We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location But.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location But.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

This was our second visit to Rivendale, the previous being in July last year, so we had a good idea of the standards and general set up.
However a couple of things have slipped...I feel that to check the toilets once a day and to clean them once a day is a little poor especially as the site was getting busier and as a result the cleanliness did get worse as the day progressed.
The site roads are showing increased signs of wear and potholes, most likely due to the winter weather, but do not seem to have been attended too.
As the weather improved it would have been nice for the pub to open in the early evening...but it didn't....weekends only?
However the main issue was the constant noise from the excavation work which was taking place to extend the park. Due to the curved rock face of the quarry the noise is projected around the whole site from approx 8.30 in the morning till 4.45 in the afternoon. It was just like being in a working quarry with the sound of rocks being loaded into trailers.
If you use Rivendale as a base and are off site all day you probably wouldn't even know anything was taking place.....if like ourselves we were there to relax.....well we couldn't.
The fact that it was Rivendale carrying out the work showed a complete lack of consideration for the onsite guests. Suffice to say we will not be having a third stay at Rivendale as this stay for all intensive purposes was a waste of leave time and money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
The loos have a major clean once a day, but are checked and problems sorted at least one additional time at this time of the year, however, I think we need to reconsider this in terms of looking at occupancy, which has been busier this year.
The roads had the potholes filled and rolled last month but have come back as a result of the tropical thunderstorms that have replaced the spring showers we used to get. We do add opening nights to the pub in the transition from low to high season (but not that week)
however, the licensed café is open 7 days per week all year until 5 p.m.
Due to the heavy snow last spring, we could not complete sorting stone for the new toilet buildings and Eco spa at that time. We have tried to work at times when people have gone out for the day, started late, finished early - and responded to this complaint by moving the machine to a different job over 1/2 km away from the pitching area. Unfortunately, the only way to avoid any possibility of noise blowing into the pitching area is to cancel the work because we are only shut for 3 weeks in January which are usually snowbound. That would get us in hot water with the guests that are asking us for new facilities. The good news is that the remaining stone reclamation will require just a few more days work - which we will be carrying out when the wind is blowing away from the pitching area, several hundred metres away, separated by a series of high earth banks and trees. Our apologies to anyone who has been affected meanwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    93
    81
    38
    19
See reviews for
133
100
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kegworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We booked Easter weekend 2014 with another family on adjacent pitches with hook-up - having spent several weeks nervously checking long-range weather forecasts. All forecasts were wrong and while it was a bit windy one night, the weather was great. The pitches are generous and all within good reach of waste disposal and water points. The toilet and shower block was excellent, kept clean and had underfloor heating. Only occasionally was the water not hot. Only real criticism was that the site needed a second pot-washing facility. The on-site shop was great and the reception staff very helpful. There is a fly-fishing lake which was a helpful way of occupying 2 boys time. Despite the fact the lake was too weedy and needs some TLC, our party caught, cooked and ate a decent sized rainbow trout. It is great to be able to give the kids an xBox-free weekend. The location is excellent, being adjacent to the Tissington trail, which is brill' for running or cycling. Lots to do and will come again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we are on the case with removing the weed. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We hired a couple of pods in "the Shire" which was one of the more remote pitches. We chose a quiet place and were pleased with the privacy and views. The disadvantage was a five minute plus walk to the toilet block. This was advertised but we did find the journey wearisome. Rivendale is well placed for access to the Peaks and some of our party went to Alton Towers about 30 minutes' drive away. It was the start of season so quite cold but the pods were snug and robust which we valued on windy nights on the hillside plot. Staff were very friendly and helpful and we much enjoyed the on site pub and tea room and were disappointed that it was closed on Wednesday. WiFi reception was v limited so we were short on information at times. Riverdale is very much a "work in progress" in the part of the campsite where we were located and the immediate area of the pods included a barbed wire fence and a briar patch and there were a lot of earth moving ground preparations evident which was disagreeable to view. Showers pulsed hot and tepid and the toilets were not always very clean. We enjoyed waking to the sounds of willow warblers and goldfinches and had a very good time, but the disadvantages listed means only three stars.

Room Tip: Pitch locations for pods are quite varied-you could be much closer the toilets than we were!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for your review, which was fair enough; we are re-surfacing an old hard-standing near the Shires so that there is less far to walk to the Pods which will improve matters. We have improved the hot water system for the showers by doubling the stored hot water capacity. I am surprised and disappointed about the toilets not always being clean as we have substantially increased the number of checks and cleans every day; we will do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

The one day glamping experience on buyagift can be used at this site and it lists on the main section that this ONE day experience can be used all week, however, when you try to book, they make you aware of the small print which says there is a minimum stay of two nights on a weekend. So how can they say that the one day experience can be used all week?????

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tom_mott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for alerting us to this issue. Unfortunately, we do not have direct control over the content on the buy-a-gift website and there is a contradiction within the buy-a-gift website content which neither we nor they had not spotted. However, it does state in Important Information that ........This experience is available Sunday to Thursday. There is a minimum two night booking for Friday and Saturday nights and a minimum three nights booking over bank holidays.........Furthermore, we have hitherto taken single night bookings even at weekends in the run up to Easter - and there is nothing to stop a customer buying an extra night direct if they should so wish. We also anticipate we will continue to take some single night buy-a-gift coupons at weekends outside of the main school holidays and bank holidays in some (but not all) of our Pods & Yurts. So our apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alsop en le Dale hotels

Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Just returned from a weekend break at Rivendale.
This was our first visit to the site and have to say we were very pleased with the facilities and the friendly staff. The site is well laid out and the pitches are a good size.
However I have major concerns as to the reasons for cctv cameras INSIDE the shower blocks, surely this is an invasion of privacy.
Both my husband and I questioned whether the footage was recorded and if it was monitored, especially in view of the fact that my 12 year old daughter was using the facilities.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kev h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your comments.
Guests are notified CCTV is in operation in and around the building - restricted to recording the common areas of the building - not showers or loos where guests may be unclothed. It is not monitored & has been inspected by the local constabulary. Its purpose is to help prevent inappropriate behaviour by people using the buildings - by recording it. This might include people taking pets in the showers, emptying chemical waste down the showers, protection of children and so on. The recordings are automatically overwritten, unseen - unless anything untoward is reported. The children of our staff and friends frequently use those toilets; we take reassurance from the CCTV system bearing in mind there are thousands of people we know very little about visiting this park every year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is our second trip to use the pods at this site. Ideal for Winter camping, very clean toilets, plenty of hot water & a warm shower block. Very dog friendly, cosy bar for the evenings. Great location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanyais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your review and kind words, look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes

Staff at Rivendale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights on the camping meadow.

In this time the uncovered scrap bin in the washing up area was emptied once. We had two days of overflowing and rotting food smell everytime we washed up.

It's next to a national speed limit road and virtually impossible to escape the road noise.

Took my niece to the playground which had litter everywhere. It wasn't cleaned up in the three days we were there. The showers weren't cleaned at all. There was mud and grass everywhere.

If it had been maintained it would have been much pleasanter but I wouldn't recommend it because of the price (there are lots of cheaper and better maintained campsites nearby) and the road noise.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank imacosmicgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
I was both disappointed and surprised to read this review. Disappointed that we failed to meet your expectations so badly. Surprised, that it has taken 6 months for you to tell us of the problems experienced last August.
The loos and showers are cleaned at least twice a day everyday in August, checked by our staff additionally when they are in the vicinity - and anytime a customer lets us know of a problem. Bins are emptied at the same time.
The main road actually has had the speed limit reduced below the national limit, although that will not prevent it being noisy if you choose to camp adjacent the road; better to move further away - albeit at the price of a longer walk to the loos.
I am very sorry you were disappointed - but would recommend (regardless of the type of accommodation & venue) if you have a problem - let people know about it, then hopefully they can do something to fix it. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsop en le Dale
3.2 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
8.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Longnor Wood Holiday Park
3.1 mi away
YHA Hartington Hall
YHA Hartington Hall
#2 of 6 in Hartington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
2.9 mi away
Peak District Spa
Peak District Spa
#2 of 2 in Alsop en le Dale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park

Property: Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park
Address: Buxton Road, Alsop en le Dale, Peak District National Park, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Alsop en le Dale
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Alsop en le Dale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Park surrounded by fabulous scenery offering Yurts, Camping Pods, Pine Lodges, B & B rooms, Holiday Caravans & tent or caravan pitches for rental. WiFi cafe, pub & restaurant on site. Ideal for walking & cycling just 100 metres from the Tissington Trail with footpaths from site leading into Dove dale. Convenient Alton Towers, Chatsworth, Matlock, Carsington Water, National Tram Museum etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivendale Caravan And Leisure Park
Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park Hotel Alsop En Le Dale
Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park Alsop En Le Dale, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing