We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally relaxing stay at Callow Hall”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Callow Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Callow Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mappleton
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Totally relaxing stay at Callow Hall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

My Husband and I have just returned from an overnight stay at Callow Hall and have had the most relaxing weekend in a long time. Callow Hall and the grounds within which it stands are beautiful and very peaceful and the views are stunning. The staff could not be faulted, we received a warm welcome on arrival and were greeted whenever we passed through reception, the bar and waiting staff were excellent too, attending to our every need in the restaurant. Our room (17 - Sarah) was accessed from outside the main hotel and the fact it was a suite was a lovely surprise, we had a spacious, cosy living room and a bedroom with a very comfortable large bed. The bathroom was on the compact side but perfectly adequate and the shower was great. As others have mentioned, if you were going to be picky the room could have done with a bit of attention decoration wise but was otherwise clean, cosy and charming. We ate in the Restaurant for dinner and the food was excellent, likewise the traditional Derbyshire breakfast the morning after. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H0rseymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    82
    31
    14
    10
See reviews for
53
163
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed in a room (Emma) overlooking the back of the house. Room was nice if a little small/dark, clean and the bed comfy. A few marks on the wallpaper. Bathroom was OK though some of the sealant around the bath needs replacing and a couple of tiles / bath panel need replacing. Shower was powerful and bath fills satisfyingly quick. Breakfast was great. Couldnt fault it. Dinner menu was relatively unadventurous but the food good quality and perfectly cooked. Had a fillet steak which was perfectly cooked with some of the most delicious chips ive ever had. Cheese board was excellent though id change the quince/ nut thing as was very bland. Bottle of Douro was terrific. Pleasant feel to the hotel without being too stuffy. Staff mostly friendly and helpful throughout. With a few minor attentions to detail this hotel could be terrific. Lovely views and location. Quiet and pleasant surroundings. TV could do with replacing for a more user friendly one. Was led to believe they had Sky in the rooms, but only Freeview.

I quote their website

All rooms at this luxury country house hotel are individually designed to the highest standard with comfortable furnishings and well-appointed ensuite bathrooms. Some have original Victorian features and quirks and others are more cosy and modern in style. All rooms boast flat screen televisions with satellite channels, luxurious toiletries, comfortable beds and fluffy towels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rikitiki123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Par, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

previously stayed at East lodge hotel we were led to believe that this hotel would be up to the same standard, it wasn't . on arrival we were shown to the room it was called David, a four poster room one of the best rooms they have . As soon as we entered the room it smelt fusty ,looking around we could see dust on the lights and on the bed posts, it was unbelievable we asked to be shown other rooms as we did not want to sleep in a dirty room . we were given a choice of available rooms all rooms looked tired and needed some TLC but we chose a room on the ground floor as it was a bit more spacious, all the carpets were stained in some way and in our opinion we would have expected a lot better for the price. The meals for a two rosette. establishment were very disappointing, in our opinion 'pub food' Sunday evening dinner was one of he worst we have had the beef was dry and I couldn't eat it, wine list was very limited one of the smallest I have seen for a hotel. Breakfast on our day of departure we sat and waited 10 minutes before anyone came, no granulated sugar for cereals had to wait and by the time it came cornflakes were soggy, definitely didn't get freshly squeezed orange juice on this occasion, I have had a better quality breakfast for a lot less money, very uninspiring. On the upside it is in a lovely setting but we feel for the money we paid it was not value for money, we have stayed in many other hotels in the area including the sister hotel and all were better than this. We wouldn't go again unless they could prove to us it had changed.
A very disappointing weekend when you are paying over £200 per night for bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank daveanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

From the moment we arrived, we felt at ease and relaxed immediately! We were promptly shown to our room which was a really lovely size with amazing views of the grounds. We were lucky to have a sunny day so really enjoyed having the windows open to listen to the birds and nothing else-bliss!
After a relax in the room, we enjoyed a bar snack and wine in the lounge in from of an open fire, perfect.
Dinner was exceptional, again very relaxing and comfortable surroundings. The staff were very attentive and polite and couldn't do enough for us. Especially Diana who greeted us and made sure everything was just right at the beginning of the stay.
More exceptional food for breakfast it set us up for the day, just wish we could have stayed longer and will certainly be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Dorothy room, very comfortable and relaxing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenkezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I recently took my wife for her birthday to spend a lovely night at Callow Hall. We were joined by our grown up children for afternoon tea and scones in the living room. It felt so decedent but we were thoroughly spoilt by the great surroundings. Later the two of us had a beautifully served meal in the restaurant followed by a nights stay in a luxurious room. The breakfast in the morning was very good.

Room Tip: Our room ( more of a suite) was very quiet accessed from outside and beautifully set out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 144RobertC144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I visited Callow Hall with a large group in March 2013.

The room was small but beautifully decorated; all rooms have names which I found quite quirky. Rooms include, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer and toiletries, the bathroom was dated and could probably have done with some upgrading (especially when you are paying £200+ a night). Overall the Hall is a beautiful building but could potentially do with some upkeep and a lick of paint.

There is a small bar area but is very rarely managed, so you have to find someone if you would like to order drinks. What I will say is that the service was good on the drinks front once they had been ordered / cleared away quickly etc.

Onto the food; I was deeply unhappy at the quality of the food that was served. On the first night the lamb was severely undercooked and could not cut it with the knives provided. The second night, they served beef cheek; which didn’t go down too well with any of the group. There was a good choice on the breakfast menu, but again, was disappointed by the quality, the eggs were undercooked, the bacon was overcooked and the sausages weren’t that great either.

Then, the teaspoons that were in peoples rooms had disappeared! Can only assume that they needed them for the wedding reception that was also happening that night. No other explanation!

It had snowed quite heavily over night and when it came to departing around 10:00 the pathway outside of the Hall was quite slippy and had not been cleared. The hotel seemed to be overrun with younger employees with no seniority at all, hence the reason we didn’t feel we could complain about the aspects of the stay we didn’t think was up to scratch.

There is potential for us to return for afternoon tea, as the location is great but I wouldn’t recommend to anyone for an evening meal / base for a weekend in the Dales as I’m sure there are nicer out there. It is a shame I cannot be more positive about the Hall because it could potentially be fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlondieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband treated me to two nights away at this lovely hotel to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. From the moment you turn off the main road, along the tree (and snowdrop) lined driveway you enter a world of grandeur with service to perfection. We were greeted by Diane and the owner, David, who immediately made us feel welcome and gave us a choice of rooms. On the first night we ate at the nearby (walking distance) Bowling Green Inn which, according to my steak eating husband, was the best steak he had ever eaten. The following day we did an 8 mile circular walk around Dovedale and then had an amazing meal in the hotel in the evening. The staff were so attentive and the service and food exceptional - a perfect place to be. Our room was large and bright, had an amazingly comfortable bed, with luxurious bedding. The bathroom was large with luxurious fittings and a brilliant shower. I would like to add that whilst there are some negative comments written about this hotel, the owners are doing their very best to renovate and update the rooms in this elegant building. Yes, some of the furniture has seen better days and in parts it is tired but the service and overall experience is amazing and the new owners are doing their best - the negative contributors should remember that Rome wasn't built in a day and once fully renovated they will be paying a much higher price for the same service. Once these renovations are done this hotel would certainly get 5 stars from me.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mappleton
2.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
17.9 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
23.7 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
13.2 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callow Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callow Hall Hotel

Property: Callow Hall Hotel
Address: Mapleton Road | Ashbourne, Mappleton, Ashbourne DE6 2AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Mappleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mappleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Callow Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Callow Hall is a unique 4 star country house hotel with an unrivalled setting and renowned restaurant, situated at the gateway to the Peak District National Park, close to the lively market town of Ashbourne. Surrounded by 35 acres of private garden, fields and woodland overlooking the Bentley Brook and vale of the River Dove, this ivy-clad Victorian hotel really is a haven of peace and tranquillity but also a perfect base for exploring the splendours that Derbyshire and the ´Peak District´ have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Callow Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing