We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the pod but would never go back.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved the pod but would never go back.”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed a weekend at this site we were looking forward to getting there as we had been delayed on motorway. When we finally got there 6.45pm we went to reception and were given the key and told where to go. We found the area and parked the car only to see we had to climb a mini hill with all our stuff and there was a lot with 2 kids to get to our pod. By the time we had gone up down the hill about 5 times we were really annoyed.
The bar was small,games room rubbish,shop closed at 5pm and wasn't very good. If I'd know the park was so rubbish I would never of booked it kids weren't impressed. Plus a small tiny area to wash your dishes 3 sinks. Wish we had just gone to the Lake District.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biddledeboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Glad you liked the Pod, sorry you did not like the location. We describe the areas in which we offer pods when taking bookings. Whilst it is possible to park next to those in the main pitching area, it isn't on the new area on the hillside - which means a walk uphill of up to a 100 metres - but a better view when you get there. Sylvia did offer to help carry your bags for you - which offer was declined.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    96
    81
    39
    20
See reviews for
135
101
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Second time at this site located within a former quarry. Not a bad pitch (hardstanding). I was in a campervan but my friend in a tent was kept awake by noise of the road and the jackdaws flying around the rock face. Lots of them. They get up early. Meal in the bar was very disappointing. It looks promising on the website but turned out to be staff canteen standard. (Meat pie). Also the toilets are covered by CCTV, INCLUDING ONE ABOVE THE URINALS. Leave modesty at home! Not sure about the legality of this. Plus point is acces to Tissington Trail. But as others have said, there's plenty of other sites around.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank VWT5camperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Surprised you did not like the meat pie - they are made at the local bakers from locally sourced beef of good provenance.
With regard to CCTV cameras, it would indeed be strange if we were pointing cameras at the mens urinals - a new comparison site perhaps?
We most definitely do not have cameras pointing at the urinals - but we have invested in additional CCTV for the security of our guests & staff - all of which has been inspected by Derbyshire Constabulary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Had a weekend camping here late August. In a nice spot.

As other reviewers say, it is a bit of a trek from the tent field to the toilet block but didn't find it that much of an inconvenience. If too close it can get noisy so not bothered at all by this.

Was a bit flabbergasted to be charged £6.95 for a burger / hot dog off the barbie on arrival. "Comes with everything" the server enthusiastically said, but "everything" was a bit of side salad. Was charged the same for a plain burgers with nothing on or with them for our (really hungry after journey but not quite enough to eat salad!) 2 and 5 year olds. No other food options. Bit poor really (which iis how we felt after paying for them!). Big avoid - if arriving Friday with hungry children, stop off for food before you arrive.

On a lighter note they serve a lovely pint of Black Sheep in the bar and the full english breakfast we had on the Saturday was superb (although others in our party did fail to get served at all on the Sunday). Toilet block clean, showers powerful with plenty of hot water which is the main thing. Didnt find the staff a problem at all. Our 5 year old loved the playground but it was getting a bit tired and ready for an update.

Otherwise a perfectly acceptable camping holiday and wouldn't rule out in future if in this area (but would definitely avoid the Friday BBQ!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmmanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and constructive comments. Rivendale was buried under snow until near the end of April, which put back all of nature for several months and damaged the roads. We have about 2.5 kilometres of hedges to cut after nesting has finished - which is usually early - mid July for most species at Rivendale - but was later this year due to the bad weather in April.
We try and avoid hedge trimming when guests are on pitch to minimise customer disturbance - which unfortunately reduces the working time available, and lengthens the process. However, we have now cut more than 80% of the hedges on site, and would have achieved this several weeks earlier in a normal year.
We offer a choice of pitches, but unfortunately, the only ones available to suit your preference at the time were within the dog free area - and your friend had a dog. I can only apologise for the grudging service in the cafe - it is hard work finding staff with a good attitude to customer service in this country as Jamie O. will tell you. Hope to see you back in due course...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Rivendale looks great on the website but unfortunately doesn't deliver in real life. It's got great potential and is in a lovely location between Bakewell and Ashbourne, but it just looks a bit tatty and uncared for. We booked two adjacent pitches for a last minute holiday with friends before the kids went back to school. When we arrived the pitches were really disappointing with hardly any grass and rubbish left from the previous occupier. Because of the weather one pitch was muddy which isn't great when you're trying to put up an awning. We asked if there were any better pitches but, because our friends had a dog, were told this was the only suitable location. The hedges were unkempt and overgrown, so that it was difficult to pitch the awning. Whilst I know the owner says this is to protect the wildlife, it just looked untidy. Dogs are only allowed in certain areas and it was a real shame not to have any grass to put a table and chairs on, thats surely the whole point of caravanning, sitting outside soaking up the sun with a bbq and a nice glass of wine?? As our pitch was on stones and was really chalky, we ended up sitting in the road as this was the only area that caught the sun. On the plus side, there's a nice playground for kids, a fairly decent shop and a nice pub with pool tables and retro games which the kids (and chaps) enjoyed. The toilet block was warm but it would have benefitted from some benches to put your clothes on in the changing area as it was a bit of a balancing act to stop them getting wet. The cafe was a bit of a disappointment. All 8 of us went in for lunch to be met with a disgruntled member of staff muttering under her breath "I was just about to have my lunch", didn't exactly make us feel welcome. Whilst the menu is good, there were no jacket potatoes or soup available and it was only 12 o'clock. I was sure the shop next door sold potatoes but obviously not. Some of the paninis weren't available so the selection was limited. The waitress didn't really seem to be interested and it was all a bit slow and tedious - no napkins or cloths to wipe up a spill and no check back. Whilst the kids meals were good and the chips tasty we didn't go back again, which is a shame as it has a really cosy feel. We still had a great break and it was lovely to be in the Peak District but we won't be going back, unless its transformed back to its former glory.

Room Tip: Check on which pitch you've got as there are some nice ones but you don't want one that'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

After spending a weekend here in august, we decided on the second night never to return.
The staff dont seem the slightest bit interested, the pitch is noisy, toilets are too far for midnight toilet breaks and food is overpriced for what it is and super slow service.
Bonus is the tissington trail which is a lovely walk or bike ride, but plenty of other sites in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FussystayerHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alsop en le Dale hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

The location of this campsite is the biggest problem. Whilst the campsite itself is tucked in the middle of a small valley and surrounded by trees and open fields; it is also under the flight path for a major airport, next to a busy quarry/farm? that has very loud machinery and works late into the night; it also runs alongside a busy A road; resulting in the worst two nights sleep I have ever had!

The other major problem was the toilets! For some strange reason they have been placed next to the static caravans and tourers that have toilet facilities but a VERY long walk away from the tent sections. Not a nice walk in the middle of the night!

The only benefit of this campsite was that it was very dog friendly. It was nice to be able to have a snack in the cafe or an evening meal in the bar and be able to take our dog with us.

However, the incessant noise all night and the huge trek to the toilets means that we won't be camping at Rivendale again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gem815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Booked on the basis of some very nice pictures on the website, plus the fact that there was a bar/restaurant on site.

On the plus side, the toilet/shower facilities are clean (be aware that they are unisex, which is mentioned on the website), and the shop was well stocked. The location is also very scenic.

On the downside - we camped in the meadow, and were limited to camping on the road side of the site. Be warned that this is incredibly noisy, as you are about 30 feet away from the main road, a road which I can personally testify remains busy until about midnight and has lorries travelling along it all night.

The second area I have issue with is the onsite catering. We happened to stay when a BBQ night was on, and because of this there was no normal menu. The food was ok (as far as a mass bbq ever can be) but unfortunately not if you are a vegetarian. The only food on offer here was a 'country vegetable pie' which appeared to be frozen vegetables covered in mashed potato and served with...err more potato. Following this, we had a 90 minute wait for breakfast the next morning, to be served something which I can only really describe as tired - perhaps it too had been camping by the road.

Final point about the campsite - although the website mentions that you have to park by the toilet block, it was in fact very difficult to do this as there are generally more cars than spaces. It also probably isnt a good idea to block the exit while you empty the rubbish bins at 11am on a sunday morning when most people are trying to leave the site.

I can heartily recomment the Waterloo Inn in biggin for some top food though!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brucemoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am not clear why you were limited to the roadside, given that the 50 tents we allow on the meadow have about 4 acres away from the road available; our staff evidently did not make this clear for which you have our apologies.
We have had some BBQ's on Fridays to take advantage of the good weather and offer guests quicker service on Fridays when everyboday arrives at the same time due to traffic delays.
The food has been cooked to order with home made curries etc offered as an alternative.
Point taken regarding a wider vegetarian choice, although I think your description of the home made pie was unfair.
We do not usually empty the bins on Sunday - the waste disposal company's truck broke down earlier in the week when it should have been emptied but we thought it essential to have space in the bins on Sunday when everybody drops their rubbish when leaving - apologies for any inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsop en le Dale
3.2 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
8.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Longnor Wood Holiday Park
3.1 mi away
YHA Hartington Hall
YHA Hartington Hall
#2 of 6 in Hartington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
2.9 mi away
Peak District Spa
Peak District Spa
#2 of 2 in Alsop en le Dale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park

Property: Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park
Address: Buxton Road, Alsop en le Dale, Peak District National Park, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Alsop en le Dale
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Alsop en le Dale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Park surrounded by fabulous scenery offering Yurts, Camping Pods, Pine Lodges, B & B rooms, Holiday Caravans & tent or caravan pitches for rental. WiFi cafe, pub & restaurant on site. Ideal for walking & cycling just 100 metres from the Tissington Trail with footpaths from site leading into Dove dale. Convenient Alton Towers, Chatsworth, Matlock, Carsington Water, National Tram Museum etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivendale Caravan And Leisure Park
Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park Hotel Alsop En Le Dale
Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park Alsop En Le Dale, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing