We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The waarmest of welcomes”
Review of Holly Meadow Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holly Meadow Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Bradley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We cannot recommend this farmhouse b&b too highly. The welcome from Babette and Tom was really warm and genuine, and the quality of the accommodation and breakfast superb. The view from the bedroom was magnificent and the surrounding countryside just asks to be explored (time permitting). We would love to return when we had more time to appreciate all that Holly Meadow Farm has to offer.

Room Tip: There are only two, both equally good!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for Holly Meadow Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 62 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at Holly Meadow this summer using it as a base to cycle in the area and visit family. We had a lovely spacious clean room with a great view over the fields. Tom and Babette are a really nice warm and friendly couple offering a great breakfast and interesting anecdotes about the farm and local history. Our tandem cycle had a spacious double garage to spend the evenings in!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philip m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at the Holly Meadow Farm on our recent trip to England. It was a great all around experience!! Highly recommended!!! Rooms were extremely clean, comfortable and spacious. Wonderful view of the mid-lands. Lots of room to stroll around.
The owners of this property Tom and Babette Lawton are absolutely wonderful, warm hosts. They served us an more than generous breakfast, of local preserves and farm raised foods. We especially enjoyed speaking with them during breakfast, and invited them to sit in with us and give us a history lesson of Bradley and Ashbourne, as we gave them some insight of Canada. Terrific hosts with a vast knowledge of the history of the Derbyshire, and a good sense of humor I might add!!
WHEN we come back to visit our family again, we will definitely stay here, for the close proximity to relatives and "catch up" with what we feel, we're friends that we made during our stay.
Thanks Again Tom and Babette
Dana Severn
Nancy Moore
Maureen Gould

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana2600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Holly Meadow Farm has a quiet, rural location with extensive views over the countryside. It is near to Ashbourne and all the stunning limestone country of the southern Peak District. The owners, Babette and Tom, are very welcoming and friendly. We were free to walk anywhere around the fields and appreciate the wildflower meadow, uncultivated field edges, tree plantings and the owl boxes. Our bedroom was large, very comfortable and very well equipped, including a small fridge and wireless internet.
When you stay at a farm you expect a good farmhouse breakfast and Babette does not disappoint. Fresh fruit, cereals, a choice of cooked food, using their own eggs and local produce, home made marmalade and jam, excellent coffee and always the option of a top up if you want to take your time. Tom even offered to pick up a newspaper for us in the morning.
We stayed for four nights and they were excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have stayed at Holly Meadow Farm for a good few years now, normally visiting once per year, and we are always greeted with a warm and friendly welcome. It's the best place we know of for bed and breakfast in the Derbyshire area. The rooms are lovely, spacious, and clean, and you have some lovely views of the local farmland areas from your room. Breakfast is very hearty and made with fresh, local produce, and very tasty.
When we leave after breakfast, we often don't need to eat for lunch, and can wait until evening when we eat again, as the breakfast sets us up well for the day. It's also within easy driving distance of the market town of Ashbourne and other lovely villages and small towns in Derbyshire.

It's reasonably priced, too, so definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Fabulous welcome and really relaxing stay. The hosts had thought of everything you may need and the room was clean, fresh and with plenty of space. The breakfast was great with tasty local produce.
We will definately return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KG4044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Holly Meadow gives a false impression by advertising itself as 'Dog Friendly', they are extremely selective on the breed type they allow opposed to the behaviour of the animal. We have a PAT (Pet As Therapy) dog which was not of an acceptable breed for this establishment and declined to stay. My advice is snobbery is not dead......As a professional couple I find it bizarre that this business should judge purely on breed which isn't even on the dangerous dogs list and is a total asset to the breed. The B&B is somewhat prone to looking down its nose, very short sighted decision making.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank 468SCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babette L, Owner at Holly Meadow Farm, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

We do appreciate this dog owner's disappointment. Having experienced a problem with a Staffordshire Bull Terrier in the past and following the advice of our vet, we are unable to accept this breed of dogs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradley
3.2 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
333 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,803 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hillcrest House
Hillcrest House
#1 of 26 in Ashbourne
153 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Meadow Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Meadow Farm

Address: Holly Meadow Farm Pinfold Lane | Ashbourne, Bradley, Ashbourne DE6 1PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Bradley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bradley
Price Range: $114 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holly Meadow Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our farmhouse Bed & Breakfast lies in 280 acres of one of the most picturesque parts of Derbyshire. A few miles from Dovedale and the Peak District, the stunning surrounding countryside affords our guests an ideal opportunity to relax and enjoy the many attractions which are on our doorstep. We offer spacious en-suite double rooms with far reaching views, period furniture and genuine home comforts including a room fridge.Our generous Aga cooked breakfasts using locally sourced ingredients, award winning sausages and bacon, our homemade preserves and our own freerange eggs will set you up for a full day of exploring. You can walk from the front door and go for a stroll on the farm. We are very keen to protect and enhance our environment. We have installed solar panels to produce electricity and you can use our E-car socket to recharge your vehicle. We have planted over 3000 trees and have attracted many bird species to the farm.In the evening local foody pubs offer a good range of dishes and prices all within a 5 miles radius. Holly Meadow Farm is a peaceful and relaxing oasis away from the crowds and you are assured of a very warm welcome.Visit England has awarded us 4 star with silver and breakfast award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holly Meadow Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing