We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular views, wonderful rooms”
Review of Kasbah Bab Ourika

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kasbah Bab Ourika
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ourika
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Spectacular views, wonderful rooms”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Kasbah Bab Ourika. The highlights included the amazing views from the hotel property, the beautiful vegetable gardens, and the beautiful room. You can walk out of the hotel and two seconds away is a great trail that takes you on a scenic and relatively flat walk. The hotel is secluded but close enough to Marrakesh and other places that you could easily stay here for a week and do lots of nice day trips. The only thing we didn't like were the very small meal portions and the food was OK but not terrific. Also, although the staff were very kind, not many of them were able to speak well in English so it was difficult to communicate. Otherwise, we very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    98
    24
    7
    6
See reviews for
109
330
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at Kasbah Bab Ourika on the tail end of our 10 day vacation in Morocco and it was by far the loveliest, most relaxing place we stayed. I would recommend it to everyone. The staff are friendly and attentive. The food is delicious. The Kasbah has a full bar(!) and you can't beat playing croquet with that view. If you go, be sure to get a hammam and request Latifah - she's wonderful. Wish I could go back tomorrow....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I recently stayed 3 nights at the Kasbah Bab Ourika with my family over New Year. Amanda and her team operate a relaxed but efficient retreat in an an idillic setting, close to Marrakech with glorious views of the High Atlas Mountains in the distance. The food was excellent as were the guides when out exploring the mountains and national park bordering the Kasbah. Cosy log fires in the bedrooms and communal lounges to take the chill out of the cool evenings at this time of the year. Excellent in every respect.

Room Tip: Choice of rooms in the main hotel building, plus 3-4 garden rooms with gardens and one with its own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is a really lovely hotel/guesthouse, a restored Kasbah sitting high on a hilltop with views up and down the Ourika valley which has a great deal going for it:
- The views from all of the rooms and communal areas are truly breathtaking.
- The gardens are fabulous.
- Service is perfect.
- The quality and attention to detail in all of the rooms is top-notch.

The only thing which let it down a little on the night we stayed was that the food wasn't that great. The portion sizes were odd - some starters were pretty big, whilst some mains were very small indeed - and the fabulous-looking vegetables growing in the garden didn't seem to have made it onto the plates. For me, all the dishes were missing a bit of magic that would have lifted them from tasty to excellent. Perhaps we were unlucky, given that we were only here for one night.

I would still encourage a visit, as the quality of the hotel overall is excellent, the service is great and the location is stunning.

Room Tip: The small suites facing the valley are sumptuous and have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

One hour from Marrakech airport is the wonderfully peaceful Kasbah Bab Ourika, high upon a ridge looking down on the Ourika Valley below and the Berber village that it's welcoming and extremely helpful staff come from.

It's position is fabulous, surrounded by greenery that contrasts with the red earth that is such a feature of the area (from the colour of the buildings (made from rammed earth) to the ceramics made locally). The owners have enhanced this naturally beautiful position by wonderful grounds and gardens, which provide numerous terraces and lounging areas to enjoy the scenery (and in our case the winter sunshine) all carefully laid out so that guests are not falling over each other.

Inside there are several rooms off the central courtyard to read, play board games, and if you wish watch TV/ DVDs, all with easy access to the dining areas and the bar. The ever attentive staff will ensure that your needs won't go unattended. If you are staying during the winter months do ask for a room with an open fire, which the staff will light for you as the sun goes down.

Day-to-day running is in the very capable hands of Amanda, who will ensure you have your needs met, whether these are arranging local Berber guides for walking in the national park behind the Kasbah, or unprompted having your walking boots cleaned and dried.

The places is truly magical, and a great way to relax, especially during the Christmas period. To summarise, the Kasbah is wonderful, the staff caring and attentive, the food great, and the scenery breathtaking. I hope to return to enjoy this place again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SJWalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Kasbah Bab Ourika is a chic hotel with an awesome location. We loved the leaves scattered/ placed over the bedroom and bathroom(towels, bath tub and even the toilet seat). The service is impeccable and the fireplace in the room creates a great ambiance.

They have wi fi only in the reception area and with no TV in the room, you have to connect to the world either in the TV room or sit on the only chair in the reception area. People may travel here to disconnect with the world but since there is nothing to do after sunset, wi fi in the rooms would be nice.

We stayed half board and the three course dinner was perfect, as was the breakfast.

An awesome place to stay up in the mountains if you are in the region.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SayanRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We had booked a lunch visit solely on a friend's recommendation - they did not say much other than "you ought to visit" and I understand now why they really could not say much more - had they launched into eulogies we would have become "suspicious".

The bumpy road in heightened the expectation and initial impressions on arrival were good leading onto fantastic as the beauty of the place unfolded as you get acclimatised.

Lunch was perfect - tasty and not too much. Service was swift yet discreet - the bill was right on the money @ £60 for 3 people (incl wine) - small hint is to take cash so as to avoid a few extra charges.

Top place and well worth the trip

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngordonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ourika
15.5 mi away
Kasbah Tamadot
Kasbah Tamadot
#1 of 4 in Asni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
10.8 mi away
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel
3.1 mi away
Auberge Le Maquis
Auberge Le Maquis
#2 of 3 in Ourika
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Domaine de la Roseraie
Domaine de la Roseraie
#2 of 2 in Ouirgane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kasbah Agounsane
Kasbah Agounsane
#3 of 3 in Ourika
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
23.0 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#53 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Bab Ourika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Bab Ourika

Property: Kasbah Bab Ourika
Address: Tnine Ourika, Ourika, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Ourika
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ourika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasbah Bab Ourika 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bab Ourika perches majestically on a hilltop at the apex of the Ourika Valley, guarding the gateway to the snow-capped Atlas Mountains – yet it is only 45 minutes from Marrakech’s International airport. With 360 degree panoramic views, this innovative new hotel receives warm sunlight all day, ending in spectacular sunsets. From its unique eyrie-like position it offers a birds eye view of the Atlas, of traditional Berber villages and of the lush river valley below. The Kasbah is one of the most eco-friendly hotels in Morocco; constructed principally from rammed earth, the traditional Berber building technique, it seems almost to have grown out of the rocks beneath. The thick walls provide such good insulation that air-conditioning is unnecessary. Solar panels provide hot water for the hotel and and the underfloor heating in the dining and bar area. Soon a biodigester will provide electricity and compost not only for the hotel but also for the village below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Kasbah Bab Ourika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Bab Ourika Hotel Ourika

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing