The cottage itself was well furnished, with freesat, radio, board games, wifi, and the family was very welcoming and seem genuinely interested in ensuring that guests staying in the cottages have everything they need, and are enjoying their stay. Home baked victoria sponge upon arrival was also a welcome treat.

We stayed for 7 nights, and didnt want to leave...There are lots of walking trails nearby some right on the doorstep, and lots of sights and activities just a short drive away (chatsworth house , matlock, bakewell and alton towers to name a few). The cottage was well equipped with maps and leaflets and information about the surrounding area. Alsop en le dale itself is very peaceful with very little traffic (the odd car or tractor once in a while - cannot be heard from inside the cottage), so it was very easy to take lovely walks right from the doorstep - the nearest village with a small store is about a 30 min walk, 5 min drive away, and the nearest town with supermarket (sainsburys/waitrose/grocers/butcher/deli) was very close - we just did a big shop on our way there, but Christine noted that waitrose is happy to deliver (Christine noted that she would be happy to take delivery for us so that everything would be ready for us before we arrived if we chose to order through waitrose - didnt need to do this in the end, but certainly appreciated her thoughtfulness).

The owners have a couple of lovely dogs. I am usually slightly nervous around animals, but didnt feel the slightest bit of unease - the dogs were very well behaved, and seemed very used to people staying in the cottages (the younger was also great fun - inordinate amounts of energy, loved playing fetch - imagine she would keep kids entertained for hours!). Enjoyed seeing the horses, the family chickens and turkeys wandering around the courtyard.

So, all in all a fantastic stay - 10 out of 10, we plan on staying agian at some point soon if we can!

Room Tip: our cottage had one double and one single (although apparently they have a full sized extra bed that can fit into the room), the other cottage has space for more people.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prem p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We were incredibly well looked after after a weekend away with our 17 month old toddler; she had a lovely time watching the animals from the window seat, and - some minor reshuffling of the coffee table later - was safe and happy roaming around the cottage.

The cottage is incredibly well equipped - every meal we prepared had exactly the right utensils immediately and easily accessible. The living room is comfortable, the TV equipped with Freesat for lazy evenings and there's decent broadband/wifi included too.

The hosts were wonderful; Chrissy greeted us with freshly baked cake on arrival (including a piece for Emily), provided a highchair for our daughter to save us bringing one all the way up, provided a soft toy when we left our daughter's favourite bunny behind and had all manner of toys from their grandchildren's visits lying around for our little girl to delight in. They provided helpful recommendations of things to do and great conversation for when we were wandering around the farmyard, marvelling at the turkeys and more!

Oh - and the location is good. There's tonnes of great stuff to do within 30-35 minutes drive (Chatsworth, Bakewell etc), and Ashbourne is 15-20 minutes away if you need a semi-urban centre.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank division6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Just got back yesterday from a lovely break here with our 17 month old. The family who run the farm couldn't have been more welcoming, showing us round the farm and letting us meet a new born calf who had just been born. The cottages were extremely well equipped and there is loads to see nearby. Our daughter was absolutely in her element and adored sitting at the cottage window watching the animals of the farm. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Church Farm Holiday Cottages provided us with the perfect base from which to enjoy the beautiful surrounding areas (Dovedale, Matlock, Buxton etc), especially in the snow! We recieved a very warm welcome from Christine, along with a homemade cake. The cottage (Pinster) was clean, spacious and well-equipped with Freesat, board games and a large range of leaflets and walking maps within. Me and my partner really enjoyed our stay here and urge people to visit here yourselves.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben-Kirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

The first visit to Christine's Cottages was about four years ago, we were impressed with everything, loved the situation on the farmyard in a quiet spot and the location right by Dovedale and the Tissington Trail. So in 2011 we returned to stay again in Pinster. The cottage has everything for a comfortable stay and since our first visit now has a DVD player, satellite television channels and Wifi. Christine has provided a very well fitted out kitchen, comfortable lounge and dining facilities and lovely bedrooms and bathroom. Pinster Cottage is very spacious, and it is a great space to stay in. The farmyard is a joy, and we were there when some piglets had recently been born so there was much entertainment watching them feeding and growing. Much of the farming proper is taking place a couple of miles away so the farmyard is nice and quiet.

The road outside sees little traffic so walking into the local village is easy, as is the footpath over the fields to the Tissington Trail and Milldale at the top of Dovedale. The Cottages are so close to Dovedale that you can enjoy beautifully picturesque walks there without meeting many of the 2 million other visitors each year simply by setting off after breakfast and walking down the dale from Milldale when others are starting later and walking up from the stepping stones.

Christine and family are genuinely interested in making sure you are comfortable and enjoying your stay. They are very nice people too !!!

We look forward to staying again in the future.

Alan Sally & Leonie

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
Thank Spacexecadet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews