We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Sunday lunch - great value”
Review of Callow Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Callow Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mappleton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I were staying nearby and decided to try Callow hall for Sunday lunch. We were not sure what to expect but were pleasantly surprised. We understand that the hotel has been taken over recently and is being upgraded.

We had drinks in the lounge before lunch which was very relaxing. Lunch itself was outstanding. The freshly made bread was better than at many of the Michelin star restaurants we have been to.

The portions were very generous with every conceivable type of veg accompanying the well cooked roast beef. We left extremely full after coffee in the lounge. We will definitely be back if we are in the area. We may stay over next time.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rivvypike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 325 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

Everything is well run and very good. The style is comfortable country house. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are good, although variable in size. No 8 is not specially recommended as the room is a bit small and the furniture means going from the bedroom to the bathroom is not so easy. I didn't have dinner, but it looked a nice place to eat. Breakfast was generally good, but the service was slow. Meeting facilities were good. The price was very reasonable for the overall quality. In summary a very enjoyable stay and definately recommended.

Room Tip: Room 8 not so good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyReview186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We went midweek for my birthday and what a lovely time we had. On arrival we were greeted well and shown to our room which was spacious and welcoming. We had stayed at their sister hotel before and so our expectations were high. It is clear they have some work to do on the premises to achieve the same levels but this did nt detract from the levels of service and quality of the food. It was genuinely a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flint77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went to Callow Hall for Sunday lunch yesterday with two friends and feel the need to write and say how much we enjoyed the experience. Upon arrival we were greeted by smart, polite,friendly and smiling staff who showed us into the comfortable lounge with spectacular view of the Dove Valley, roaring log fire and interesting antiques. The meal itself was probably the best Sunday Lunch that I have ever paid for. The quality of the locally sourced meat was exceptional, cooked to perfection and accompanied by an interesting vegetable selection and roast potatoes to die for; soft and fluffy on the inside and juicy and crisp on the outside.Service was smart & professional, serving staff wore white cotton gloves (no greasy fingermarks on the edges of the plates here!). After lunch we retired to the Tartan Bar for coffee. My husband really took to this intimate room with its large comfortable leather chairs & gentleman's club atmosphere and another view of the Dove Valley. Callow Hall is family owned & run and we had the opportunity to talk to the Owners, David & Joan Hardman who also own the critically acclaimed East Lodge Hotel In Rowsley. The Hardmans have owned Callow Hall for less than 12 months and are striving to bring it up to the same high standard as East Lodge. We were fortunate to be offered and accepted, a tour of this interesting building. The majority of the 16 bedrooms are large with decent sized, immaculately clean bathrooms. Many of the bathrooms have the luxury of a window ( a rarity in hotels). Some rooms have open fire places, all have interesting pieces of antique furniture (no corporate sameness here) and the two spacious groundfloor suites for wheelchair users are really cosy, one even has a small kitchenette. I can imagine how romantic and perfect a wedding could be here. The bridal suite with its big silver bed and spectacular view, the wide sweeping staircase down which the bride would make her grand entrance and the lovely garden backdrop for the photograhs. The Hardmans have embarked upon the process of updating and refurbishing this period property. It is a rising star in the genre of Country House Hotels and is one to watch. I first went to this hotel many years ago and came away with a spooky feeling. This time I left having fallen in love with the place and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife & I have just returned from an excellent weekend away, in this delightfull country house hotel. Our room was a good size overlooking the front of the hotel with extensive views across open countryside. The staff were excellent, polite, helpful & cheerful & willing. Food was excellent with a good choice. The setting is beautiful & within easy reach of all the attractions the Peak District offers. Would highly recommend a visit, & we shall be returning in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oddsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had reserved the Four Poster Suite at Callow Hall for our first night after getting married at nearby Tissington Hall. We had heard good things about Callow and booked the room way in advanced, they were generously threw in a bottle of champagne for free on arrival.

We advised Callow what time we would be arriving, quite late, and we arrived to find the front door locked and had to stand around for a good 5 minutes in the cold before the night porter arrived and opened the door. Unfortunately it took a good 10 minutes of faffing about before the porter realised we had the room booked.

We asked if we could have a sandwich made for us as we were starving, but we were told rather bluntly "no sandwich, just drink". The service was poor for what appeared to be a top class hotel, and you'd think management would have left instructions or made sure some properly trained staff were on hand when we'd paid a fair amount of money for the room.

Fortunately the breakfast was superb, a great full English. And the manager in the morning was very apologetic and did discount our room rate slightly to compensate. Just a real shame as on your wedding day and night you just don't want any hassle.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Edyboy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We recently got married in Brailsford and had our very intimate reception at Callow Hall. It was amazing from start to finish and would like to thank general manager Claire for making our wedding beautiful. Callow Hall in its own right is a beautiful period property but our photographer Simon Revill took it to another level by revealing parts that no one really see's, making our photo's truly amazing.
I can honestly say from arrival to departure everything was above and beyond our expectations. Our 24 guests were all made very welcome by management and staff who were very professional and friendly at all times. on arrival we had canapés, drinks followed by dinner at 7pm which was delicious. We all spent the night in beautiful suites/bedrooms (the bridal suite was stunning) and had an sumptuous breakfast the following morning, nothing was too much trouble.
Thank you to management and all the staff for truly magnificent wedding.
Jo & Nick

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mappleton
2.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
337 reviews
13.0 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
10.2 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
331 reviews
17.8 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callow Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callow Hall Hotel

Address: Mapleton Road | Ashbourne, Mappleton, Ashbourne DE6 2AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Mappleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mappleton
Price Range: $124 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Callow Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Callow Hall is a unique 4 star country house hotel with an unrivalled setting and renowned restaurant, situated at the gateway to the Peak District National Park, close to the lively market town of Ashbourne. Surrounded by 35 acres of private garden, fields and woodland overlooking the Bentley Brook and vale of the River Dove, this ivy-clad Victorian hotel really is a haven of peace and tranquillity but also a perfect base for exploring the splendours that Derbyshire and the ´Peak District´ have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Callow Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing