We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Beechenhill Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beechenhill Farm
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ilam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is one of the nicest guesthouses I've stayed in. Gorgeous, isolated location with lots of walking and cycling. Our room was beautifully decorated, had an excellent shower and had lovely little touches, such as blankets and homemade biscuits, to make you feel at home. Breakfast is full of options, beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. Also, we couldn't have asked for nicer hosts. They were very friendly and attentive and even lent us bike helmets when we forgot ours! I can't praise them enough.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank bethanypaige17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecvisitor51, Owner at Beechenhill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you for your review. It was lovely to meet you and we are very impressed by your epic bike ride!! Next time you come you will have to put your feet up and relax. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 258 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Wow! Gorgeous cottage for 2, in a stunning location! All mod cons yet still with a rustic, farmhouse ambience that made us feel at home! Homemade chocolate cake waiting for us on arrival themed for Valentines! Will definitely be going back for longer in better weather but even the storms couldn't dampen my love for this place. Thank you for a wonderful weekend

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecvisitor51, Owner at Beechenhill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, we really appreciate it! So glad you enjoyed the homemade chocolate cake- we put either chocolate cakes or beautiful Victoria sponge cakes in our cottages for all our guests- it is soooo difficult to leave them in the cottages without sampling!! We look forward to seeing you again. xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We have just three nights in the cottage for two on this wonderful farm. It was absolute bliss. Even though the weather was at its worst Wet and very Windy. We enjoyed the scenery in and around Dovedale. The cottage was very cosy and fully equipped for a Valentine Treat. The bedroom and bed ls a delight so perfect to have long duvet days with just the sound of the Birds and the sheep in the fields. Lots to do and see amazing walks or just chill in the cottage away from the stress of the world if you so wish. Even ready made meals can be brought from the farmhouse. Not to be missed if you love the Countryside a perfect spot for a weekend break to recharge your Batteries.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecvisitor51, Owner at Beechenhill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review! It is so kind of you to make the effort, we do appreciate it. We are very glad you had such a good time despite all the rain and wind! It is a good thing Beechenhill Cottage is cosy! So glad you enjoyed our ready meals and the duvet!! Next time you will have to try the hot tub or wood fired barrel sauna! Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a very fine b and b with little touches which make it stand out. The area is ideal for walking and it is an excellent base for walks around Dovedale.
The family are great hosts and there is a personal touch which adds immensely to the experience. We loved the passion for local food, some of which from the farm itself and the rest carefully sourced and explained. Sue's folk art work is also very striking and interesting. We bought some of her greeting cards as a souvenir.
We made full use of all Beechenhill has to offer. Walks, the electric bikes and the Swedish hot tub experience.
The bikes make short work of the hills and we managed a 15 mile circuit suggested by Sue. fantastic fun and so great to (almost) effortlessly peddle up the hills.
The hot tub was just amazing. An unforgettable romantic experience with the candles, the cave with the warm stove and the stars overhead. Completely private and worth every penny.
The whole weekend was simply idyllic and we would whole-heartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UnaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecvisitor51, Owner at Beechenhill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we really appreciate the time you have taken! It is brilliant that you tried everything we offer and so thoroughly too! We now have something else for you to try- a lovely wood fired barrel sauna! So we look forward to seeing our best testers back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This was our first visit to Beechenhill staying in the double room which was very comfortable and homely with terrific views from the window. Our hosts made us feel extremely welcome to the extent that we felt part of the family. The breakfasts are amazing and the wood fired hot tub is a lovely experience. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and eagerly look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beechenhill, Owner at Beechenhill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate you taking the time. We thoroughly enjoyed your visit too and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Have been visiting Beechenhill for many years now and just revisited the Cottage by the Pond. I'm paralysed from the neck down and the facilities allow me to have a great family holiday. Sue & Terry as always made us feel extremely welcome and the standard of the accommodation was outstanding. Great views, when the weather permits! Great to have been back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank DFAC72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beechenhill, Owner at Beechenhill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

It was smashing to see you Darren, and your Mum and Dad. So glad you have been able to come again after staying regularly for so many years! Glad you liked all the new features! Hope to see you again before too long xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights 28/29th Aug and thourghly enjoyed ourselves. We stayed in the double room which was cosy and clean and a very comfy bed.
Views from our window were great and even better first thing in the morning.
The welcome we received was great as was the service all round.
Breakfast!!!! Wow!!! Tasty, proper food well cooked and served with a smile..
It's a working farm so expect the usual farm animal noises which we loved, the peace and tranquility if the whole 2 days was great.
Well worth a visit you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotty1076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beechenhill, Owner at Beechenhill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for a lovely review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilam
1.4 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
15.4 mi away
Robin Hood Farm B&B
Robin Hood Farm B&B
#1 of 5 in Baslow
299 reviews
19.2 mi away
Old Hall Inn
Old Hall Inn
#5 of 160 in Peak District National Park
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
YHA Ilam Hall
YHA Ilam Hall
#2 of 3 in Ilam
260 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Beechenhill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechenhill Farm

Address: Ilam Moor Lane, Ilam, Peak District National Park DE6 2BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Ilam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ilam
Price Range: $56 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where art and organic farming meet. Friendly and comfortable country cottages. You can bring your walking boots, maps, sunglasses, binoculars and coats, bikes, shorts, woollies, swimwear and lots of books to our warm, award winning cottages on our organic farm in the English Peak District National Park. We have wifi and glorious views. You can stay in little romantic Beechenhill Cottage for two or warm and comfortable (wheelchair accessible) Cottage by the Pond for six or The Old Wash House, recently renovated cottage for 2 (+ 2 by arrangement). We're passionate about our place and enabling you to enjoy it best. We have a Swedish style hot tub, a wood fired barrel sauna, electric bikes (all book-ahead please) and miles of walks from the door. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing