We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome, stunning views”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Millfields B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fenny Bentley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Millfields B & B
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, stunning views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Arrived to a warm, personal greeting from Sue, the co-host. Our room was well appointed with a large en -suite bathroom. All very clean, tidy and traditionally furnished. Bedroom was built into the eaves, which could be a problem for anyone very tall as there is quite a slope to the bedroom ceiling!
About a ten minute walk to the pub for dinner. It is on a main road and although there is a pavement for most of the route to the village, you need to take care (and a torch).
Next day, a well prepared and cooked breakfast overlooking lovely countryside. Eggs from their own chickens!
Two minor negatives-
1. Our room (room 2) was above the host's lounge and we retired fairly early as we had another day's walking ahead. We could hear their television and also a fairly heated discussion that they were having!
2. The exit by car onto the main A515 from the driveway of the B&B was very difficult as traffic is fast moving and visibility is limited by the bend in the road.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlemousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Wonderful stay yet again at Millfields having also stayed last year. Susan and Terry are excellent hosts and cannot do enough for you. Lovely setting with great views and donkeys! The rooms are spotlessly clean and have everything you need. Breakfast is excellent- cannot fault it. Will definitely be back! Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrssiddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Friendly hosts; pleasant & clean bedroom & ensuite; good shower; good TV; comfortable bed; very nice breakfast with enough on offer to keep you going until the evening; two pubs within walking distance; walks possible from the door. All in all, excellent value.

We went to the Coach & Horses, a traditional country pub 7 minutes down the road on pavement, twice for our evening meal. We thought the staff welcoming and the food & drink good value and quality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merganser153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bopurnemouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Very friendly and welcoming hosts. Rooms and facilities very clean. Lovely views over countryside at the back-very relaxing.Good breakfast. Excellent value for money,would recommend 100%. and would like to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Nice welcoming place, homely, many details of comfort have been taken care of. Clean rooms and bath rooms wonderful generous breakfast with a welcoming and genuine smile they make sure that you are comfortable. Enjoyed my morning English cup of tea in the morning while watching the animals ... would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a few nights in nature. Thanks Susan and Terry ... Nidal and Pauline Khoury

Room Tip: all rooms are good ... double beds might be small for two if you are a big size person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N-Khoury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

What a super couple. Susan and Terry could not have made us more welcome. Room was spotlessly clean, breakfasts were superb and the views from the sun terrace were over rolling Derbyshire countryside with donkeys and cows. The local pub was 2 minutes away, the staff were friendly and the food cheap and cheerful. Walks from the door along the Tissington Trail were a delight and beautiful Dovedale was accessible on foot (though perhaps rather too far for those not used to walking). The charming town of Ashbourne is two miles away and well worth exploring.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wrinklies62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

What a wonderful and idyllic place to stay. When we arrived we were met by spectacular views and a beautiful B&B;, Susan and Terry were there to meet us when we arrived and made us feel very welcome, offering us a drink on the (sun trap) patio...which was very nice whilst watching the donkeys plod around. The rooms were fabulous and spacious and most importantly very clean. We headed to the local pub for a meal that evening and the next day we went to visit alton towers but not before we had a hearty full english breakfast which was amazing, certainly set us up for the day. All in all a brilliant stay at Millfields, thanks guys and see you again very soon.

A Williams

Room Tip: Ask for the downstairs room as the window is huge and looks straight over the amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Will D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fenny Bentley
0.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bentley Brook Inn
Bentley Brook Inn
#1 of 3 in Fenny Bentley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hillcrest House
Hillcrest House
#1 of 27 in Ashbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Long Chimneys Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Stanshope Hall
Stanshope Hall
#80 of 165 in Peak District National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millfields B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millfields B & B

Property: Millfields B & B
Address: Near Ashbourne, Derbyshire, Fenny Bentley, Peak District National Park DE6 1LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Fenny Bentley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fenny Bentley
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location at the start of the peak national park, overlooking the Tissington Trail and Dovedale, explore many historic houses Chatsworth House ,Haddon Hall, Sudbury Hall,the spa town of Buxton with its opera house, all within easy reaching distance. Walk the lovely dales, peaks and explore the caves. Why not hire a bike there are many routes to cycle including the tissington trail and the high peak trail.Dont forget an inn and a country pub are within easy walking distance . ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing