We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B at Rivendale”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Beautiful, modern & cosy accomodation, with fantastic veiws. Fantastic selection for breakfast. Owner and all staff very welcoming, very nice and very helpful. Surrounding area beautiful for walks, plenty of country pubs for eating out, or onsite restuerant. Ashbourne & Buxton not far away & both beautiful places for shopping. Hartington beautiful, like walking into "Emmerdale". Walks are stunning, ask at reception for map & routes etc... & Local buses through the tiny villages & countryside too, if your too tired to trek back to Rivendale. Everything you need and want is here. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay and will return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lululindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 397 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

Rating this site as 'Terrible' may lead you to believe that the mentality of the reviewer may be a little 'extreme', and therefore you may disregard this review. Your call. I have no axe to grind - I'm just trying to help folk that are easy going, love the outdoors and whose leisure time is precious to them and their family.

My perceived failings of Rivendale are many - and I do not have the heart to list these after just returning from the worst caravanning experience I have had to date. Nor do I have the desire to assist the site with constructive criticism either.

I do have the drive to assist you.

Consider that there is no physical security that prevents access to, or from the site for non-residents. Your caravan could be towed away at any time. Then consider that a code is required to access the toilet block. There's a philosophy here - it may not seem much on the face of it, but it's that of not caring for the punter, but looking after business.This philosophy permeates the whole experience at Rivendale.

Never again for us.

Beware the Rivendale moderator who 'bats off' every complaint as though the complainant was wrong - check it out for yourself.

This area of the UK is fantastic.

Enjoy it to the max - and base you and your family elsewhere!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank WhichCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

This review is a mystery - as is the reviewer who has no profile or previous reviews on Tripadvisor. We did not receive any complaints around the time of this review (aside from guests complaining about the noise made by the previous reviewer). For a person who was evidently as unhappy as this reviewer, that is very unusual - particularly as we still do not know what they were unhappy about - other than the supposed lack of security provided for our guests.
Which is also very strange considering the first thing you see when driving through our gates is a sign warning you of the CCTV - followed by a pole with a camera on it monitoring the entrance. You then drive past the rising bollards that go up overnight up to the toilet building and play area - also monitored by cameras. There is only one road in and out of Rivendale - which is overlooked by reception and the warden's lodge - with staff on site 24/7. Are we talking about the same site?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

It was our first motorhome trip, we are hardened campers .....and was shocked by how close you are to the nxt motor, probably about 1 and a half meters.

We hate in the resturant, I was served a piece of steak pie that had been microwaved, the corners were rock hard due to being over zapped. It came with a bit of veg and 3 new potatoes and it cost £8.95.The resturant stank of chip fat.

We returned back to our motor and played some music as we didnt have a tv, the music certainly wasnt loud. Just after 9pm a neighbour knocked on to ask us to turn it down...we did and was shocked by the request. A few minuites later one of the site workers knocked on and told us to turn off the music, I asked why as it wasnt loud and it was only 9ish. I was told they have a zero tolerance of music after 9. I was completely blown away by this, we have been camping for years and have never been told off for being noisy. To top it, either the neighbour or the worker unplugged our electric hook up, we had the heating on electric so i went freezing in the night!

We

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynn a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Unfortunately, this review is factually incorrect and has more to do with its author being upset, because, following several complaints from other clients about excessive noise, our wardens responded by politely asking that their music be turned down (not off). The gentleman on the neighbouring pitch commented that he was clinically half deaf - but had found it unbearable - particularly as they left it blaring out out even when their motorhome was unoccupied. None of our staff removed or turned off their power - so my guess is one of their neighbours did - apparently frustrated that they turned the music back up again as soon as our warden had returned to the office. Had we known, we would have asked them to leave the park because our policy is that all music should be switched off after 10.30 p.m. but consideration for fellow guests should be shown at all times. We leave readers of this review to come to their own conclusions with regard to their other complaints. Suffice to say the hedges between the pitches alone are about 1 and a half metres wide, and despite the supposedly over-priced disgusting meal experienced in the restaurant in the evening, the reviewer had a hearty breakfast in the cafe the following morning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We went for 5 days with friends and it was fabulous. The campsite is nice, I did miss water of some kind for the kids to paddle in. The staff in reception, shop and bar is very friendly. This part of England is full of things to do on a day out.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monika218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a good camp site with reasonable facilities in a good location. Ashbourne is well worth a visit, and there are good walks around the site. The facilities on site are good and were clean with plenty of hot water. Don't waste your money eating in the restaurant, the service is poor and the quality of the food leaves a lot to be desired. We ordered as a table and some of us had eaten our meal before the rest had even been served, the quality was extremely poor and the meal was expensive for what was served.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We decided to book at Rivendale after finding it on the web! Although the weather certainly didn't help we were sadly let down by our experience!We were 2 families of 4 camping on 'The Meadow'.We did read the info on the website however as lots of other reviewers have commented the unisex toilets/showers are not really ideal.5 toilets & 5 showers for everyone on the fully booked 'Meadow' plus just 2 sinks for pot washing was just not adequate. The facilities fell short of what we would expect from the information that was on the website. We arrived at 1pm on 24/8 & the toilets were fairly clean then but the condition of them deteriorated throughout the weekend. The owners can't be held responsible for the mud or the condition that other campers leave the toilets in however the owners are responsibe to make sure that they are regularly checked & re stocked. This did not happen!!!!! when a campsite is fully booked it stands to reason that the facilities will be under pressure & the staff should be prepared to deal with this accordingly....surely that means sending people in more often to clean. When it was wet & muddy it needs to be cleaned more often, this surely goes with the territory of owning a campsite when the weather is wet irrespective of the campers behaviour! Our weekend should not be affected by the cleanliness of the facilities which unfortunatley it was.
On the plus side we did enjoy our meal in the pub- great quality & good value for money. On all the info it does state parties of 8 or more need to book, however when we tried to book they said they wouldn't accept bookings (???) so we just had to turn up & hope for the best!
All in all although I'm sure the weather didn't improve the situation we were sorely dissappointed by our weekend away:(

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amanda f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregpotter, Manager at Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for your email.

The toilets and showers in the bottom field were cleaned and checked 7 times on Saturday (twice by me) & about the same on the two subsequent days. However, we had some problems with guests over the weekend who seemed to think it was reasonable to use large amounts of loo roll to start their fires, whilst their children deliberately muddied the building as soon as the cleaners had finished and left the Camping Meadow. We agree that increased occupancy of the field will require more frequent cleaning, which I would suggest 7 times daily is. Clean as well and often as you like however, you will not present clean facilities to guests if people are deliberately or thoughtlessly messing them up. We are left with the option of having a toilet cleaner permanently monitoring them at bank holidays - which is perhaps a bit intrusive - but evidently necessary from now on. We also photographed children fishing illegally, mostly without rod licenses, and complaints from other customers whose bivouack hammock cords and guy ropes were cut, apparently for a laugh. We had a frank exchange of views with some of these guests and have no doubt the world will be hearing from them shortly. Meanwhile, we are extremely sorry for the inconvenience you suffered with regard to the toilet block.
Booking is usually necessary for parties of 8 or more in the restaurant, unless there are lots of tables available - as was evidently the case on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Last minute idea to spend the weekend somewhere up north with access to beautiful walking locations, uncertain weather, lack of camping equipment - glamping became a new learnt term for us all, and we all thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Our pod at Rivendale, was located up a hill, away from the main sections of the campsite, which suited us fine. The site was very well kept, water available very near by, each pod has a connection to electricity - what more could you ask for? :)

We were quite conscious regarding noise levels for other campers, as the spacing between the pods isn't huge. Our intention to walk wasn't so much held back by the rain, we walked during the night instead :) But coming back to the site we couldn't help but feel that we might be slightly disturbing others. No comments were made or complaints risen though.

There is an on site pub serving food - those that ate were happy enough. On site shop for supplies, even for BBQ was handy. And regarding walks, a number of possible trails can be reached either by foot or by car from the camp site. Wash facilities were impressive, couldn't ask for more at a campsite.

Would recommend, do recommend! I imagine for couples, families - this would be more suitable. Will be doing something like this again, although maybe next time looking for something more secluded.

Room Tip: The pods up on the hill were more private than those on the main campsite. Depends on you though, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsop en le Dale
3.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
7.4 mi away
Longnor Wood Holiday Park
3.1 mi away
YHA Hartington Hall
YHA Hartington Hall
#2 of 6 in Hartington
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Knotlow Farm B&B
Knotlow Farm B&B
#5 of 39 in Buxton
140 reviews
4.2 mi away
YHA Ilam Hall
YHA Ilam Hall
#1 of 2 in Ilam
250 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Manifold Inn
The Manifold Inn
#1 of 7 in Hartington
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park

Address: Buxton Road, Alsop en le Dale, Peak District National Park, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Alsop en le Dale
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Alsop en le Dale
Price Range: $25 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Park surrounded by fabulous scenery offering Yurts, Camping Pods, Pine Lodges, B & B rooms, Holiday Caravans & tent or caravan pitches for rental. WiFi cafe, pub & restaurant on site. Ideal for walking & cycling just 100 metres from the Tissington Trail with footpaths from site leading into Dove dale. Convenient Alton Towers, Chatsworth, Matlock, Carsington Water, National Tram Museum etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivendale Caravan And Leisure Park
Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park Hotel Alsop En Le Dale
Rivendale Caravan & Leisure Park Alsop En Le Dale, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing