We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property”
Review of YHA Ilam Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Ilam Hall
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ilam
Certificate of Excellence
stansted
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful property”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as a bit of a stop over on the way back from N.Yorks to London. Beautiful building and we had a lovely spacious family room. The kids (6 & 2) loved the games and lounge area and the local walks were great. We wished we could have stayed longer, so will deffinatly be back for a long weekend as not really that far from London (3hrs ish). The food was also good and plenty and of course good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katstansted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilammanager, Manager at YHA Ilam Hall, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review of YHA Ilam Hall. I have passed all your comments onto the staff. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay with us. Also thank you for uploading some lovely photographs of the place... looks like your kids had fun! Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    66
    16
    13
    8
See reviews for
104
31
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Fantastic value for money, friendly staff, great food which is also good value. The location is out of this world and I will definitely be staying again. No parking charges is you're a member of the national trust. It's close to Alton towers. Only negative is no mobile phone signal.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilammanager, Manager at YHA Ilam Hall, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review about YHA Ilam Hall. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Ilam Hall. I have passed all your lovely comments onto the staff. The no phone signal is an issue for the staff.. it can add to the beauty of the place as you can switch off (literally). Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I wanted to camp to save money but my wife found and booked this,,,,do you know what, she was absolutely right! A lovely building and grounds and we all would like to come back; however our stay was not without its problems.
We are a family of 5 so our room of 3 double bunk beds only contained us. Our room had a fabulous view of the church and grounds but I'd imagine the single-glazed arched windows might be a little chilly in the winter. Room and linen were clean, beds were firm but our ensuite bathroom loo failed to function and despite our complaint we were unable to secure a refund despite paying extra for this facility. In fairness, we were offered a new room but it would have meant moving 5 persons-worth of kit and caboodle and, to be honest after both parents having completed a triathlon earlier in the day, we really weren't that bothered.
My wife was bothered by the green light that stayed on all night and could not be turned off apparently, and she also struggled with the room key entry card system, though it seemed to work OK for me. The DIY kitchen was clean and functional and I for one in my post-tri-race hunger was very grateful for the choccy cake left behind by a previous resident emblazoned with "please steal" !! (If it was you; thanks very very much!).
The only other low was non-functioning tv's in the lounge which was a shame as we were all looking forward to Top Gear after a well-priced and wholesome supper. Breakfast was equally fab from our perspective and even my 3 fussy kids enjoyed both meals.
Bottom line: lovely building, grounds and staff, slight shame infrastructure not quite there at the moment.

Room Tip: Be aware you need to make and strip your own beds. Our room overlooked the church; fab, fab views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilammanager, Manager at YHA Ilam Hall, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your review about YHA Ilam. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry to hear you had a few issues during your stay. The TV's not functioning is a licencing issue to do with restricting channels, I have been informed that this will be resolved soon. I hope you ejoyed Alton Towers and the free choccy cake, and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

its in one of the nicest areas you will find.we were very unlucky we stayed here on the 5 aug 13 nothing was working at all there .there were no tea/coffe in the hall as the machine was down .as was the vending machine .we had a evening meal which was just terrible because their freezer was broke too ? what we paid £ 40 for was a few horrid stale sandwhiches some hard pizza and we payed £90.00 for one night so its not cheap either there is no service there realy.but the worst is to come our pillow had a brown mess stuck to it .we just couldn't belive it our shower was infested with ants which they sprayed with pesticide that was so strong it nearly stopped us breathing as well.
ask before you pay for the food whats on the menu as its so poor at the fee of £9.95 each
get in the car and travel into ashbourne its only 15 mins away its a great little town with a few pubs all the food looked realy good parking is realy cheap there to.
there is a self serve kitchen I would say use that make your own food.
just 10 mins from alton towers if you like walking its in a fantastic place so pretty. we were unlucky we didn't expect the Hilton at all but we didn't expect that either

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilammanager, Relief Manager at YHA Ilam Hall, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi, Thank you for your recent review of YHA Ilam Hall, I am sorry to hear that you had an unsatisfactory stay with us at the beginning of the month. I am lead to believe that it was a very unfortunate coinsidence that both the coffee machine and the vending machine where broken. We are still awaiting the parts to fix both these machines now, the walk in freezer is ok now, but again that was unfortunate that they all broke on the same weekend. Thank you for your comments regarding the food and bedroom/bathroom issues, this has been passed onto the relevant people and dealt with accordingly. I do hope this has not put you off using the YHA and its fantastic hostels in equally amazing locations to Ilam, Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2013

A 1st class place to stay. Staff are so welcoming and informative, they cannot do enough to help. The restaurant is of a very high standard, we had better meals here than in many restaurants near by, at only a quarter of the cost. Rooms were fresh and clean and very quiet. Perfect location for a perfect hostel. We stayed in room 402 and cannot recommend it highly enough. A really fabulous place to stay and holiday. Faultless. We loved it

Room Tip: Rooms 401 and 402 are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MajorFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilammanager, Manager at YHA Ilam Hall, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi, Thank you so much for your recent review of YHA Ilam Hall. I am so glad you had a 1st class stay with us at Ilam. it is a truely magical location with fantastic facitilites. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us at Ilam. We look forward to seeing you again soon... bring some sunshine with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My family unit recently visited Ilam Youth Hostel. The staff were really unhelpful throughout. Immediately upon checking in a certain individual member of staff was very unhelpful. Then, when I required further assistance with a number of things putting right, again, this certain member of staff was unhelpful, arrogant and rude resembling a modern day female version of Basil Fawlty and I kept waiting for Manuel to appear alongside her. The food was appalling with minimal choice and not much of it; the salad consisted of half a dozen limp lettuce leaves and a few tomatoes. There was no garlic bread out as the meal that night was lasagne and garlic bread. So I asked a serving member of staff for some garlic bread to which he replied with a dead pan face and I quote,"there is no rush", - how rude - yes, there is a rush as I want the garlic bread with my meal... and I was lucky to even get some lasagne as some of our party did not even get a meal as they had run out. The rooms were filthy with smelly drains in the bathroom which stank of rotten eggs, which made the whole sleeping area stink - which is always nice to greet you after a day out walking. To sum it up - fantastic surroundings of which there is no doubt, BUT, filthy, tired rooms; poor, tasteless food; unhelpful, obnoxious, arrogant and untrained staff lacking any people skills and with no management back up. All in all, don't bother.
And yes before any one can say anything, yes I have stayed in a few different youth hostels and have had a very happy stay but this has put me off ever doing it ever again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBATS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilammanager, Relief Manager at YHA Ilam Hall, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi We are really sorry that you didnt enjoy your stay with us earlier this month. All your comments have been passed onto the relevant people to help ensure this level of customer service does not happen again. I am also sorry to hear about the way you were responded to with regards to the lack of Garlic Bread on offer, this has been dealt with. Thanks for your review, all of your points made have been taken on board and dealt with, Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Ilam hall is set in amazing grounds. It is a comfortable walk to the stepping stones at Dovedale even with young children. The hostel has good facilities. its clean, serves good food. We had a private family ensuite room with shower. I loved it. I will be using my tesco vouchers to go back.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MrsVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilammanager, Manager at YHA Ilam Hall, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi, Thank you for your recent review on YHA Ilam Hall. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Ilam Hall. We look forward to hearing from you soon regarding your next adventure to YHA Ilam Hall...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilam
0.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
6.4 mi away
YHA Dimmingsdale
YHA Dimmingsdale
#2 of 2 in Oakamoor
6 reviews
24.3 mi away
YHA National Forest
YHA National Forest
#1 of 4 in Swadlincote
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
YHA Hartington Hall
YHA Hartington Hall
#2 of 6 in Hartington
281 reviews
14.3 mi away
YHA Ravenstor
YHA Ravenstor
#5 of 19 in Buxton
107 reviews
17.1 mi away
YHA Eyam
YHA Eyam
#2 of 2 in Eyam
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Ilam Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Ilam Hall

Property: YHA Ilam Hall
Address: Ilam Hall, Ilam, Ashbourne, Ilam, Peak District National Park DE6 2AZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Ilam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ilam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Ilam Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Ilam Hall is a Victorian Gothic manor house owned by the National Trust. Its grounds stretch to 84 acres of country park on the banks of the River Manifold, making outdoor games, woodland wanders and riverside walks an appealing possibility. Walk in the gently undulating White Peak area of the Peak District National Park, visit Dovedale or cycle along the Tissington and Manifold Trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your YHA Ilam Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilam Youth Hotel Ilam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing