We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four day break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ilam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Location great, service great, special mention for Laurence he did us proud.
A box of tissues in the room would have been helpful.
On the final night we dined in the bar, and I must say the curry was brilliant, and also my wife's salad worthy of praise
We will return!!
Ted & Betty Spence

Room Tip: Request a room looking towards Thorpe Cloud
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James K, Owner at The Izaak Walton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Good Morning Mr & Mrs Spence. We are delighted that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed the curry and salad whilst dining in the bar. Sorry about the tissues. We've had these on back order but they arrived yesterday with some nice Chrome presentation boxes to sit in so they will look very smart in the room! Look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes, James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (679)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

669 - 675 of 680 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

What can I say, this 3 night stay of dinner bed and breakfast was excellent , the staff were all really welcoming and friendly, Sam the bar man was really committed to his role and Shura was top notch even down to a friendly gift of Pontefract cakes for my journey home (thank you).
Andy and James are our heros for rescuing this old hotel and getting it back to its former glory, we first stayed at the hotel in 1975 for our honeymoon and are already planning our 40th anniversary bash there but in the mean time have booked a long weekend later in the year. Excellent food, excellent service , all with a friendly smile. We can not rate this high enough, 100% a BIG thank you. J and B , Oxfordshire

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cruisingfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James K, Owner at The Izaak Walton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Good afternoon. Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your lovely comments about our friendly team. I will also pass on your thanks to Sam the barman and Shura for the Pontefract cakes! We are delighted that you have rebooked to stay later in the year and that you are considering booking your 40th wedding anniversary party in 2015! If I can help in anyway please let me know. Thank you again! James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Booked this last minute for a brief overnight in the Peak District, and was blown away by everything.
The location is ideal for both serious and non-serious walkers, with stunning views from the hotel gardens and restaurant.
The staff were very attentive and couldn't do enough for you and the food in the restaurant was first class
Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and will definitely be returning

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James K, Owner at The Izaak Walton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Jeff, I am delighted that you had such a wonderful stay. Our setting is very unique and the view from the restaurant one that we very much appreciate every day. It is always very pleasing to hear that our staff are friendly and attentive which I will of course pass on. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next visiting the Peak District. Many thanks again for taking the time to review us. Your feedback is very much appreciated. regards, James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Whilst in the Peak National Park and on our way to visit Casterne Hall (we are HHA members) we stopped at The Izaak Walton hotel for a light lunch snack (Chicken Liver Pate and Toast...Very Good and Ciabatta sandwich of Brie and caramelised onion..also very good. I would certainly like to try their restaurant judging by the snacks (well done). Their service was polite and friendly at the bar (there seem to be a nice atmosphere in the bar area for eating) and efficiently served to us outside in the garden (What a beautiful view of the Dales).

If we are in the area again we will visit The Izaac Walton

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank busterSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James K, Owner at The Izaak Walton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Good Evening. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Chicken liver Pate and the Brie Ciabatta. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back when when you are next in the area. Best wishes, James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

From start to finish we were well cared for by all staff. Shura was particularly helpful at check in and advising us about the hotel facilities and surrounding area. Lovely large rooms, super comfy beds and fabulous bathrooms. Breakfast was enchanting in the magnificent dining room.
Ross and Maria

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaLBF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James K, Owner at The Izaak Walton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Ross & Maria, We are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay with us and I am very pleased to hear that you were well cared for by our staff with a special mention about Shura. We wish you a pleasant onward journey with the rest of your travels. Thankyou again for taking the time to review our hotel. With our very best wishes, James and The Izaak Walton Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

What a wonderful experience.

Our congratulations to James, Amanda, Andy and Hayley
who have worked wonders in putting the IZAAK WALTON HOTEL back on the map.
Our stay on their first opening night was so special to us and to be welcomed
with such a friendly team made our stay a most enjoyable experience.

The following is a copy of our note left on our departure:
By hook or by crook we shall be first in the NEW book.
We would like to congratulate James, Amanda, Andy and Hayley
in their tremendous achievement in resurrecting the Izaak Walton Hotel
which would not have been possible without the help of their families and friends.
We were pleased to be there on their opening day 09 June 2014 and
we were made most welcomed by the staff.
The service, food and accommodation were excellent and the evening was
well supported by some locals who had heard of the re - opening.
Finally thanks to the two young ladies, Shura and Tori who attended to everyone.
Well done everyone.
Best of luck to all the staff
John and Jenny Hirons

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Autumn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James K, Owner at The Izaak Walton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear John & Jenny. thank you for your lovely comments which I shall pass onto all the team. Congratulations also on being our first over night guests on 9th June. We hope to see you both soon. best wishes, James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Ideal hotel for a romantic break. Very relaxing atmosphere, great countryside.
Hotel offers excellent food and drink with very friendly and helpful staff, nothing is too much trouble

Definately visiting again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James K, Owner at The Izaak Walton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Martyn

We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us. I will pass on your lovely comments to the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. best wishes, James Keay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilam
21.3 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
12 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
413 reviews
11.9 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Biggin-by-Hartington
410 reviews
11.9 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
11.7 mi away
The Peacock at Rowsley
The Peacock at Rowsley
#1 of 2 in Rowsley
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Izaak Walton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Izaak Walton Hotel

Address: Dovedale, Ilam, Peak District National Park DE6 2AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Ilam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ilam
Price Range: $90 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Izaak Walton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Izaak Walton Hotel is a family owned Country House Hotel. Set in beautiful Dovedale just a short walk from the River Dove and the famous 'Stepping Stones.' The Haddon restaurant with spectacular views of 'Thorpe Cloud' serves a daily A La Carte menu. The bar is open daily from 9am to 11pm for lunches, afternoon tea and evening bar menu. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Izaak Walton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing