We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely gorgeous!”
Review of Kasbah Bab Ourika

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kasbah Bab Ourika
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ourika
Certificate of Excellence
Hyattsville, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We attended a wedding at Kasbah Bab Ourika and it was the most romantic, unforgettable, beautiful location for a wedding. The staff were amazing; always friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. The hotel was clean and very well cared for. The rooms were spectacular with amazing views. It was such a pleasure to be outside of the city and experience a more relaxed atmosphere. The hotel has its own vegetable gardens which provide lots of fresh produce for the meals. The breakfasts were fantastic with fresh fruit, orange juice, homemade granola, homemade bread, yogurt and eggs. The staff were great with our kids and really did their best to make sure we were comfortable and had what we needed. The hotel manager was also very helpful in organizing excursions and activities for the kids like donkey rides, camel rides and hikes in the mountains. The hotel is nestled in the mountains with 360 degree views of mountains and small villages. We really couldn't have asked for a more amazing experience! I would highly recommend this hotel for a family, couple or wedding party. It is an experience you won't soon forget.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    99
    23
    7
    6
See reviews for
110
330
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were booked in for the last two nights of our holiday and wished we had arrived much sooner. Currently just about our favourite hotel anywhere - and we've been to over 50 countries. A kind and generous welcome, fantastic views, a placid atmosphere ... can't recommend it enough, or wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We've booked Kasbah Bab Ourika, well in advance because it has only 10-15 rooms. It was expensive, too! But once you enter their garden, it all make sense.

Luscious gardens, pool, their own organic vegetables, and the view. The view is indescribable! Mountains, valleys, desert, houses, roads and the night is just seasoned with huge sky and the stars.

Room was cute, not so big but it had fireplace and every afternoon a guy would come to light it up. Bathroom was great and their own line of cosmetics is fabulous. It's a pity they are not selling it.

Once you are in Kasbah Bab Ourika, you can not really go anywhere. Not that you even want to, but be prepare for high prices of snacks, drinks and absolutely overpriced food. Dinners are great and you really have a special feeling being among so few people in the place.

After week of surfing on the Atlantic, it was perfect place to go. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms are so diverse, you should try your luck :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mare_Genova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The drive to Kasbah Bab Ourika gets more and more interesting as the tarmac runs out. You really feel like you are getting away from everything and escaping the hustle of Morocco/Marrakesh. If you are a nervous driver/passenger, I would probably recommend a taxi, or closing your eyes, as the roads are quite steep and narrow!

Amanda, the manager, is what makes this hotel. She is so accommodating and helpful with anything you require or need to know.

We were here for a wedding. There were several young children. The staff could not have been more accommodating and organised children’s meals each day for us.

Our room was delightful. Very comfy bed, very spacious, nice bathroom. There is a nice pool area and several places to relax. The food is good and waiters very attentive.

I don’t really have any complaints about this hotel. Service is great, location is great, hotel is great. Would recommend

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snips1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I can't give the place enough compliments. They exceeded all sorts of expectations from a customer service point of view with excellent communication and service.

The Kasbah is set in beautiful, quiet surroundings, with plenty of places to enjoy the view and a nice pool. The drive up in itself is an experience and a much needed espace from the heat and hustle of Marrakech.

We like to eat in nice restaurants and the Kasbah was amongst the best food we had in Morocco and good value! The portions are small, yes, but this encourages you to have some of the fine desserts.

In short:
The Kasbah: Beautiful, peaceful, well serviced
The Rooms: Spacious, Great bathrooms but Hot as no a/c
The Food: Fantastic with brilliant drinks selection

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SahilSharma1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at this resort for three nights and four days. It was very very relaxing and quiet and we had an overall good time.

It is a beautiful property tucked in the middle of the mountains with only nature around you and nothing else. The swimming pool, where we spent most of our time is not very large but has a great view. Generally it is meant to be a relaxing experience so you are always forced to be mindful of how much noise you are making or how loud you can be. I found that a bit frustrating after a few days.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served at the resort and made by the staff. There is a few choices for each meal and you are asked to provide your preference a couple of hours in advance. The food was OK but not outstanding.

I think it is a good experience for families (most of the demographic there anyways).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLKNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed in for 3 nights, and I wish we could have stayed a bit longer :) After a warm and friendly welcome, we entered into a little green paradise! The view all around is just amazing, like a little Moroccan Grand Canyon, and the gardens call for peace of mind. You can find several spots where you can just sit or lay down to read, relax, sleep... The concept of this place seem to whisper "no stress, take it easy, we'll look after everything..." And so it is. The owner is really nice, always available and smiling when you need something, as the whole staff. The food was very good too, you can taste the freshness of the homegrown vegetables. What more can I say? This place is definetely worth a visit! Greets from Luxembourg :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ourika
15.5 mi away
Kasbah Tamadot
Kasbah Tamadot
#1 of 4 in Asni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
10.8 mi away
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel
3.1 mi away
Auberge Le Maquis
Auberge Le Maquis
#2 of 3 in Ourika
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Domaine de la Roseraie
Domaine de la Roseraie
#2 of 2 in Ouirgane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kasbah Agounsane
Kasbah Agounsane
#3 of 3 in Ourika
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
23.0 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#53 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Bab Ourika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Bab Ourika

Property: Kasbah Bab Ourika
Address: Tnine Ourika, Ourika, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Ourika
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ourika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasbah Bab Ourika 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bab Ourika perches majestically on a hilltop at the apex of the Ourika Valley, guarding the gateway to the snow-capped Atlas Mountains – yet it is only 45 minutes from Marrakech’s International airport. With 360 degree panoramic views, this innovative new hotel receives warm sunlight all day, ending in spectacular sunsets. From its unique eyrie-like position it offers a birds eye view of the Atlas, of traditional Berber villages and of the lush river valley below. The Kasbah is one of the most eco-friendly hotels in Morocco; constructed principally from rammed earth, the traditional Berber building technique, it seems almost to have grown out of the rocks beneath. The thick walls provide such good insulation that air-conditioning is unnecessary. Solar panels provide hot water for the hotel and and the underfloor heating in the dining and bar area. Soon a biodigester will provide electricity and compost not only for the hotel but also for the village below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Kasbah Bab Ourika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Bab Ourika Hotel Ourika

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing