We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream hotel”
Review of Kasbah Bab Ourika

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kasbah Bab Ourika
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ourika
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A dream hotel”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Kasbah Bab Ourika was all that we could have hoped for and more. The setting is simply stunning and the house and gardens are beautifully decorated and maintained. There is a wonderfully relaxed feel to the place and it would be easy to just laze by the peaceful pool or relax in one of the quiet sitting areas dotted about the gardens. We did manage to tear ourselves away for a walk to the market (very interesting) and for a 4 hour walk into the surrounding hills which was a great way to get a feel for the countryside. Amanda was really friendly and helpful, as were all the staff. The food was generally excellent. It's hard to think of anything that could have been better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkingboots05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    100
    24
    7
    7
See reviews for
116
334
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
welling
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We arrived at this fantastic location by a four wheel drive vehicle which was just amazing. the roads were a little scary at times but the views were WOW.
The Kasbab was unbelievablly good everything from start to finish of our 2 nightds there was fantastic.
The Views
The Rooms
The service
The Food
The Meals
The Massages
The Drinks
The Staff
The Trekking
Just Amazing and great value for money. Even the slight rain session on our final day didnt dissapoint.
If you are going to Morocco then this place is a must.
FIRST CLASS.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roygarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

As I flew into Marrakech, I rehearsed my wish list....a comfortable hotel well off the beaten track (yet handy for the city); somewhere with awesome vistas of the snow flecked mountains and maquis beneath (rather than close-ups of serried ranks of flesh tattoo-ed twixt nape and toe); a place where one ate unpretentiously and in the company of other diners who communicated quietly and amiably with each other (rather than sitting with fixated, silent stares at their iphones and ipads, or behaving raucously and intrusively); a location where one could either escape in the acres of garden for moments of solitude and reflection or just walk straight into the countryside (rather than needing to leap into a 4x4).


Five days later, as I flew out, I realised I had achieved everything I had aspired to, at Kasbah Bab Ourika. Many thanks to Amanda ( the manager), to the staff, and to the other guests for their contribution to a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hunger4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

we stayed 2 nights/days at the kasbah and wished we would have more time! such a beautiful place, a perfect get-away if you want to relax. great rooms, nice pool, absolutely stunning garden, delicious food, they can organize nice walks for you - a perfect place that we can totally recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This Kasbah is definitely worth the 1hr drive from Marrakesh, it is located remotely in a beautiful, very green hilltop and you can see the top of the highest mountains capped with snow. It was so relaxing after a hectic couple of days in Marrakesh.

The Kasbah has an expansive, well maintained garden, a swimming pool and plenty of space to sit down and relax.
We stayed for only 2 nights but the staff were very helpful all the way through. I was most amazed how the time for breakfast and lunch was explained: "until everyone is served".
We actually had a VERY late breakfast and lunch, after a good lie in and lazying around the pool to our heart's content.
Perhaps thanks to the way the rooms are laid out, it is very quiet and you will be surprised how full it actually is when you go for dinner (you have no other option but to eat at the Kasbah as it is so remote.)
All the meals we had at the Kasbah were excellent.

The only let down was that we were unable to access to the wifi in the reception area, and there is no wifi in the rooms.

It was already well above 30 degrees during the day and we were very pleased to have early summer holidays (sun & swim) in April. Next time we would like to do some activities - e.g. hike with a guide to a Berber village or water rafting.
We will definitely be back, fingers crossed that the amazing setting and service will continue!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chickpea_London316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavenham
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I am somewhat surprised at the universally rave standard of Tripadvisor reviews for Kasbah Bab Ourika. Yes, it has a lot of good qualities. But there are also a fair number of faults too.
The good qualities first. The grounds are gorgeous, with lovely views. Trees and shrubs planted five years ago are coming to a good size and many of the trees are flowering for the first time this year - in April the air is full of the scent of mimosa and citrus blossom. There is a lovely pool with sun loungers and numerous other places around the gardens to sit and read or otherwise pass the time of day.
Our room was comfortable and having the fire lit as the evenings began to cool was a treat.
There is a wide range of places to have meals as well as the restaurant itself, including most of the outdoor terraces. Especially at breakfast one can sit where one wants. On the whole the food was good - sometimes delicious, sometimes less so.
Admirably, the hotel employs 56 local Berber staff and encourages their families to grow produce for the hotel to buy. This has clearly transformed the local economy.
If so inclined there are lots of optional activities, from guided walks to donkey or camel rides.
BUT our bathroom was intermittently whiffy and later in the season when the weather becomes hotter I'm not sure it would have been OK.
Service was distinctly patchy. Though friendly and willing, quite a few of the waiters spoke almost no English or even French and were unable to explain an item on the menu, and had clearly not been trained to go and find out the answer if they didn't know it. At our first breakfast we had no idea what was on offer and at no time did anyone tell us. It just arrived. Eventually. At breakfast in particular service was very slow - and one evening we waited 45 minutes at our table for a pre-ordered meal, not even being brought a basket of bread.
It seemed to us that there was no effective restaurant manager. Certainly no-one was overseeing either slowness or menu explanations, and no-one had been trained to look to see if anyone was trying to attract their attention. And no matter how slow, there was never any apology. Left over wine was re-distributed to tables at the next meal almost randomly. Several times we were brought bottles with either a lot more or a lot less than we had left the meal before. And though always sorted out, in the end I found this and the slow service annoying.
In the two internal main courtyards around which the hotel is built, rather tacky (and certainly tatty) plastic sheeting is slung over as a quasi roof to keep out the rain. Some rain protection is obviously necessary but it seemed a great shame that in a stylishly designed place they should come up with such an unattractive solution.
Finally, I thought it was overpriced. With an almost entirely local staff, with wage levels extremely low, it is galling to be charged £5 for a beer - much higher than in Marrakech, and even more than one would pay in London. And the optional extras are expensive too. I wondered how much of what hotel guests were paying went to the guides, and suspected is wasn't much.
All in all, I would recommend this place but with quite serious reservations. Had there not been such rave reviews on Tripadvisor I might not have been so disappointed. As it was, it did not live up to my expectations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank An173dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We has a fantastic stay at KBO. The natural surroundings are beautiful and the Hotel have enhanced this by laying out such wonderful gardens - including all of the home grown vegetables used in the kitchen. We loved our Treks - doing 3 different ones each morning - with different guides. It was great to learn about the Berber culture and see their villages close up. The longer walk with a pic-nic and accompanying Donkey was the most enjoyable. All of the staff were very freindly and efficent. Food was excellent and varied. The children (9-10) really loved the place as well - having croquet and badminton as well as the pool to entertain them in the afternoon really helped. They also enjoyed having a donkey on a couple of the Treks ! We ended up spending an extra half day than originally planned (enhanced by Amanda arranging for a late check-out) - it was a wrench to leave and we would love to think we could get back one day.

Room Tip: Room 5 was fantastic for our family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baronsboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ourika
15.5 mi away
Kasbah Tamadot
Kasbah Tamadot
#1 of 4 in Asni
785 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kasbah Agounsane
Kasbah Agounsane
#3 of 3 in Ourika
77 reviews
10.8 mi away
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Domaine de la Roseraie
Domaine de la Roseraie
#2 of 2 in Ouirgane
335 reviews
3.1 mi away
Auberge Le Maquis
Auberge Le Maquis
#2 of 3 in Ourika
69 reviews
20.7 mi away
Domaine Malika
Domaine Malika
#1 of 2 in Ouirgane
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Bab Ourika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Bab Ourika

Property: Kasbah Bab Ourika
Address: Tnine Ourika, Ourika, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Ourika
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ourika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasbah Bab Ourika 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bab Ourika perches majestically on a hilltop at the apex of the Ourika Valley, guarding the gateway to the snow-capped Atlas Mountains – yet it is only 45 minutes from Marrakech’s International airport. With 360 degree panoramic views, this innovative new hotel receives warm sunlight all day, ending in spectacular sunsets. From its unique eyrie-like position it offers a birds eye view of the Atlas, of traditional Berber villages and of the lush river valley below. The Kasbah is one of the most eco-friendly hotels in Morocco; constructed principally from rammed earth, the traditional Berber building technique, it seems almost to have grown out of the rocks beneath. The thick walls provide such good insulation that air-conditioning is unnecessary. Solar panels provide hot water for the hotel and and the underfloor heating in the dining and bar area. Soon a biodigester will provide electricity and compost not only for the hotel but also for the village below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Kasbah Bab Ourika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Bab Ourika Hotel Ourika

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing