We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last day of holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Coach House - CLOSED

The Old Coach House
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Description: The Old Coach House, Tissington is a large fully licensed tearooms offering a wide variety of homemade soups, sandwiches, quiches and cakes. All produce is fresh and seasonal, sourced locally wherever possible. In addition, there are daily specials, a children’s menu and a range of teas and coffees to choose from. Open 7 days a week from 1st March – 1st November, 10.30am – 5.30pm (meals served between 11am – 3pm).
Fakenham
1 review
“Last day of holiday”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My friend and I, both elderly, spent a delightful morning here. Thanks to the recommendation of a very pleasant, helpful lady, Lynn, who works at The Coach House, we had an enjoyable walk nearby and came back for a very substantial lunch, which we thoroughly enjoyed. The food was fresh and appetising. Would happily go there again. Thank you, Lynn!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hadi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tissington H, Public Relations Manager at The Old Coach House, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Hadi B,

Thank you for your review, I will pass your kind words on to our hardworking team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    18
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Reasonable visit 12 May 2013”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Visited during well dressing time. Busy place.
Had slice of cake which was ok - not bad.
To drink we ordered a luxury hot chocolate with cream and flake. Soooooo much cream on top and very little to drink underneath which was cold because of the masses of cream. Overkill here to the extreme. Looked good but complete waste of time.
Server said when she presented the drinks on counter 'sorry for your heart attack'. This was really funny but perhaps not best customer service!
Would possibly return for a brew but this venue is quite expensive for what you get.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tissington H, Public Relations Manager at The Old Coach House, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Jackie N,

Thank you very much for your review. I'm sorry that you found the cream too much on your hot chocolate, we will certainly take your comments into account. We have carefully research our pricing structure and are competitively priced in comparison to other local outlets but we will examine this again rigorously at our next review.

I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your day in the Peaks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Generous portions and freshly-cooked food in a lovely setting.”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Very tasty food in big portions for hungry walkers or anyone who appreciates a decent amount of food for their money.
Love the art on the walls.
The menu was good for a cafe, with enough choice and variety.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tissington H, Public Relations Manager at The Old Coach House, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Scattycat1,

Thank you very much for your recent review, we are very glad that you enjoyed your lunch with us. We are also pleased that you liked the artwork - we are proud to support local painter Lynne Wilkinson and other Peak District artists.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Poor quality bought in produce, very weak coffee and hot chocolate made with water, need I say more?

Tables not cleared and surly staff led to a totally unmemorable experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireDiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tissington H, Public Relations Manager at The Old Coach House, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear YorkshireDiners,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Old Coach House Tearooms, I am very sorry that you were not entirely happy with your experience. I am sorry that you were dissatisfied with the food but we do make all our meals from scratch and pride ourselves on the quality of our produce - for example we have recently started stocking Peak Ales' Chatsworth Gold from the neighbouring estate. However we will certainly take your comments on board and do our very best to improve based on your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
703 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“Nice food, let down by poor service by one lady.”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Myself and a party visited on 6th May 2013, a bank holiday. The place was quite busy outside, but the queue wasn't too long and there were quite a few spaces inside.
We decided to order lunch and sit in the marque. We were warned it may be twenty minutes, which was fine. After I had done this I went to check on my partner's mother, who is very ill and had been in hospital for a month beforehand. She was struggling a bit and needed food, so I politely asked one of the staff (the woman in the picture provided to Tripadvisor by management on the left) if we could just have her soup earlier a bit quicker as she was very poorly. This did not go down well, with the woman pulling a face, and saying they had lots of orders. I stated that the rest of us were happy to wait, and again that the lady is question was very poorly. The only response I got was that she'd try but they were very busy.
As it was, the soup came much later with the rest of our food, after a table who ordered after ours had got theirs. I would understand if we'd ordered a soufflé that needed to be cooked from scratch, but it would have taken a minute to fill a bowl with soup and cut a bread roll in half. Frankly, I am quite baffled by the lack of compassion.
In fairness, the food was very nice, but due to the treatment we received, we certainly won't be returning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tissington H, Public Relations Manager at The Old Coach House, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Amy B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit. We pride ourselves on friendly, efficient service at The Old Coach House and we can only apologise that on this occasion we have failed to maintain our usual standards. This Bank Holiday Monday was our second busiest day the business has ever had. We would like to offer you a voucher for the tearooms or a tour of Tissington Hall in recompense of your disappointing experience - please email your postal address to us via our website and we will send one out to you.

We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your day in the Peak District.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Coach House also viewed

Tissington, Peak District National Park
Tissington, Peak District National Park
 
Tissington, Peak District National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing