We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected”
Review of Callow Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Callow Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mappleton
Certificate of Excellence
London UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
Reviewed February 9, 2008

I was expecting this to be a bit pretentious - both from their website and my first impressions but any leanings that way were overcome by the food - excellent and served in a relaxed and informal way. Even though the receptionist/owner commented that only 'businessmen' (not a term of endearment to her) were staying - I am a businessman - they recovered well and I would certainly go again, possibly not as part of my day job!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank MCHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    82
    31
    15
    10
See reviews for
54
166
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2007

Thought the location was lovely but the food is too old-fashioned and overpriced for what it is. It was cooked nicely and my husband had the plaice which was beautifully fresh (rare on a Monday!) but the menu was not very imaginative. For the prices charged £42 a head for 4 courses and coffee) I feel that more attention to detail is necessary - it feels like it hasn't changed since the 70s!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dated and tired
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2006

This hotel is within walking distance of Ashbourne centre but on a secluded lane. The hotel has uninterrupted views of the Derbyshire countryside. We stayed in Room 1 which was a large comfortable room with a four poster bed and a view from the front of the house. There were two intimate dining rooms, perfect for a romantic dinner. The clientele were mainly couples or small groups. We had a 5 course dinner (£42) which was absolutely delicious and one of the best meals we have had. The hotel looks very grand but fortunately the staff were friendly and unpretentious. We highly recommend this hotel and we look forward to going back there again.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RegularTraveller2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2006

We only stayed for one night. Although we arrived after 10pm we got a very friendly welcome. The location and building are great. In the morning we realised the wonderful view from our Room and the breakfeast was very good too. We left very satisfied.

  • Liked — Large Rooms in historic building with great views.
  • Disliked — Wallpaper slightly too much pattern
  • Tips/Secrets — Owned by a Family of Bakers with a long tradition so bread and pastries are recomended, although we missed them, as we had the also excellent english breakfeast
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank gregorius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 11, 2005

We went there just for an evening anniversary meal and thoroughly enjoyed it; four course plus coffee at £39 was, we felt reasonable value. Service was excellent without being over-defferential. Would go again

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 28, 2005

This Victorian hall is everything you would expect of a small country house hotel. We have stayed several times over recent years and have always been greeted courteously by the family owners and left feeling refreshed and well cared for. Furnishings are comfortable and the linen is sparkling and crisp. Fresh flowers are everywhere and the golden labrador is a bonus. The food is great and served without fuss. Beautiful walks complete the picture. This is not corporate accommodation - it is quirky and individual. A little bit of heaven.

Helpful?
22 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mappleton
2.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
17.9 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
23.7 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
13.2 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callow Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callow Hall Hotel

Property: Callow Hall Hotel
Address: Mapleton Road | Ashbourne, Mappleton, Ashbourne DE6 2AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Mappleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mappleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Callow Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Callow Hall is a unique 4 star country house hotel with an unrivalled setting and renowned restaurant, situated at the gateway to the Peak District National Park, close to the lively market town of Ashbourne. Surrounded by 35 acres of private garden, fields and woodland overlooking the Bentley Brook and vale of the River Dove, this ivy-clad Victorian hotel really is a haven of peace and tranquillity but also a perfect base for exploring the splendours that Derbyshire and the ´Peak District´ have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Callow Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing