We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning. Can't wait to go back.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kasbah Bab Ourika

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ourika
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kasbah Bab Ourika
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ourika
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning. Can't wait to go back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We spent the perfect Christmas here. The setting is stunning and the buildings, grounds and gardens are beautiful. Our Garden Deluxe room had a separate living room with well-stocked bookshelves and a log fire, lit each morning and night by the brilliant, attentive staff. There is so much to do nearby: massages, hiking, mountain biking, going to the market in the town on a Monday, or just relaxing in the kasbah. In December/January it's cold at night but still quite hot in the sun, and it was sunny every day. We would come back in a heartbeat. Thanks to Amanda and all the staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank London_Wanderings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    94
    23
    7
    6
See reviews for
104
319
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Located 1 1/4 hours (60 miles) south of Marrakech this hotel is situated in the foothills of the Atlas Mountains at an elevation of roughly 3,000 feet. Built on a mountain rock outcropping the views from the hotel rooms and patio offer vistas of the surrounding valleys and mountains, some of which are 12,000 feet in height.

The hotel has beautiful grounds in which they grow their own vegetables and other ingredients for the excellent meals that are served. There is also a large rose garden from which they obtain the flowers for the rooms and dining tables.

The staff is efficient and friendly and can arrange hiking trips as well as tours to other areas of the valley.

The meals are served on the patio to the south of the hotel as well as inside in the dining room which has a cozy bar room off to the side as well as a room where one can watch DVDs.

A large pool area is surrounded by vegetation as well as olive trees.

This hotel is well worth the time it takes to reach it and is a relaxing change from the active life in Marakech and the Medina.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Kasbah Bab Ourika, a stunning building with beautiful gardens and interiors, is situated in the perfect location - at the foot of the Atlas Mountains, surrounded by marvellous, serene views of mountains and valleys, of green and brown. It is a haven away from the chaos of Marrakech, and has been built and is run in a style and manner respectful of its surrounding beauty, the country in which it is located and the people that live close by. It is the ideal place to sleep and eat well, to relax, to enjoy all that the surrounding hills and valley have to offer through walks and hikes and visits to eat in the local Berber villages.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Beautiful hotel, beautiful grounds, beautiful rooms, beautiful setting, great food, great service. That pretty much says it all except I need to have 200 characters...we had a beautiful hike led by a local guide that we really enjoyed as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slaumsu89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is a stunningly beautiful place just 40 minutes drive from Marrakech. It is hard to believe while driving there that you are about enter such a pristine area in the mountains, and so close to the city. The hotel is truly charming and our hosts couldn't have made us feel more welcome or have been more helpful in giving us directions. (Ha, ha, ha- Amanda). The grounds of the hotel are jaw dropping with the terraces, flower, herb and vegetable gardens, and the pool etc. And, the views overlooking the Ourika valley and all of the Berber villages dotting the area is also a show stopper. The one thing we were pleasantly surprised about is how much there is to do in the general area. Yes, it is quiet and secluded but there are also plenty of things to explore during the day. We had rented a car (which is cheap in Morocco) and so we were really able to get around and visit villages, go to the Berber market, eat a tagine in the stream, visit the Setti Fatma falls etc. It was an unexpected pleasure to find how much there was to do and see in the general vicinity during the day and then to come back and relax in the evening. I totally agree with some of the other reviews, that the drawback is the food. Since there aren't any other restaurants to walk to in the evening the only real choice is to eat at the hotel. I didn't mind the limited menu (it's just smart business to prevent food waste) but I thought the quality could have better matched the caliber of the place. It's not bad but certainly not gourmet. All said, would definitely go back and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee_in_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We only stayed here for one night but absolutely loved it.

Good points
Fantastic service
Rooms and facilities are really luxurious
Wonderful gardens to explore

Minor bad points
Food was nice but not amazing
Ground floor rooms are not so private (staff walking right by our window early in the morning)

Considering our stay was so short i really felt that Amanda at the Kasbah went the extra mile to look after us and help organise our trip.

We did a 3 day trek from here to Imlil with a local guide named Omar who I would highly recommend. He was really fun, knowledgeable and made it an amazing experience for us. His cooking, rustled up out of simple ingredients each night in a mountain hut, was also the best food we ate during our whole trip. The trek went through stunning and remote areas of the mountains, and although it is a well trodden route there were no other hikers at this time of year.

We hope to return for a longer stay at Bab Ourika and do some more trekking with Omar!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petefromearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Spectacular views from EVERYWHERE surrounding this hotel on a hill. The hotel is set in really beautiful well maintained gardens. We had a garden suite which was a lounge, dining area, kitchen, seperate TV area, 2 bedrooms and two bathrooms. We had a huge terrace and a massive area of lawn to use, all overlooking the gardens and mountains. The only downside was that we were near the washing machine area and so had the noise of washing machines all day when inside the building, but luckily the weather was so warm, we were outside most of the day. It's a real gem of a place to go and walk and relax. The gardens are very well tended and they use the fresh produce in their restaurant. We liked the fact that the daily changing menu on had a few choices each day. The walks into the national park and local villages are beautiful and interesting. We will hire a guide next time we go as we've walked everywhere we could do without getting lost in the three days we've had at Kasah Bab Ourika. Amanda and her staff really looked after us well. Nothing was too much trouble and all done with a smile. We had the most amazing new year celebrations with them to see in 2014. A big thank you to all the staff. We will definitely be returning here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlitNorthamptonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ourika
15.5 mi away
Kasbah Tamadot
Kasbah Tamadot
#1 of 4 in Asni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
3.0 mi away
Auberge Le Maquis
Auberge Le Maquis
#2 of 3 in Ourika
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
10.9 mi away
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Domaine Malika
Domaine Malika
#1 of 2 in Ouirgane
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
23.0 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#53 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kasbah Agounsane
Kasbah Agounsane
#3 of 3 in Ourika
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Bab Ourika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Bab Ourika

Property: Kasbah Bab Ourika
Address: Tnine Ourika, Ourika, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Ourika
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ourika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasbah Bab Ourika 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bab Ourika perches majestically on a hilltop at the apex of the Ourika Valley, guarding the gateway to the snow-capped Atlas Mountains – yet it is only 45 minutes from Marrakech’s International airport. With 360 degree panoramic views, this innovative new hotel receives warm sunlight all day, ending in spectacular sunsets. From its unique eyrie-like position it offers a birds eye view of the Atlas, of traditional Berber villages and of the lush river valley below. The Kasbah is one of the most eco-friendly hotels in Morocco; constructed principally from rammed earth, the traditional Berber building technique, it seems almost to have grown out of the rocks beneath. The thick walls provide such good insulation that air-conditioning is unnecessary. Solar panels provide hot water for the hotel and and the underfloor heating in the dining and bar area. Soon a biodigester will provide electricity and compost not only for the hotel but also for the village below. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kasbah Bab Ourika Hotel Ourika

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing