We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Half term happiness!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of YHA Ilam Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
YHA Ilam Hall
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ilam
Certificate of Excellence
glasgow
1 review
“Half term happiness!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We visited Ilam hall during the half term break and had a brilliant stay. Great location, clean rooms, tasty and wholesome food and a safe and relaxed atmosphere for kids and adults to enjoy some down time. Friendly and knowledgable staff who helped with local recommendations. Great value and highly recommend!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank walnutsGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilammanager, General Manager at YHA Ilam Hall, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Hello and thankyou for a fantastic review. We will always aim to achieve the highest standard here at Ilam Hall and glad you have experienced it with us. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    60
    16
    13
    8
See reviews for
97
28
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Waltham
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

If this property had been turned into a boutique hotel, you'd be paying in excess of £100 pppn - as a YHA member you can have a double en-suite for as little as £23 a night! To be able to stay in such a magnificent property in such stunning surroundings, for so little is truly magnificent.

I note that some idiot has complained that the hostel doesn't sell food to cook yourself and that they are trying to force you into buying "not very nice meals" and even made him drive there! What nonsense, self catering means that you bring and cook your own food, which we and many others did. We also ate from the menu one evening and enjoyed the fresh, home cooked meals hugely.

Sorry for that little outburst, but I felt I had to defend the ethos of the association - members know exactly what the benefits of membership bring and as a majority, add to the whole experience, but if you need taking by the hand or expect boutique service and a spa, then please, just stay away.

Once again, hats off to all the staff that contribute to the experience at these hostels, I have nothing but respect and applause for each and every one of you.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilammanager, General Manager at YHA Ilam Hall, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Hello and thank you very much for a glowing review. We here at Ilam are extremely proud of our service and standards and hope every customer has a similar experience to yours. We do hope to see you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Room was great, although keep fit class above our room at 8am on a Sunday with blaring music was a little frustrating.

Staff were friendly although as international hostel members we were not entitled to free internet access like YHA members.

There are all the facilities you would expect at a YHA and it is in a good state of repair. Worth noting that the self catering kitchen is small and not suitable for large groups.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TravellingRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilammanager, General Manager at YHA Ilam Hall, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Hello, we are sorry to hear you were disturbed in the morning. Since your review we now have much stricter time and noise policies in place for our classroom users. You are quite right about our free Wi-fi policy, it is only avalible to England and Wales YHA Members unfortunatley. We are glad you enjoyed our building and facilities and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Youth hostels where never like this in my younger days.
After a recent revamp found, Immaculately clean toilets and showers, Tastefully decorated games/telly room and quiet living room. Even a bar ( to attract weddings and functions, I believe).
Do under 10's really go free?
Food was your average fare, but plentiful, with a special super spread for New Years Eve.
The setting, as others have pointed out, is simply stunning with clear, star studded skies at night.
Well geared up for families and young children.
Was happy to have a 4 bed room to myself, but with 3 others it would be a squeeze. Other rooms vary in size.
Great for walkers with Dovedale just up the road.
Only gave it 3 stars as it is still a youth hostel and not a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilammanager, Manager at YHA Ilam Hall, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. I am glad you had a good stay with us, enjoying our food, common spaces and beautiful surroundings. It is great to hear that we are doing things right to enable our guests to have an enjoyable stay.

In answer to your question, under 10s can eat for free with us during our regular evening meal service; with one child under 10 getting a free two course meal per adult purchasing a meal. As a note, this was not applicable to guests over the Christmas and New Year period taking part in our package deal.

I am also glad to hear that you were happy with your room, as you mention our rooms do vary in size and we try and allocate guests to the most suitable room for their booking. However, not every room is the same, so we allocate the most appropriate room to bookings on a first come first served basis, so I would advise any one booking to let us know of any particular requirements for their room so that we can do our best accommodate you to the best room.

Once again, thanks for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

I have been a life member of the YHA for more than 50 year and stayed in their hostels in many countries. Ilam Hall is a charming hostel in a beautiful setting but very remote. So I was disappointed to discover that no food items were available to buy. eg canned beans or packet noodles.They want you to eat their meals. I was unlucky to get one that was not very nice. It has always been a YHA tradition to cater for budget travellers even those with out cars. So if you want to be self catering and don't have a car your out of luck, there's nowhere within walking distance. Otherwise hostel is lovely, nice rooms and comfortable beds.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inekenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilammanager, Manager at YHA Ilam Hall, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Hello,

I am very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing visit to Ilam Hall with regards to our lack of a shop. Unfortunately we do not have the space or resources to have a shop at the Hall, we do however have a good selection of snack items, milk, juice and hot and cold drinks which are all at very reasonable prices. I would advise anyone who is planning to self cater to pick up anything they need prior to arrival as the closest shop is 15 minutes away.

I do hope that this has not put you off visiting us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We recently used Ilam Hall for our weekend away at alton towers. It took us a while to find the hotel, caution on the roads if you have a weighed down car. It may struggle.
We got to the hotel about around 10.45 and our welcome was friendly. The games room/bar was full of drunk adults being rather loud.
We found our room which was ok. 4 bunk beds and a sink, we had to make the beds up which is fine but it meant you could see the stains on the duvet etc. underneath.
We all slept ok the only comment we really had from the group was that the pillows were a little flat.
There were two showers at the end of our corridor and the water was a little cold in the morning but it did the job.
Breakfast service was Brilliant! A lovely selection to chose from hot and cold and lots of room to sit.
Overall our experience was different to what we were use to but the setting and surrounding was beautiful and would probably come again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilammanager, Manager at YHA Ilam Hall, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Hello!

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and that you would probably return and use us again.

With regards to your comments about the duvets, we do check them regularly and replace them as and when required. The house keeping team have done a thorough check of this recently and will continue to do so. We also replace the pillows regularly but if you ever require an additional pillow then please ask at reception and we would be happy to provide you with one.

I do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Having stumbled across yha ilam hall purely by chance, we where after somewhere cheap and easy to base ourselves for a walking/climbing mini mission.

Your first impressions when arriving is a wow, it's hard to belive that such a stunning establishment could be a youth hostel!

It's worth noting that this is a youth hostel and not a hotel, so you will have to make your own bed and use communal socialising spaces to unwind as you won't find a tv and mini bar in your room! If your willing to put a sheet on a bed and case on a pillow then your in for a real treat here.

The staff here are exquisite, friendly and helpful, and always happy to help, they are very knowledgeable with great suggestions as how to spend a day, we took a recommendation from a member of staff to visit a local house, Chatsworth house, a stunning perfect recommendation.

To really see what ilam is like come and see for yourself! We'll definitely be returning.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank huggies123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilammanager, Manager at YHA Ilam Hall, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hello!

Thank you for your positive words about Ilam Hall, its staff and the local attractions we are lucky enough to have.

I am glad to hear that you will be returning to see us some time soon, we look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilam
0.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
6.0 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
6.0 mi away
YHA Hartington Hall
YHA Hartington Hall
#2 of 6 in Hartington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
YHA National Forest
YHA National Forest
#2 of 4 in Swadlincote
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
17.1 mi away
YHA Eyam
YHA Eyam
#2 of 2 in Eyam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
20.2 mi away
YHA Castleton Losehill Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Ilam Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Ilam Hall

Property: YHA Ilam Hall
Address: Ilam Hall, Ilam, Ashbourne, Ilam, Peak District National Park DE6 2AZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Ilam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ilam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Ilam Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Ilam Hall is a Victorian Gothic manor house owned by the National Trust. Its grounds stretch to 84 acres of country park on the banks of the River Manifold, making outdoor games, woodland wanders and riverside walks an appealing possibility. Walk in the gently undulating White Peak area of the Peak District National Park, visit Dovedale or cycle along the Tissington and Manifold Trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your YHA Ilam Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilam Youth Hotel Ilam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing