We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful romantic stay”
Review of Callow Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Callow Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mappleton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband surprised me with a stay at Callow Hall for our wedding anniversary and we had a wonderful time. It was a lovely quiet stay away from London and we had a great room (Dorothy) with a four-poster bed and peaceful views. We enjoyed a very special dinner in the restaurant on our first night and were very impressed by the quality and flavours of the food. The grounds are lovely and we enjoyed wandering around the well-kept gardens. There is a wide breakfast choice and all you need; and the best poached smoked haddock and poached eggs I've ever had! My husband was equally impressed with the full English breakfast, using local produce. We enjoyed excellent service at the hotel; from all staff and would recommend to anyone looking for a special stay.

Room Tip: Room 1 - Dorothy is light and airy with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Recarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 332 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at Callow Hall after our friends wedding was rearranged at short notice and the people at Callow Hall stepped up to the challenge and made it a truly magical day to remember. We had a four poster bedroom and the setting is stunning. The total day was so very special from start to finish, the ceremony, the wedding breakfast and evening reception. The staff were courteous and could not do enough for you. The breakfast in the morning was lovely, full english and I had poached eggs. A lovely place to have an intimate wedding.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiltsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My Husband and I have just returned from an overnight stay at Callow Hall and have had the most relaxing weekend in a long time. Callow Hall and the grounds within which it stands are beautiful and very peaceful and the views are stunning. The staff could not be faulted, we received a warm welcome on arrival and were greeted whenever we passed through reception, the bar and waiting staff were excellent too, attending to our every need in the restaurant. Our room (17 - Sarah) was accessed from outside the main hotel and the fact it was a suite was a lovely surprise, we had a spacious, cosy living room and a bedroom with a very comfortable large bed. The bathroom was on the compact side but perfectly adequate and the shower was great. As others have mentioned, if you were going to be picky the room could have done with a bit of attention decoration wise but was otherwise clean, cosy and charming. We ate in the Restaurant for dinner and the food was excellent, likewise the traditional Derbyshire breakfast the morning after. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H0rseymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed in a room (Emma) overlooking the back of the house. Room was nice if a little small/dark, clean and the bed comfy. A few marks on the wallpaper. Bathroom was OK though some of the sealant around the bath needs replacing and a couple of tiles / bath panel need replacing. Shower was powerful and bath fills satisfyingly quick. Breakfast was great. Couldnt fault it. Dinner menu was relatively unadventurous but the food good quality and perfectly cooked. Had a fillet steak which was perfectly cooked with some of the most delicious chips ive ever had. Cheese board was excellent though id change the quince/ nut thing as was very bland. Bottle of Douro was terrific. Pleasant feel to the hotel without being too stuffy. Staff mostly friendly and helpful throughout. With a few minor attentions to detail this hotel could be terrific. Lovely views and location. Quiet and pleasant surroundings. TV could do with replacing for a more user friendly one. Was led to believe they had Sky in the rooms, but only Freeview.

I quote their website

All rooms at this luxury country house hotel are individually designed to the highest standard with comfortable furnishings and well-appointed ensuite bathrooms. Some have original Victorian features and quirks and others are more cosy and modern in style. All rooms boast flat screen televisions with satellite channels, luxurious toiletries, comfortable beds and fluffy towels.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rikitiki123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

previously stayed at East lodge hotel we were led to believe that this hotel would be up to the same standard, it wasn't . on arrival we were shown to the room it was called David, a four poster room one of the best rooms they have . As soon as we entered the room it smelt fusty ,looking around we could see dust on the lights and on the bed posts, it was unbelievable we asked to be shown other rooms as we did not want to sleep in a dirty room . we were given a choice of available rooms all rooms looked tired and needed some TLC but we chose a room on the ground floor as it was a bit more spacious, all the carpets were stained in some way and in our opinion we would have expected a lot better for the price. The meals for a two rosette. establishment were very disappointing, in our opinion 'pub food' Sunday evening dinner was one of he worst we have had the beef was dry and I couldn't eat it, wine list was very limited one of the smallest I have seen for a hotel. Breakfast on our day of departure we sat and waited 10 minutes before anyone came, no granulated sugar for cereals had to wait and by the time it came cornflakes were soggy, definitely didn't get freshly squeezed orange juice on this occasion, I have had a better quality breakfast for a lot less money, very uninspiring. On the upside it is in a lovely setting but we feel for the money we paid it was not value for money, we have stayed in many other hotels in the area including the sister hotel and all were better than this. We wouldn't go again unless they could prove to us it had changed.
A very disappointing weekend when you are paying over £200 per night for bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank daveanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

From the moment we arrived, we felt at ease and relaxed immediately! We were promptly shown to our room which was a really lovely size with amazing views of the grounds. We were lucky to have a sunny day so really enjoyed having the windows open to listen to the birds and nothing else-bliss!
After a relax in the room, we enjoyed a bar snack and wine in the lounge in from of an open fire, perfect.
Dinner was exceptional, again very relaxing and comfortable surroundings. The staff were very attentive and polite and couldn't do enough for us. Especially Diana who greeted us and made sure everything was just right at the beginning of the stay.
More exceptional food for breakfast it set us up for the day, just wish we could have stayed longer and will certainly be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Dorothy room, very comfortable and relaxing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenkezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I recently took my wife for her birthday to spend a lovely night at Callow Hall. We were joined by our grown up children for afternoon tea and scones in the living room. It felt so decedent but we were thoroughly spoilt by the great surroundings. Later the two of us had a beautifully served meal in the restaurant followed by a nights stay in a luxurious room. The breakfast in the morning was very good.

Room Tip: Our room ( more of a suite) was very quiet accessed from outside and beautifully set out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 144RobertC144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mappleton
2.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
341 reviews
17.8 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
413 reviews
18.1 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
13 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callow Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callow Hall Hotel

Address: Mapleton Road | Ashbourne, Mappleton, Ashbourne DE6 2AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Mappleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mappleton
Price Range: $124 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Callow Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Callow Hall is a unique 4 star country house hotel with an unrivalled setting and renowned restaurant, situated at the gateway to the Peak District National Park, close to the lively market town of Ashbourne. Surrounded by 35 acres of private garden, fields and woodland overlooking the Bentley Brook and vale of the River Dove, this ivy-clad Victorian hotel really is a haven of peace and tranquillity but also a perfect base for exploring the splendours that Derbyshire and the ´Peak District´ have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Orbitz so you can book your Callow Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing