We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Callow Hall Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$119
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$87
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Red Lion Hotel(Wirksworth)
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel(Biggin-by-Hartington)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveler rating
180
91
43
17
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
91
43
17
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teawedding venuebeautiful buildingthe secret gardenon arrivalpre dinner drinksanniversary treatsuperior roomboth dinner and breakfastwine listthe ground floorfour posterwonderful hotelsconeswaiting staffstaff were welcomingsuperb food
Filter
Updating list...
215 - 220 of 344 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My partner and I booked an appointment to view Callow Hall as a potential wedding venue for next year, when we arrived the lady I had been in touch with on email showed us into a small lounge area where some other guests were drinking champagne and chatting, clearly waiting to be picked up and taken to a nearby wedding. Eventually another girl arrived to speak to us, not the original lady I had spoken to who I took to be the wedding coordinator, or at least front of house manager. The girl who showed us round was absolutely lovely, but she was constantly referring to the brochure as though this was not usually her responsibility and she wasn't sure of the details. Not only that but we were expected to discuss details of our wedding and prices in front of the other guests in a small room where they could hear every word. I'm not sure who felt like more of an imposition on who! We were taken on a tour and shown the room where the ceremony would take place, the window that all of our guests would have been facing had a giant crack in it which was all my partner and I could see. We were shown a couple of bedrooms, which were nice enough, however there were dirty, half full wine glasses on window ledges and sideboards throughout the upstairs area of the hotel, and laundry bags at the top of the stairs, which didn't bother me as much as it did my partner, as it is a working hotel so I could excuse the laundry. We were unfortunately unable to view the bridal suite as it was in use, which was completely understandable. After about 45 minutes, we went away with a few print outs of dates and prices in a paper bag and the feeling that we had been an unavoidable inconvenience to be gotten rid of as quickly as possible. We received no warm welcome, at no point were we congratulated on our engagement or thanked for our interest in the venue, we were forced to discuss financial details in front of strangers and they did not seem keen to encourage us to book our wedding with them. We did unfortunately arrive about 15 minutes late for our appointment, as the venue was much more difficult to find than we anticipated, which may explain why the lady I had spoken to took one look at us and decided not to make an effort for us, but my partner's opinion is that we made a mistake by enquiring about a late availability offer mentioned on the website, as we are hoping to have a short engagement as he is in the military, and that this is the reason they were not inclined to make us feel welcome or special. Either way, suffice it to say we will not be booking our wedding at Callow Hall.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lyndleloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Lovely location, lovely food, lovely staff, just a few little disappointments - but these certainly did not spoil my weekend.

The entrance to our suite was around the back and the floor was well littered with cigarette buts on the floor or in the plant pots, they should supply an ashtray at least.

Gorgeous room, very spacious but a the cleanliness could have been much better, too many cobwebs and dust lying around.

We were there for two nights and were only given one set of bathroom products, after using them on the first night they did not re fill for the second night, had to use our own.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 555GinaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We took my parents to this lovely hotel for afternoon tea after a walk around Ilam. We had our tea in a charming period lounge with stunning views of the Deryshire countryside. The food did not disappoint - delicious, dainty sandwiches, homemade scones and a superb selection of cakes. The whole experience was very relaxing and the staff were professional and attentive

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed for two nights at Callow Hall. This house/hotel is lovely...laid back...fantastic location...but as another reviewer noted...doesn't quite meet it's 'aspirations'. We were greeted by the G Manager...who was lovely, helped with our bags and quickly came to our room with welcome tea and biscuits. We were in a 'side' room...twin...pretty pokey really...with an 'ok' bathroom...small...but functional. Quickly noticed loads of dust everywhere...especially underneath the 'dressing table'; it was pretty thick. Needed a damn good vac!!
We had the bar and dining room...to ourselves in the evening!...personal service. A 'quirky'...English/local menu....service by our waiter with white gloves on!...our meal was very good...and interesting. Clearly a lot of trouble taken in the kitchen.
Breakfast both mornings was excellent...especially the porridge!..We felt that this is aiming for a company/wedding venue 'feel' rather than a couple's hideaway type place. The rooms need updating I felt...eg, you couldn't plug a hairdryer in....and make it reach anywhere to sit and dry your hair with a mirror! Odd! We enjoyed it...and would probably return. Easy to reach Chatsworth...beautiful countryside. They need to up their game a bit...for the prices that they charge. Overall...a good, if a bit 'odd' experience!

Room Tip: If you can afford a room 'on the front'...they looked lovely.....
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LedburyLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived here on dreary, cold, wet evening and were grateful for such a warm welcome by the duty manager, Becky. Although the public areas were spacious we were immediately enveloped in a lovely cosy warmth. Our bedroom had an open window and was cool, but very quickly warmed up when we turned up the radiator. Our bedroom (Emma) was small and had a disappointingly restricted view to the back of the hotel but it was fitted with high quality furnishings and sturdy genuine furniture. The small bathroom was rather tired looking but had a deep bath, a good flow of really hot water and the nicest fluffiest towels I've ever seen. We had a drink in the bar before dinner and all the staff were well informed and displayed just the right amount of professionalism and friendliness. Despite some of the other comments, we found the food to be quite adventurous and very tasty, although rather pricey. £3.95 for coffee at the end of a meal (although it included a couple of petit fours) seemed an unduly expensive finale to our meal. Breakfast was excellent - we were offered fresh fruit etc, good choices for the main course and good crispy toast (though I would have expected home made jams/marmalades). The attractive dining room was laid out with great care and attention to the smallest detail, with crisp white tablecloths and napkins. Throughout our stay, the staff were very friendly and attentive. As we arrived late and left the next morning, we were unable to take advantage of exploring the lovely surrounding area, although we did call in to Ashbourne - a delightful country town.

Room Tip: Our room, Emma, was cramped and had a restricted view
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeckyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews