We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful cream tea”
Review of Bassettwood

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tissington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bassettwood
Ranked #1 of 2 Tissington B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful cream tea”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Really beautiful location, on top of the hill with far reaching views. We loved meeting the pygmy goats, pigs, huge chickens, Tommy the pony and my favourite, the gold and black art deco chicken! Very clean bathrooms and a friendly cat. Liked seeing the heifers through the tea room window. Scones arrived still warm from the oven with delicous jam and cream, very friendly welcome from Sarah and Brian, will definately be recommending to family and friends. Thankyou so much.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymouse603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
54
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Really nice place to stay. Beautiful landscape, lovely breakfast, Sarah. Brian and Brian's dad were all very friendly, as were the animals (especially the lambs and the goats - watch out for the ginger cat though - he's a biter). The cream teas looked great - shame we were too full for it before arriving! The room and en-suite bathroom were nicely done and very comfortable. We also really enjoyed our walk into Tissington village and the pub we were recommended for dinner was good. All thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

What a relaxed and friendly palace to stay.
Both Sarah and Brian were very welcoming during our stay and a hearty breakfast was enjoyed every morning.
The shepherd's Hut was very quaint and snug and just perfect to wake up to the cattle and sheep getting on with their day. Only a short walk to the shower and toilet facilities which are basic but adequate.
The b&b rooms in the main house are very well appointed and the bed was extremely comfortable. Clean and comfortable.
A perfect base for exploring the Peak District for a few days.
Good value all in all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I booked a night away in the Shepherd's Hut as a surprise for my husband. We had been recommended by friends who stayed there for Valentines Day (see review below!) and we loved it! We had cream teas on arrival and were directed to a lovely pub for dinner. The hut itself had spectacular views, was furnished to a very high standard inside and had everything we could need. Sarah even put the heater on ready for our arrival so it was lovely and warm in there. We fell asleep to the sound of the lambs in the next field and awoke to a fab picnic hamper of pastries, yogurt and fresh orange. The toilets and showers were clean and tidy. We would definitely recommend to others and we do plan on returning as soon as we can!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMiller1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Called for a cream tea ,all very fresh and well presented . Last time we called was August last year
it's nice to see this place is catching on. Sarah is a very good host ,and deserves to go from strength to strength

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sdmmmtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed in the Shepherd's Hut at Bassettwood on March 31st. We arrived in the afternoon and were shown to the hut which was absolutely delightful and already warm which was great after the walking we had been doing earlier in the day. We arrived to cream tea that was lovely and warm and very tasty! The hut was fantastic. Had everything we could need, including a little fire which we had burning all evening. There were loads of animals on the farm which I personally loved! Sarah and Brian were very welcoming and looked after us fantastically. We had a lovely night sleep and woke up to a hamper breakfast of warm pastries and fruit. We will definately be going back as soon as possible. I cannot possibly think of one bad thing to say about our stay. Fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We decided to venture to Bassettwood as planned on Good Friday, for a 2 night stay in the farm house and after several emails back and forth between myself and Sarah, as we were concerned about the recent heavy snow falls.
I really dont know where to begin, we arrived around 1pm and decided to have a cuppa in the tea room, which was busy.... after experiencing Sarah's cream tea's I fully understand why it was... with family in Devon, I have over the years experienced many cream teas- Sarah's rank right up there with the best...you simply must have a cream tea during your stay!
Brian showed us to our room, which was spotlessly presented, a beautiful comfy bed, with clean towels .. the ensuite looked brand new and the outlook was great from the windows. perfect for us. The breakfast was also fantastic- a good hearty delight.....

I can go on and on about the place, we both loved it, but it would be wrong not to talk a little about Brian and Sarah and their amazing warm friendly way in which they go about their days...you feel so welcome right from the off, and if you show too much interest as we did, you soon become part of the feeding team for the lambs, another wonderful experience...

I actually dont think we can say anything to contradict our great impressions of Brian, Sarah and Bassettwood... simply fantastic and we will for sure return- when the snow drfits have all gone!!

Room Tip: we stayed in the farm house, above the lounge....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank witty372002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tissington
2.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
317 reviews
2.8 mi away
Callow Hall Hotel
Callow Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mappleton
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bentley Brook Inn
Bentley Brook Inn
#1 of 3 in Fenny Bentley
415 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hillcrest House
Hillcrest House
#1 of 25 in Ashbourne
142 reviews
1.3 mi away
Thorpe Cottage Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bassettwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bassettwood

Property: Bassettwood
Address: Nr. Ashbourne, Tissington, Peak District National Park DE6 1RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Tissington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tissington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bassettwood has been totally renovated to a high standard and under new ownership. The farm is in a delightful location just outside the pretty village of Tissington, and close to the market town of Ashbourne and the well known beauty spots of Dovedale and the Manifold Valley. The accommodation also comprises of a pretty shepherds hut with a full sized double bed and tea/coffee making facilities, wood burner and beautiful views. The farmhouse has two recently refurbished double en-suite rooms. There is also a tearoom/garden serving cream teas with freshly baked scones and homemade soups, etc. The tearoom is open Friday, Saturday, Sunday and Bank Holidays from 12-6pm and dogs are welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing