We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight”
Review of Callow Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Callow Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mappleton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Welcoming and professional staff. Lovely well furnished character rooms. Improvements? Can't open a window in the bedroom, wifi signal very poor outside the public areas.
Dining room a bit formal - went out to eat with local colleagues. Looking forward to breakfast, which has a big reputation!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank TimCarter5Fd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
There are newer reviews for Callow Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 320 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

Its second time that we stayed at this hotel Dinner Bed & Breakfast and it was a lovely experience each time. The hotel is now under new ownership and doesn’t seem to have changed much at all. Situated just outside the village of Ashbourne it has lovely views and walk from the back of the hotel back down to the road just before the village takes around 40 minutes, although it was quite muddy due to the recent rainfall.
We stayed in room 14 (Eileen) at the side of the hotel in a quiet location. It is clean and furnished in keeping with the hotel, very comfortable and includes complimentary mineral water and toiletries.
The hotel staff are very professional and pleasant, always willing to help. We had a delicious cream tea , which was good value, in the lounge with a lovely log fire, adding to the warm atmosphere.
A dinner allowance was included in the price for DBB&B up to £35 each, and we paid just £13 extra to have the three courses that we wanted. The food was beautifully presented, very tasty and altogether a good fine dining experience, and the wine is reasonably priced. We were disappointed with the tasting menu is no longer available at this was wonderful in our last stay. The dining room has crisp white tablecloths and candlelit at dinner.
We enjoyed the English cooked breakfast which was plentiful although a little dry, indicating most of it was precooked and stood around for some time.
We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: room 14 (Eileen) is quiet
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NottsVacationers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We got married at Callow Hall at the end of November and it was a fantastic experience. The setting and building is beautiful. The staff were all very friendly and professional. We made our arrangements with Diana and everything ran like clockwork on the day. Diana was very flexible and accommodating, helping us to have a relaxed and intimate wedding. The bridal bedroom (Dorothy) is gorgeous.

Room Tip: The bridal bedroom (Dorothy) is gorgeous.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macclesfield_Comment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed for one night in December. The room was pleasant and large, dinner was very enjoyable and the staff were most welcoming. The hotel has recently been taken over and is clearly on an improving trend. The location is fantastic and I will return in the summer to try again

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Partner792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We had our Chrismas Party here this year - a longstanding group of friends (14 of us this year) who nominate one couple every year to pick a venue for a pre Chrismas bash.
This year was one to remember - Diana (the manager) organised everything very efficiently - Simon & Grace looked after us perfectly, ably backed up by all of the other staff no doubt .
The greeting, the setting & the food for our 'Do' were very very good - the beds were comfy & the breakfast warmed by a log fire the next morning was the perfect antidote to the excesses of the night before.
Altogether it was an excellent start to Christmas - to all of the other guests that weekend, sorry if we were a bit noisy!

Room Tip: Some are little larger than others so ask if there is a choice.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We recently got married at Callow Hall and the experience from the time we first viewed it to the day after, when we and all of our guests left after a full English Breakfast was a shear joy. Diana and the Callow team were so professional and also extremely friendly. We booked the hotel exclusively, looking for a relaxed atmosphere and it couldn't have gone any better.
The hotel and the location makes Callow an ideal location for a wedding

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My partner and I booked an appointment to view Callow Hall as a potential wedding venue for next year, when we arrived the lady I had been in touch with on email showed us into a small lounge area where some other guests were drinking champagne and chatting, clearly waiting to be picked up and taken to a nearby wedding. Eventually another girl arrived to speak to us, not the original lady I had spoken to who I took to be the wedding coordinator, or at least front of house manager. The girl who showed us round was absolutely lovely, but she was constantly referring to the brochure as though this was not usually her responsibility and she wasn't sure of the details. Not only that but we were expected to discuss details of our wedding and prices in front of the other guests in a small room where they could hear every word. I'm not sure who felt like more of an imposition on who! We were taken on a tour and shown the room where the ceremony would take place, the window that all of our guests would have been facing had a giant crack in it which was all my partner and I could see. We were shown a couple of bedrooms, which were nice enough, however there were dirty, half full wine glasses on window ledges and sideboards throughout the upstairs area of the hotel, and laundry bags at the top of the stairs, which didn't bother me as much as it did my partner, as it is a working hotel so I could excuse the laundry. We were unfortunately unable to view the bridal suite as it was in use, which was completely understandable. After about 45 minutes, we went away with a few print outs of dates and prices in a paper bag and the feeling that we had been an unavoidable inconvenience to be gotten rid of as quickly as possible. We received no warm welcome, at no point were we congratulated on our engagement or thanked for our interest in the venue, we were forced to discuss financial details in front of strangers and they did not seem keen to encourage us to book our wedding with them. We did unfortunately arrive about 15 minutes late for our appointment, as the venue was much more difficult to find than we anticipated, which may explain why the lady I had spoken to took one look at us and decided not to make an effort for us, but my partner's opinion is that we made a mistake by enquiring about a late availability offer mentioned on the website, as we are hoping to have a short engagement as he is in the military, and that this is the reason they were not inclined to make us feel welcome or special. Either way, suffice it to say we will not be booking our wedding at Callow Hall.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lyndleloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mappleton
2.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
333 reviews
13.0 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
17.8 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,133 reviews
10.2 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callow Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callow Hall Hotel

Address: Mapleton Road | Ashbourne, Mappleton, Ashbourne DE6 2AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Mappleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mappleton
Price Range: $123 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Callow Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Callow Hall is a unique 4 star country house hotel with an unrivalled setting and renowned restaurant, situated at the gateway to the Peak District National Park, close to the lively market town of Ashbourne. Surrounded by 35 acres of private garden, fields and woodland overlooking the Bentley Brook and vale of the River Dove, this ivy-clad Victorian hotel really is a haven of peace and tranquillity but also a perfect base for exploring the splendours that Derbyshire and the ´Peak District´ have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Callow Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing