We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A diamond in the rough”
Review of Tissington Hall

Tissington Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Tissington is a secluded picturesque village dominated by the stunning Tissington Hall. Amazingly since the 1460s the estate has been in the ownership of the FitzHerbert family, and they've done a fantastic job preserving what must be one of the diamonds of the Peak District.

Tissington often gets missed off itineraries of visitors to the Peak District. Such a shame as its only a few miles from Dove Dale.

In the Summer the village, like many in the area, dress their wells. Tissington have 5 wells, and some would say the best examples of well dressing in the area.

The Hall often has private functions so if you plan on visiting it might be worth checking with them first.

IMHO I prefer Tissington to Chatsworth.

1  Thank NeilAWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"beauty and the beast"
in 6 reviews
"guided tour"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful village"
in 7 reviews
"cake"
in 3 reviews
"christmas event"
in 3 reviews
"great visit"
in 3 reviews
"made us feel"
in 3 reviews
"sense of humour"
in 3 reviews
"family home"
in 3 reviews
"billiard room"
in 3 reviews
"family history"
in 3 reviews
"quintessential english village"
in 3 reviews
"few times"
in 3 reviews
"next year"
in 3 reviews
"open days"
in 2 reviews
"huge house"
in 2 reviews
"fascinating history"
in 2 reviews
Filter

91 - 95 of 106 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

Tissington Hall and surrounding Estate is a lovely day out, some gorgeous local gift shops, the cafe isn't too bad but a little pricey. We have been a couple of times now but only to find Tissington Hall itself CLOSED. This being the main let down but.... PARKING IN TISSINGTON IS FREE!!!!!!

2  Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tissington H, General Manager at Tissington Hall, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Dan S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Tissington. We are sorry that you were not able to visit the Hall on this occasion. The Hall is still home to the FitzHerbert family as well as being a thriving wedding venue so opening dates are restricted and we always advise checking the times in advance to avoid disappointment. We are glad that you still enjoyed your visit and we hope that you will manage a tour next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I was lucky enough to visit this superb historic hall. In a beautiful location the hall is majestic in its outlook and is full of treasures which adorn the hall in every room. Highly recommended visit for everyone who has a keen interest in our history and culture. You may have modernised it Sir Richard but you have managed to retain the hall's true feeling.
The grounds are immaculate. The courtesy shown to the guests was first class which made the day magical. Thank you

1  Thank badger0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tissington H, General Manager at Tissington Hall, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Badger0901,

Thank you very much for your recent review. We are very glad that you enjoyed exploring the hall during the wedding and we do hope that you will make another visit to Tissington soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

A friend and I visited Tissington Hall recently and we found it most interesting. Our guide was extremely knowledgable about the House and its history and as it's a fairly small House there was a lovely intimacy and warmth about it. The gardens are beautiful, very well stocked and tended. Afterwards we had a lovely walk along a section of the Tissington Trail, followed by lunch at the nearby Bluebell. Altogether a wonderful day out!

2  Thank PLJDerbyshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tissington H, Manager at Tissington Hall, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear PLJDerbyshire_UK,

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent visit to Tissington Hall. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your tour of the Hall - we are very lucky to have a passionate group of guides and we will certainly pass your comments onto the team.

We hope that you will pay our community another visit on your next trip to the Peaks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We only went to the village and not into the hall and were a little disappointed, the candle shop was rather expensive and the glass shop was shut! However, the tea room was ace, the food was lovely and reasonably priced, the staff were friendly and the service was great, in fact this was by far the best experience in the village! Couldn't advise anyone to put aside time for the village, sorry!

1  Thank Kate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tissington Hall also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Ilam, Peak District National Park
 
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
Peak District National Park, England
 

Been to Tissington Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing