We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base for walking in the Peak District”
Review of YHA Ilam Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Ilam Hall
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ilam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect base for walking in the Peak District”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

A youth hostel in an old stately home! Incredible grounds an great facilities. Perfect for families or groups of friends keen to explore the Peak District. Bar, games room, restaurant, self-catering kitchen all very handy. Even made packed lunches for our walk. Loads of great local pubs in the area too!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcWoolfson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilammanager, Manager at YHA Ilam Hall, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi, thank you for your review of YHA Ilam Hall. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Ilam, and by the sounds of it you took full advantage of the local area and the hostel itself. hopefully we will see you again soon at Ilam Hall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    64
    16
    13
    8
See reviews for
102
31
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
63 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

One of the best yha family rooms I have stayed in (room 401). En suite with a double bunk bed and single bunk bed. I don't know what other reviewers are expecting from a yha but this certainly delivers what I would expect. Decent sized self catering kitchen for the number of families there. Plenty of space inside and out for the kids to run around/ make friends/ get into mischief etc. Decent breakfast if you like yha breakfasts!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilammanager, Manager at YHA Ilam Hall, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi, sorry for the delay in getting back to you, i just wanted to say thank you for you lovely review on YHA Ilam Hall. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our larger en-suite family rooms. The grounds at Ilam Hall are fantastic as there is 84 acres to roam around and cause mischief in.. We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Wonderful unspoiled location with challenging and easy walks from the doorstep. Hostel is a former manor house set in landscaped gardens. I stayed in an 8-bed female dorm overlooking Thorpe Cloud and Bunster Hill. Not much nearby though so take your essentials with you.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilammanager, Manager at YHA Ilam Hall, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi, sorry for the delay in getting back to you, i just wanted to say thank you for your review about YHA Ilam Hall... I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Ilam Hall and we look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Great short walks, pooh sticks, lambs, bunk beds. Children ( and us) had a blast. Rooms v high spec and new en suite. Trouble getting buzzed in ( good service once in) and great value breakfast although lady seemed a bit stressy for breakfast service. Overall brilliant!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilammanager, Manager at YHA Ilam Hall, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi, sorry for the delay in getting back to you, I just want to say thank you for your review about YHA Ilam Hall..... I am so glad to hear that you had a thoroughly enjoyable time at Ilam Hall. I have passed all your positive comments onto the staff and we all look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Came across the YHA hostels by accident and was intrigued by the idea of staying in a castle.
Much better than I imagined it would be - the hostel and especially the grounds are excellent. We were in the east wing and the room was brilliant ( we didn't realise you take your own towels for the showers though)
Well placed for Dovedale- just a short walk away
Enjoyed the evening- no Wifi or internet connection . We didn't even have telephone signal so it was novel for my teenagers to have to pay games instead- Excellent

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yngsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilammanager, Manager at YHA Ilam Hall, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi, sorry for the delay in getting back to you. Thank you for your review about YHA Ilam Hall. I am glad you enjoyed your first experience hostelling.... it truely is a unique spot here at Ilam Hall. Towels can be hired from reception and we also have Wifi available, unfortunately you have to pay for this, and it can get a bit pricy... we are aware of this. however I am glad you were able to enjoy the selection of board games in the games room. We look forward to seeing you again soon at Ilam... happy hostelling...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Gorgeous building but the inside has lost the charm and now is too clinical. The rooms are really simple, there are no towels and if you need one you have to buy it. The food was terrible and there are no pubs or anything where to find food around. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The village and the surrounds are quite and lovely. The 4 hours walk from Ilham to Hartington, along the river, is amazing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilammanager, Manager at YHA Ilam Hall, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi, Sorry for the delay in getting back to you. Thank you for your review about YHA Ilam Hall... I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the food we provided, we have taken your comments on board and i have passed them onto the catering manager here at Ilam Hall. I am however glad you enjoyed the peaceful walk along the river to Hartington, its a great way to relax and enjoy the peaks. Thanks again for your comments, they allow us to offer an improved service to our customers, Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here March 2013 and throughly enjoyed it. Little issue on the journey up due to the snow but we phoned the hostel and they tried to help with directions - didn't help that we had no idea where we were!! Upon arrival, we were a bit to early to check in but they let us use the loo and lounge. The room we stayed in was very nice, comfortable although a little small if you had four people in, there was only two of us. Two bunk beds, shower and loo. Lovely and warm although the walk through the corridors to reception/dining room was vey cold!

Lounge was amazing, comfortable chairs, in reach of wifi, lots of board games and very warm.
Games room is huge, ping pong table, table football and TV with lots of seating although was cold.
Dining room was well laid out - it wasn't too busy when we were there due to the weather but everyone fitted in fine. Evening meals were amazing - Goats cheese and red onion chutney tart/garlic mushrooms for starts, toad in the hole and veg chilli then choc fudge cake to finish - B-E-A-U-TIFUL!

Breakfast was brilliant - £4.99 for a hot food buffet - served by a member of staff you get the option of: Sausages, (Veggie Sausgages) Bacon, Hashbrowns, Beans, Mushrooms, Eggs, Fried Bread, Tomatoes, Toast then you also had Pain au Chocolate, Crossiants, Mini rolls, melon/grapefruit, yogurts, cereals, juices and hot drinks. Well worth it. Fully stocked us up for a walk down to Dovedale and back in the snow.

We didn't buy lunch but there was the option to for £5.50 - seemed like a good deal but we'd bought our own stuff. Self catering kitchen was a good size with it's own dining room.

Bar was in reception - good choice of beers, ciders and spirits. Tea/Coffee/Hot choc available during the day but at a cost so if you drink a lot perhaps throw your own tea bags in the car!

Staff were brilliant, well one was a bit grumpy but otherwise fantastic. Chatty, good advice on local area walks and road conditions - lots and lots of snow to deal with!

ONE ISSUE - the wifi is not free, in fact it's quite expensive. We were here for 3 days so paid for the 3 days unlimited at £7.50! Not particularly fast either but usable. This is not just this hostel, all YHAs in England and Wales you seemed to have to pay. Also, not much phone signal so advise family and friends you may be un-contactable - which might be what you want!!

Ilam itself is a beautiful area, if you do come make sure you follow the walk across the fields to the Stepping Stones - easy for kids and you can cross and carry on towards Milldale for a longer walk.

Don't forget the camera!

Room Tip: If four of you in a 4 bed room you could be a bit squashed. Corridors cold but rooms warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mylifetolead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilammanager, Manager at YHA Ilam Hall, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi, sorry for the delay in getting back to you. I just want to say thank you so much for the lovely detailed review you gave of YHA Ilam Hall. I am glad you enjoyed your time in our lovely big old Manor House. It has a lot of charm and character. We are also glad you enjoyed taking advantage of what we have offer in regards to food options, drinks from our bar and our well stocked games room which provides hours of fun. I agree with your last statement, do not forget your camera, as the views here are amazing... hopefully we can welcome you back into our Stately Hostel some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilam
0.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
6.4 mi away
YHA Dimmingsdale
YHA Dimmingsdale
#2 of 2 in Oakamoor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
24.4 mi away
YHA National Forest
YHA National Forest
#2 of 4 in Swadlincote
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
YHA Hartington Hall
YHA Hartington Hall
#2 of 6 in Hartington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
17.1 mi away
YHA Eyam
YHA Eyam
#2 of 2 in Eyam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
14.3 mi away
YHA Ravenstor
YHA Ravenstor
#5 of 19 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Ilam Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Ilam Hall

Property: YHA Ilam Hall
Address: Ilam Hall, Ilam, Ashbourne, Ilam, Peak District National Park DE6 2AZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Ilam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ilam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Ilam Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Ilam Hall is a Victorian Gothic manor house owned by the National Trust. Its grounds stretch to 84 acres of country park on the banks of the River Manifold, making outdoor games, woodland wanders and riverside walks an appealing possibility. Walk in the gently undulating White Peak area of the Peak District National Park, visit Dovedale or cycle along the Tissington and Manifold Trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your YHA Ilam Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilam Youth Hotel Ilam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing