We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting trip to mountains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Le Maquis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge Le Maquis to your Saves list
Auberge Le Maquis
Vallee de l'Ourika - km45, Ourika, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ourika
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting trip to mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Ali the driver arrange for us an excursion to ourika valley, mountais close to Marrakech about 35 km ( 1 hour and Haf driving each way.
It was a very nice day, sunny and Wendy
Nice Berber village and river, camel ride.
We hade lunch in this Hostel with the manager (Najib) he was really an example for the moroccan welcomes.
Thank you to every one help us on our holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcyrrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed here for four nights in a suite which was spacious and clean. The hotel has pretty gardens and tables and chairs around a small pool. It is quite close to a busy road so was not quite as relaxing as we had hoped. We received a warm welcome but struggled with our minimal French and non-existent Arabic to find information about walks and visits. After a while we got the hang of it and were shown the extensive folders of satellite images and walk descriptions. French guests were very helpful in translating for us. However, we really wished we had brought decent maps and GPS. We enjoyed Hachim's guided walk and also managed to do a walk on our own.

The food was quite good, but we found the atmosphere in the dining room a bit dull, especially when the fire was not lit. The service was charming but we felt that we didn't receive as much attention as some of the owners/managers personal guests.The bar on the upstairs terrace was also a bit drab and not much used by hotel guests.

Overall a good experience and an area we hope to return to soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aelfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed at "Le Maquis" for two nights with our four children in January 2012 (and the rooms were heated, which is very important at this time of the year...). What a treat this was! Saida and Jean-Pierre, as well as the rest of the staff, were extremely welcoming and helpful with everything, from arranging an appointment with a pediatrician in Marrakech to bringing us to amazing villages in the surroundings. The walk with Hicham down the valley along the banks of the Oued is well worth it! We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherinePierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed a couple of days in December and we enjoyed it very much. Everybody was
very friendly, the food was good and the owner gives useful advice about the great walking possibilities in the area. The villages in the neighbourhood are very easy to visit by foot.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcvanWingerden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

Le Maquis was easy to find along the road south of Marrakech through the Ourika Valley. After a warm initial welcome we were left to our own devices. The place has the feel of actually living with a family somehow. The rooms were clean but the lighting was dim and there was a strong smell of disinfectant in them. The place is busy at lunch time with guest diners but generally it was quite quiet in terms of guests. The location is excellent for exploring the local area. We had a hire car and travelled to Setti Fatma nearby. We were glad we were staying the 15km distance away since we found Setti Fatma to be very very busy. Tourist traffic running through the centre was manic. With dinner included in the price, the two nights we were there we enjoyed delicious local cuisine. Soups, fresh salads, varied tagines and fruit washed down with a glass or two of Ksar.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank advising4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

What a great hotel, rooms were lovely and location was excellent. In the middle of the Atlas Mountains expect to be "away from it all". The service and food was excellent, breakfast on the terraces overlooking the mountains and pool. Brilliant hotel, I want to go back there now!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Munqe-chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ourika
19.9 mi away
Domaine Malika
Domaine Malika
#1 of 2 in Ouirgane
5.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
16.1 mi away
Kasbah Du Toubkal
Kasbah Du Toubkal
#1 of 5 in Imlil
4.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
11.5 mi away
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Domaine de la Roseraie
Domaine de la Roseraie
#2 of 2 in Ouirgane
4.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
15.9 mi away
Riad Dar Imlil
Riad Dar Imlil
#2 of 5 in Imlil
4.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
21.5 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#175 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Le Maquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Le Maquis

Address: Vallee de l'Ourika - km45, Ourika, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Ourika
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ourika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain inn in the High-Atlas, at only 45 kms from Marrakech. 11 rooms in the gardens on 5000 sq meters. Restaurant and bar with alcoholik drinks.a lot of activities on sive or very near.Swimming pool.balads and trekking in the berberian country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Auberge Le Maquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing