We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great campsite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashbourne Heights Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great campsite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

Recently stayed for 3x nights at Ashbourne Heights. We camped, but you can hire a chalet. Rates were reasonable, staff very friendly, facilities clean and reasonable shop. Water in the showers was never cold, but had one luke warm shower - thought I was getting in early, but turned out all the kids had just showered! Never had to queue for a shower which was lovely. 1x electric point in shower for hair dryer - could use a couple more.
On site take-away, but we didnt try that. Lots of info on their website.
Field was comfortable and not too crowded. The electric hook-up pitches are around the edge and must be booked in advance - ask for one at the top of the field.
Good location - we used local cycle routes, including the Tissington Trail and went into Ashbourne town. Great old-fashioned sweet shop!
Two pubs within a mile walking distance. Fenny Bentley has the Coach and Horses Inn (lovely) and towards Tissington is another - Bluebell I think - but not so nice and took ages to be served.
If you want to go horse riding, Tissington has a fabulous yard with beautiful horses and friendly staff.
The campsite also has a pool, but we didnt use it. Beware that they have CCTV of the pool in the shop for anyone passing to view...!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itchie-Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    76
    29
    19
    22
See reviews for
181
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ellis123
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2009

Me & my partner stayed at Ashbourne Heights for a short 2 night break. Having been recommended the area by our friends we were really pleased to find the site more than lived upto expectations. The site is a little gem, we were located in 'Dale View' a nice quiet area of the site with fantastic scenery. It really helped us to unwind as it was really peaceful. The grass was lush and the facilities are fab, especially the swimming pool. The staff are very helpful and it will be a great place to bring family & friends on our next visit.
We were literally a minutes walk away from the Tissington Trail, a 13 mile disused railway for cycling and walking. The dog loved it as we were able to go exploring everyday on the hills and into the evergreen forests.
Ashbourne town itself is compact and has everything you will need - nice restaurants, shops, pubs & gift shops. It's very pretty and not having been to this area of the Peaks before it was a very pleasant surprise to find such a beautiful Market town, one which we will definitely visit again.
Dovedale is also high on the list for an afternoon stroll, but if you wish to head a little further the Peak District has something for everyone, wet or dry.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffs
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

Visited Ashbourne heights for a long weekend of camping, arrived on friday lunchtime and was directed to peak park one of the areas on the camp site, as we arrived early we had most of the field to choose from however up to 6pm there was a steady stream of campers arriving. Where we were pitched was only about 2min walk to nearest toilet and shower block which were always clean whenever you visited and with there being 4 showers in that block and several toilet cubicles queing was not a problem, each field seemed to have their own toilet block.
The take away on site "The pleasant pheasant" which was only open fri and sat when we visited was excellent serving burgers chips etc at night and breakfast in the morning,there is also a little shop on site for basics.As there was only my wife and I we did not have any use of the childrens area but it seemed busy at all periods with plenty to keep children occupied.
The Tissington trail is only a few minutes to get to on foot from the site and is a nice area for walking or cycling.
The nearest pub to reach by foot is the coach and horses where we ate two excellent meals on sat and sun evenings but be aware it gets busy and booking is a good idea, the only drawback is the walk back which is all up hill and approx 3/4 of a mile on a footpath along the busy A515. There are two other pubs near the Bluebell which you would need to drive to as there is no footpath and the Bentley brook which is walkable but approx 1 1/4 miles from site.
Overall we had a pleasant weekend and would have no problem returning to this site in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

Camped here for the weekend.
The site itself is really nice and well maintained. There is a large play area for the children and an indoor swimming pool on site. You are given a very spacious pitch which we easily fit our tent and 2 cars.
After reading some reviews I was a bit worried as a lot of people mentioned signs everywhere telling you what you can and can't do. To be honest I didn't see any of these signs so maybe they are a little more relaxed now.
Here comes the BUT...
For the price which to be honest is one of the most expensive i've come across for a tent we didn't expect to then have to pay to use the pool. New charges from July 09 where £1.50 child and £2.50 per adult for an hours swimming. Nobody told us at the time of booking that extra charges would apply to actually use the facilites. The facilities were the main reason we booked the site. We didn't then expect to pay to use them. A bit steep considering the price we'd paid anyway.
The amentity block on the tent field leaves a lot to be desired . Although basic and clean there is only 1 shower, 3 sinks and 2 toilets. So morning and night there was a bit of a queue. A bucket in your tent may be needed if your desperate.
However, after exploring the site a bit we found another shower block over the other side where the static caravans are. This was a lot bigger, 10 toilets, 4 showers, 4 sinks and 1 private vanity cubicle. This block could do with being where the tents are and vice versa considering they are the ones with no facilities. Having this block near the static caravans and tourers seems a waste as they have their own bathrooms anyway.
The charges to use the facilities and the size of the camping amenites block are the only things that would stop me visiting here again as the rest of the site is really nice.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tasherrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2009

Spent a couple of nights here as part of a very large group of about 30 tents/vans/.

First impressions were WOW! this isn't a campsite, this is so much more than I have experienced before beautifully manicured lawns a great play are for the youngsters, a well stocked little shop, a hot food takeaway a more than adequate little indoor pool (£1.50 for an hours session in busy times) and really helpful friendly peole on the site. Everyone I spoke to on the site was really keen to improve out stay.

We were give a field to ourselves, good job really, a bit of communal singing at 1 in the morning was perhaps a little inconsiderate of us, actually, we were sloshed and it was unforgivable, sorry everyone else, and the ability to hold some games and competitions on site really madee our weekend.

On a more general note though, the site does have rules, but a few sensible rules about dogs and noise and in fact one of our number did fall foul of this, to be fair to all, the incident was handled well by both the park staff and the camper concerned, if I were staying there with just my family, I would be reassured by the prompt action of the park, they seemed very professional throughout.

Locally, gosh, where do you start..
15 miles of great walking and cycling along the Tissington trail, a walk into Thorpe and Dovedale is a nice easy 90 minute stroll, Ashbourne is a real gem, a few miles out you have Bakewell and all around you have the stunning greenery and scenery that is the Peak district.

I hate camping, and am delighted that the site is now offering lodges, I just hope they don't turn it into another Ingoldmells but without the sea.

Very good

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mervous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Derbyshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2008

There was our family plus some friends and there children went camping for 3 nights to Ashbourne Heights. It was lovely, we had an amazing view across the peaks. The field where we were camping was clean and well maintained. There was a great play area for the children, takeaway, shop and indoor pool (which you do have to pay for, £2 adults, £1 children for 45mins and you do have to book in advance as the pool can only have 24 people in it at any one time), showers (always a cue in the morning so we tended to leave showering until a little later), water supply and pot washing area all close together. The shop wasn't brilliantiantly stocked but ashbourne was just 10 minutes down the round which had a couple of good supermarkets. A couple of other reviews had said they had issues with the proprietor of the site but we had no problems, in fact they were very helpful and polite. All the other camps seemed to be considerate of families with little ones and kept the noise down to a minimum after 10ish.

A holiday is what you make it, go there looking for fault and you will find it. We all had an excellent time and are looking forward to returning in the near future.

  • Liked — The site was hassle free, relaxed & clean.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Enthusiasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fenny Bentley
1.7 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
11.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Longnor Wood Holiday Park
1.8 mi away
Sandybrook Country Park
Sandybrook Country Park
#1 of 15 in Ashbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
6.3 mi away
YHA Hartington Hall
YHA Hartington Hall
#2 of 6 in Hartington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashbourne Heights Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbourne Heights Holiday Park

Property: Ashbourne Heights Holiday Park
Address: Fenny Bentley | Ashbourne, Fenny Bentley, Peak District National Park DE6 1LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Fenny Bentley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Fenny Bentley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Ashbourne Heights Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashbourne Heights Hotel Fenny Bentley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing