We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Afternoon Stop”

Herbert's Fine English Tearooms
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful Afternoon Stop”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

We were in Tissington for a wedding and stopped at this gorgeous little cafe the next day before travelling home. What an idillic location as well as a beautiful traditional cafe. The food was lovely and the staff were clearly enjoying their jobs and very friendly. Even a gluten-free cake option! Impressed. Great stop for walkers or day-trippers.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    59
    13
    10
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“a lunch stop”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

With three friends stopped for a quick lunch.the food (baguettes with various fillings)were excellent, fresh crisp rolls with good quality fillings.the tea was the best I've had for years.leaf tea in a proper tea pot ..more than enough for two or three cups..Why oh why can't all tea rooms be like this??

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John2144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stopped at this tea room, just for a cup of tea, but did not expect beautiful china tea pot, cups and saucers laid out on a try, leaf tea was used to make the tea, We also got a full jug of hot water. I drank four cups of tea and there was still some left! At £2.40 a pot I feel that thsi was real value for money. The day we visited there was a huge seclection of cakes available and customers were sitting in tables on the grass, admiring the lovely views of the beautiful village.Will definately return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tissington H, Public Relations Manager at Herbert's Fine English Tearooms, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Wendy,

Thank you for your glowing review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your cups of tea and we do hope that you pop in to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great stop for lunch on the Tissington Trail”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My girlfriend and I stopped here for lunch during a day of riding the Tissington Trail, and it was a real delight - great food, great location, and we enjoyed exploring the rest of the village afterwards! Its a shame the house is only open on selected days though.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tissington H, Public Relations Manager at Herbert's Fine English Tearooms, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Smiglet87,

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent visit to Herbert's.It's brilliant to hear that you enjoyed your lunch.

We're sorry that you weren't able to visit Tissington Hall on this occasion, the Hall is a busy wedding venue and still a family home so sadly we have to limit our public opening times. Please check our website for the next opening dates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Herbert's tea rooms for walkers”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Just had lovely home made food in the tea room,made to feel so welcome,lovely village to walk round,just off the Tissington trail.
Great for bikers and walkers. Stop off at Tissington village and have a look!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tissington H, Public Relations Manager at Herbert's Fine English Tearooms, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Christine,

Thank you very much for your review! Caroline and the team are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit! Hopefully we'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herbert's Fine English Tearooms also viewed

Thorpe, Ashbourne
Alstonefield, Peak District National Park
 
Tissington, Peak District National Park
Ilam, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Herbert's Fine English Tearooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing