We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic product, shame about the package”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Bentley Brook Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bentley Brook Inn
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic product, shame about the package”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2007

This place has so much going for it - glorious timber-beamed old manor house; beautiful location in rolling countryside; a sun-drenched patio to sit and watch the the world (well, cows) go by whilst nursing a pint of beer (brewed onsite); great residents lounge with inglenook fireplace and candles for when it gets chilly outside, lovely refurbished rooms with comfy bed.

HOWEVER our 2 night stay was beset with problems. Where to start? Our first 2 choices of draught beer (out of 6) weren't on. Foodwise, all the specials were off, and virtually every dish on the regular menu was missing a vital ingredient. Oh but you don't need steak for steak and chips or feta cheese in a greek salad I hear you cry! I would understand if it was late at night but this was 8pm! Plus sitting down to dinner with the breakfast table already set up with cereals really wasn't the best first impression we could have had. Breakfast wasn't great, some interesting menu choices but they struggled to even get scrambled eggs right - mine were grey. But I would have to say the very worst thing about this place was the service. Staff who obviously hadn't been trained in the complicated art of serving people in order as they come to the bar, nor in remembering to bring your bottle of wine back to the table rather than replacing it on the shelf , nor leaving you sat there for 1/2 hour in an empty dining room before bringing your bill....the list goes on.

All in all a real shame, it could have been perfect but we came away feeling really let down. If only the managers would train their staff up properly and get the kitchen sorted out they'd be on to a real winner.

  • Liked — Location, comfy room
  • Disliked — Staff/service
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    110
    19
    12
    8
See reviews for
104
212
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2007

The room is spotless, comfy and clean. Leatherbritches beer is suberb (shame to hear it is moving shortly. Hopefuly they will still stock this excellent brew).
Dinner in the Restaurant was not brilliant. Turned up at 7:15am for Breakfast but the place was in darkness. A young girl eventually turned up at 9:00am with the excuse that they 'forgot' to alter their clocks for daylight savings - even so this would still be an hour later than advertised. Breakfast was also problematic when it eventually arrived.

Worth it for a pint or two. Shame the restaurant spoilt our stay this time.

  • Liked — Local beer
  • Disliked — Food and Morning service
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamonBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2007

just had a fab stay at the bentley brook in ashbourne. We first stayed there in 2005 and enjoyed the relaxed yet zany atmosphere then, but what a difference now!!! the place has been completely refurbished and the rooms are just lovely. The new managers that have taken over are a delight, nothing was to much trouble, Hazel the manageress even drove us for two days to start our walks. The food was excellent, the whole place was very clean and they even brew their own beer!!!! My wife and I will definately return to this little gem.

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank milesknoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2007

We stayed for two nights in the family room with our 4 month old daughter over New Years. The room was fantastic - spacious with modern decor & a wonderfully comfortable bed. The staff were more than fantastic: when the power in the local area went out on New Years Eve (a nightmare for the hotel as they were hosting a gala dinner that night) they found time to offer us soup in the bar, entertain our daughter while we ate it, then organise a generator to run a light & heater in the room so we could get her to bed. Once the power was back up they popped over to check on us (the family room is in a wing opposite the main pub) and brought mulled wine & canapes. We declined their offer of a glass of champagne at midnight as we had an early start and, though we were woken by revellers at midnight (it was New Years Eve after all), we had a great nights sleep. The hotel is in a great location for exploring the Peak District & I would recommend it to anyone travelling in the area.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank KathyQNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2006

In all honesty, this is no 5 star establishment but to its credit it does not pretend to be. What it does provide is wholesome honest food, decent accommodation and great charm and conviviality.

We organised a group stay (there were 10 of us) and we thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality offered. Food and drink were great. On the first night there was a limited choice of vegetarian dishes but after a brief conversations with one of the members of staff this was rectified the following evening. Breakfast and dinner were both extremely satisfying and the choices of wine, beer and soft drinks extensive.

The outside terrace was a good meeting point before and after our evening meal. Our rooms were basic and decor certainly a throwback from the 70s! Most importantly, although there was an abundance of flowery curtains, frilly bedspreads and patterned wallpaper, facilities were extremely clean. Only 2 of our rooms had showers and they didn't work very well but I actually enjoyed taking the time out to have a bath so did not miss the shower.

We paid £100 per person dinner, bed and breakfast for 2 nights and given the quality of the food and out enjoyment over the weeknd I find this extremely good value for money. The Bentley Brook Inn is undergoing a plan of refurbishment and no doubt by 2007, the 70s style rooms will no longer exist but I also am certain that next time we stay we won't be paying £100!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fondofgoodtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2005

Nice place, but not as peaceful as I had expected - between two main roads, so a bit of noise from that. Room was tiny, and to be honest, a bit depressing. Clean enough, but really in need of updating - a very dodgy looking gas heater on the wall with a naked pilot flame near to the curtain! This may have been perfectly safe, but it worried me a bit.

Having said all that, the staff were very friendly and efficient, and the breakfast was probably the best I've ever had in any hotel/B&B - they cure their own bacon and make their own sausages, as well as brew their own beer! Dinner was pretty good too.

In summary, I'd say if you're not too fussed about your room, and don't expect to be right out in the wilds, it's not a bad place to stay - maybe a little overpriced for the standard of the rooms. Has the potential to be a really great place to stay if they updated the rooms!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jillytub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2005

The location is excellent near Ashbourne in Derbyshire. It has a superb garden where you can eat and drink resident or not. They brew their own Beer Leatherbritches which is always in first class condition and reasonably priced for an excellent product. Food is absolutely superb. The rooms are a bit small but it is an old inn not some awful purpose built plastic Amercian copy. Staff great occaisionally a bit eccentric. All in all a brilliant place in a beautiful area of the Peak District. There are walks and cycle trails all over and you can soon escape from cars and traffic. Kid issues, There are children in the garden but this is to be expected but they don't tend to dominate proceedings in the bar and restaurant as these are fairly small so spoilt kids having tantrums are soon removed with suitable embarresment. Highly recomended as something different from the usual run of the mill hotels.

Helpful?
5 Thank Allan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fenny Bentley
2.2 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
12.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Dog & Partridge Country Inn
1.6 mi away
Hillcrest House
Hillcrest House
#1 of 27 in Ashbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentley Brook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentley Brook Inn

Property: Bentley Brook Inn
Address: Fenny Bentley, Fenny Bentley, Peak District National Park DE6 1LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Fenny Bentley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fenny Bentley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bentley Brook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small Inn with 11 en suite bedrooms. We are fully licensed for Weddings and Civil Ceremonies and have a large function room. Located just outside the town of Ashbourne, close to the Tissington trail and Dove Dale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Bentley Brook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing