We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place of immense charm”
Review of Tissington Hall

Tissington Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A place of immense charm”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Whilst staying in Derbyshire, we were told by the B&B owner that we shouldn't miss a visit to both the village of Tissington and Tissington Hall. Decided that the hall should be the main event with any remaining time to amble around the village. We were just 2 couples being shown around the hall, by an excellent and entertaining guide, I believe named Paul. With just 4 of us, he was able to give individual attention to us and his warmth and love of the place, evident. Thoroughly enjoyed the visit here and spent some time roaming around the gardens after. Well worth the entrance fee. Looked in at the Church opposite and the churchyard and walked towards the end of the village where there is a candle shop. Visited neither the shop, nor the tea rooms, but I heard from others that the tea rooms are very good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tissington H, General Manager at Tissington Hall, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Ray P,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit to Tissington Hall, we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us.

We are very lucky to have an excellent team of guides at the hall and we will certainly pass on your comments to Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    17
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A gem of a place to visit.”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Tissington Hall in Tissington village is a member of The Historic Houses Association and well worth a visit, but be sure to call ahead and make sure they are open to avoid disappointment. We were so lucky that the Hall was open during our recent stay in Derbyshire and so enjoyed learning about the house, it's history and the Fitzherbert family from our wonderful guide, Joy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tissington H, General Manager at Tissington Hall, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Maggie B,

Thank you very much for your review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your tour and we will certainly let Joy know about your kind comments.

We do hope that you will re-visit our little village when you are next in Derbyshire!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a blast from the past”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

a real lifesize model village we went on a sunny evening and felt we had stepped into a film set breathtaking place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank paulino780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very well done!”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

After meaning to go and visit this beautiful private home for many years, I finally got round to it today. I booked onto a small tour around this enchanting building which was hosted by Sir Richard FitzHerbert. He gave an interesting and off the cuff insight into his home and gardens, finishing with tea and cake in the library. I would recommend a visit - it really was an exceptionally lovely way to spend an afternoon, with or without your friends.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank tiggatiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tissington H, General Manager at Tissington Hall, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Tiggatiny,

Thank you very much for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your tea and tour with Sir Richard! Should you wish to repeat your 'Invitation to View' experience the next opportunity is on the 7th July.

Tissington Hall is a much loved family home and the FitzHerbert family are still very much "making history"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

You must pay a visit to this beautiful village. So interesting with all the different shops, like the old sweet shop, candle making shop and tea room. Everyone was so helpful. Did not get the opportunity to visit the Hall but looked very old and interesting and will be on the list to visit when next in the area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tissington Hall also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Tissington, Peak District National Park
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 

Been to Tissington Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing