We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer 2012 - 1 night break with hot tub hire”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I booked 2 camping pods, 1 standard & 1 family...for 3 adult females along with 6 young children, i requested them next to each other....i got exactly that!...at short notice, i rang & booked the eco hot tub...when rang, it wasnt available, however, after speaking to the manager of the site, he managed to move, clean & refill the hottub in 24 hrs ready for our stay, he was excellent! & very helpful, when we arrived we had our 2 cabins plus the hot tub all there ready & waiting for us. This was perfect!...the site pub was not serving food on the thursday night, even tho that was a little dissapointing....even the chef deserves a night off, so undeterred with that we drove into buxton & had our meal at the weatherspoons which was great and good value for money for the 9 of us...upon returning to our accomodation at Rivendale, the hot tub was bubbling away n the children had a ball playing in it for an hour or so....after we put them to bed, we (the 3 adults) settled into an evening in the hot tub with a couple of bottles of wine.....it was fantasic, with the twit twoo of the resident owl in the background & the open countryside we relaxed in the hot tub & had a very good giggle!!..& having to put fresh wood in the burner to keep it going created an excellent smell & crackle of burning wood which added to the ambience, all in all we paid £170 for 1 midweek night with a family & standard camping pod & hot tub, this was for 9 of us, average £18.88 each.... the kids loved it... the adults loved it & if Rivendale will have us back next year.....we will definetley be booking again :)) ....fantastic night! x

Room Tip: I am rating the camping pods so the rooms & sleep quality are based on our own provisions!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 397 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

We agreed to go with family to the Peak District for New Year after consuming a couple of bottles of wine! I have to say that as the date got nearer I did wonder what we were letting ourselves in for. I packed for article weather - expecting the worst. I thought it would be similar to camping in spring/late autumn. However, we were pleasantly surprised - the pod was very warm! It was lovely to come back to it being warm and dry and not having to worry that the tent may have blown away. We had a great few days and brought 2013 in with a bang.

If we were to go again in the winter I would look at getting a family pod, just for the extra indoor space. During the summer there is outside. Bit of a squeeze when we got together (4 adults and 2 dogs in 2 pods)

The bar was warm and welcoming. The toilet/ washing up block was a bit of a treck in the rain and mud. Wellies were essential footwear on The Shires - but it has been the rainiest year in a long while. Shower blocks clean and the underfloor heating was fab.

Worth noting that in the smaller pod there is one double plug. This is for the light and the heater. The family pods appear to be the ones with separate lights and a spare plug. We have a small 13amp extension cable with 4 plugs so we got around this. Also the light is a small bed side light next to the heater, so you'll need other lights if you are sleeping at the top end. Not a problem if you are used to camping, but if you are trying this for the 1st time hopefully it'll help.

We didn't get chance to eat at the restaurant due to limited menu and New Year but found a wonderful pub about 1-2 miles away towards Ashbourne called 'The Bluebell', very nice home cooked meals and large portions.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PritchandJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Perfect , Peaceful and Incredible Exciting Getaway for me and my Family...Absolutely Beautiful Scenery with Modern fixtures ,very Comfortable and Cosy Accomodation! My Children have a wonderful time at the surrounding area. rambling walking ,biking and even Fishing! We are very Welcome on the first day itself with Big Smiles and Friendly Gestures! All the Staffs and Management were really very helpful ! We felt very much at home! A wide range of appetising meals to start Off our day and there's plenty of lovely country Pubs around for drinks or even for a meal. This wonderful place Not Just gives a very peaceful and harmonies atmosphere but very safe place for my children to wander around! I would certain love to come back again every year with my Familyand its gonna be our year in and out holiday affairs! Thank you very much Rivendale Caravan Holiday Resort for making our Holiday a very Special and Memorable One! xxxxx

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irenetch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Thank you for your compliments, it is a pleasure being host to such friendly guests, we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Beautiful, modern & cosy accomodation, with fantastic veiws. Fantastic selection for breakfast. Owner and all staff very welcoming, very nice and very helpful. Surrounding area beautiful for walks, plenty of country pubs for eating out, or onsite restuerant. Ashbourne & Buxton not far away & both beautiful places for shopping. Hartington beautiful, like walking into "Emmerdale". Walks are stunning, ask at reception for map & routes etc... & Local buses through the tiny villages & countryside too, if your too tired to trek back to Rivendale. Everything you need and want is here. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay and will return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lululindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Rating this site as 'Terrible' may lead you to believe that the mentality of the reviewer may be a little 'extreme', and therefore you may disregard this review. Your call. I have no axe to grind - I'm just trying to help folk that are easy going, love the outdoors and whose leisure time is precious to them and their family.

My perceived failings of Rivendale are many - and I do not have the heart to list these after just returning from the worst caravanning experience I have had to date. Nor do I have the desire to assist the site with constructive criticism either.

I do have the drive to assist you.

Consider that there is no physical security that prevents access to, or from the site for non-residents. Your caravan could be towed away at any time. Then consider that a code is required to access the toilet block. There's a philosophy here - it may not seem much on the face of it, but it's that of not caring for the punter, but looking after business.This philosophy permeates the whole experience at Rivendale.

Never again for us.

Beware the Rivendale moderator who 'bats off' every complaint as though the complainant was wrong - check it out for yourself.

This area of the UK is fantastic.

Enjoy it to the max - and base you and your family elsewhere!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank WhichCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

This review is a mystery - as is the reviewer who has no profile or previous reviews on Tripadvisor. We did not receive any complaints around the time of this review (aside from guests complaining about the noise made by the previous reviewer). For a person who was evidently as unhappy as this reviewer, that is very unusual - particularly as we still do not know what they were unhappy about - other than the supposed lack of security provided for our guests.
Which is also very strange considering the first thing you see when driving through our gates is a sign warning you of the CCTV - followed by a pole with a camera on it monitoring the entrance. You then drive past the rising bollards that go up overnight up to the toilet building and play area - also monitored by cameras. There is only one road in and out of Rivendale - which is overlooked by reception and the warden's lodge - with staff on site 24/7. Are we talking about the same site?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

It was our first motorhome trip, we are hardened campers .....and was shocked by how close you are to the nxt motor, probably about 1 and a half meters.

We hate in the resturant, I was served a piece of steak pie that had been microwaved, the corners were rock hard due to being over zapped. It came with a bit of veg and 3 new potatoes and it cost £8.95.The resturant stank of chip fat.

We returned back to our motor and played some music as we didnt have a tv, the music certainly wasnt loud. Just after 9pm a neighbour knocked on to ask us to turn it down...we did and was shocked by the request. A few minuites later one of the site workers knocked on and told us to turn off the music, I asked why as it wasnt loud and it was only 9ish. I was told they have a zero tolerance of music after 9. I was completely blown away by this, we have been camping for years and have never been told off for being noisy. To top it, either the neighbour or the worker unplugged our electric hook up, we had the heating on electric so i went freezing in the night!

We

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynn a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Unfortunately, this review is factually incorrect and has more to do with its author being upset, because, following several complaints from other clients about excessive noise, our wardens responded by politely asking that their music be turned down (not off). The gentleman on the neighbouring pitch commented that he was clinically half deaf - but had found it unbearable - particularly as they left it blaring out out even when their motorhome was unoccupied. None of our staff removed or turned off their power - so my guess is one of their neighbours did - apparently frustrated that they turned the music back up again as soon as our warden had returned to the office. Had we known, we would have asked them to leave the park because our policy is that all music should be switched off after 10.30 p.m. but consideration for fellow guests should be shown at all times. We leave readers of this review to come to their own conclusions with regard to their other complaints. Suffice to say the hedges between the pitches alone are about 1 and a half metres wide, and despite the supposedly over-priced disgusting meal experienced in the restaurant in the evening, the reviewer had a hearty breakfast in the cafe the following morning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We went for 5 days with friends and it was fabulous. The campsite is nice, I did miss water of some kind for the kids to paddle in. The staff in reception, shop and bar is very friendly. This part of England is full of things to do on a day out.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monika218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsop en le Dale
3.2 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
930 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ashbourne Heights Holiday Park
Ashbourne Heights Holiday Park
#1 of 3 in Fenny Bentley
363 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Manifold Inn
The Manifold Inn
#1 of 7 in Hartington
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Longnor Wood Holiday Park
3.1 mi away
YHA Hartington Hall
YHA Hartington Hall
#2 of 6 in Hartington
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peak District Spa
Peak District Spa
#2 of 2 in Alsop en le Dale
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park

Address: Buxton Road, Alsop en le Dale, Peak District National Park, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Alsop en le Dale
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Alsop en le Dale
Price Range: $25 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Park surrounded by fabulous scenery offering Yurts, Camping Pods, Pine Lodges, B & B rooms, Holiday Caravans & tent or caravan pitches for rental. WiFi cafe, pub & restaurant on site. Ideal for walking & cycling just 100 metres from the Tissington Trail with footpaths from site leading into Dove dale. Convenient Alton Towers, Chatsworth, Matlock, Carsington Water, National Tram Museum etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park Hotel Alsop En Le Dale
Rivendale Caravan And Leisure Park
Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park Alsop En Le Dale, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing