We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous cake” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bassettwood

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tissington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bassettwood
Ranked #1 of 2 Tissington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous cake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Thank you Sarah for the most delicious piece of CAKE .I will be back for more very soon. Just what i needed and chance to sit and chat/eat cake/drink tea in beautiful surroundings .thank you. Keep on baking

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
53
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

My daughter and I recently enjoyed an excellent cream tea with Sarah. The scones were light as air and the clotted cream had a crust, just as it should! There was lots of tea too.The window looking into the barn was really good, enabling us to watch the cows ...and them to watch us! Sarah kindly showed us the b & b bedrooms. They are very attractive, spacious, clean and bright with roomy showers en suite.
We enjoyed tea so much I took my husband and son for a visit the following day. We felt so welcome. We were shown the goats and felt welcome to stay as long as we wished. Many thanks to Sarah and her husband. Bassettwood tearoom was recommended to me and I pass on that recommendation without any reservations.

Room Tip: If I were staying at the B & B I would have no preference regarding rooms. They both looked love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pingpong60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We turned up after lunch on a bank holiday due to awful weather on the campsite a short drive away. The new owners were extremely helpful and accommodating - we have 3 children so going to any hotel/b+b is hard work. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable - they have obviously invested money in the property.
Great nights sleep followed by a lovely breakfast. The children then helped the owners feed the lambs and baby goats - it is difficult to compete with that!
We may well return to this area again this year - if so - we will not hesitate to book a room here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Just to add another very positive comment to the other recent reviews, I went out of my way on a cycle trip to check out the tea at Bassettwood and I wasn't disappointed. Rarely have I had such light scones; never have I had such perfect raspberry jam! It was everything a cream tea should be and, believe me, I have tried plenty in Cornwall and Devon! The new owners have put a massive amount of effort into renovating their house and the end result is fab: every little detail is just right. Sarah Allen is obviously a talented cook and, if there's any justice in this world, she deserves to do well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
97 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

We called into this gorgeous little tea room on the way home today. We were warmly welcomed by the owner who chatted to us while we chose from the menu.
We had a cream tea for two and our daughter chose hot chocolate and a delightful cupcake.
After eating, we were shown the B & B guest accomodation which was tastefully decorated and looked very comfortable.
We are aware that the previous owner of this establishment had some negative comments on Trip Advisor. We suggest that if you have been tempted to try the accomodation and tea rooms before, but have been put off, please try again as you will not be disappointed!
Thank you---we will be calling in again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pudding1linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Spent one night at Bassettwood and really enjoyed ourselves. Initially found them because of their Shepherd's Hut, but ended up staying in the house in a double en-suite room. Spent the day at Alton towers, which is about half an hour away.
Large clean room, clearly recently updated. Big cozy bed, lots of white and country touches. Bathroom was bright and clean, large double stand up shower, nice hot water.
Breakfast was lovely, one vegetarian and one full english. Friendly owner, very inviting with plenty of local advice. Short drive to the local village, and pubs nearby but not exactly walkable. Loved staying right on the working farm with the animals, best of all we got to pet the lambs before we left.
Really enjoyed the no-television attitude, as this was a holiday to get away from it all. Quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tissington
2.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
2.7 mi away
Callow Hall Hotel
Callow Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mappleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hillcrest House
Hillcrest House
#1 of 27 in Ashbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bentley Brook Inn
Bentley Brook Inn
#1 of 3 in Fenny Bentley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bassettwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bassettwood

Property: Bassettwood
Address: Nr. Ashbourne, Tissington, Peak District National Park DE6 1RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Tissington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tissington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bassettwood has been totally renovated to a high standard and under new ownership. The farm is in a delightful location just outside the pretty village of Tissington, and close to the market town of Ashbourne and the well known beauty spots of Dovedale and the Manifold Valley. The accommodation also comprises of a pretty shepherds hut with a full sized double bed and tea/coffee making facilities, wood burner and beautiful views. The farmhouse has two recently refurbished double en-suite rooms. There is also a tearoom/garden serving cream teas with freshly baked scones and homemade soups, etc. The tearoom is open Friday, Saturday, Sunday and Bank Holidays from 12-6pm and dogs are welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing