We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Setting”
Review of Kasbah Bab Ourika

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kasbah Bab Ourika
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ourika
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2012

At the end of a dusty, bumpy and winding road lies the wonderful Kasbah Bab Ourika. The setting is truly magnificent! The Kasbah sits high on a hill looking down over patchwork fields of cultivation and traditional homes and in the near distance are red coloured mountains with contrasting dark green trees. It is quite breathtaking!
I loved the understated decor - tasteful, stylish in a subdued, classy style. Tones of white, beige & putty in the bedroom and roomy bathroom - with expansive glass to take in the view while soaking in a deep, luxurious bath. There was a private terrace off the suite with deck chairs and straw hats provided...and views into the mountains & valleys that are unsurpassed.
The numerous sitting, TV and lounge areas are beautifully decorated - loads of comfy lounges and an eclectic mix of antique and rustic furniture.
Dinner was a memorable experience - the food delicious and service efficient and friendly. A wonderful touch were the candlelit lanterns evenly spaced in the internal courtyard....setting an exotic and romantic mood.
Breakfast, served under a loggia covered with white bougainvillea, was absolutely delicious. The food was fresh and plentiful with a great choice. Just to give you an example - there was freshly squeezed orange juice; diced fresh fruits with homemade yoghurt; home made jams; plate of sliced freshly picked tomatoes, drizzled with fruity olive oil and snips of basil; a herb omelet....freshly baked bread....!!
I loved the gardens - rows of vegetables and herbs - all used in the food prepared for us. As well as the extensive vegetables and fruit trees, there are beds of roses and lavender. You can sit in numerous places amidst the garden and saviour the view.
A special mention must go to Amanda, the Manager. What an asset to the Kasbah! She is passionate about the local culture; has a wonderful & lively sense of humour; warm and welcoming and offers tips and advice with a smile! She oversees the Kasbah shop which offers traditional woven rugs, blankets and a range of silver jewellery at very reasonable prices. Amanda will organise shipping of purchases as well!
We were very impressed with the hotel philosophy of employing local people; selling local products (woven baskets) and even buying home grown produce from the employees.
This is a perfect place to relax and unwind. A place to pamper and indulge oneself. Unfortunately, we only stayed one night but wished it had been many more.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 603 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2012

Breakfast in the terraced gardens, surrounded by lavender and orange treess, looking out over the woody hills with the snow-topped mountains beyond, against a backdrop of blue blue skies, was as close as I've been (or am likely to get) to heaven.The room, the courtyard, the staff were impeccable too. We stayed just after Christmas, when it was almost empty, and although the nights were freezing, it was cosy with log fires everywhere, including in our room, and in the day the sunshine was brilliant. One day we borrowed bikes and cycled along the track above the river through remote villages; another time we walked over the wooded hills at the back of the kasbah, met shepherds and schoolboys, got thoroughly lost, and found our way back in time for a wonderful dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MirandaSheffieldUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Kasbah Bab Ourika in late December for 2 nights, wished we had of booked for longer! We had the most relaxing time and felt we were there for a week.
The staff are wonderful and service is at that perfect point where they are making sure you have everything you need at all times, but never intrusive.
We booked a guided 3 hour hike and a camel ride through the Berber Villages, which were both interesting and good value, the remainder of the time we just lazed about reading and relaxing, enjoying the spectacular views.
The food was absolutely sensational, fresh and homemade straight from the garden, truly divine! We also felt excellent value for money.
The room we were in was glorious and romantic with the open fireplace, bed was soooo comfortable, I wanted to stay forever! Well done Amanda and team, you have created a fantastic experience for people! I will not hesitate to come back to visit if in Morocco again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lcookie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We had the holiday of our lifetime here, and I cannot go far enough in saying it was a blissful experience. My husband booked the kasbah for our honeymoon and I knew nothing of it until we arrived. It was out of the way and the further we drove to get to it, the more beautiful the scenery. The earth is bright red where Bab Ourika is situated, and our room gave the most stunning views onto nothing but raw Ourika valley landscape. The kasbah itself is thoroughly Moroccan, with beautiful decorative details, and open enough to get a sense that you are inside the valley and experiencing something of Morocco.
The design gives the sense of nooks and crannies, and so it feels like you are there by yourself. It is the perfect romantic retreat. Our room - like most - was not on a corridor but the only door up a little flight of steps, it felt like a little villa rather than just a room. The bathroom was palatial, and the minimal layout emphasised the earthy feel of the entire kasbah. We received an upgrade on arrival to the honeymoon suite which I could not recommend enough. The pool is small but lovely, and the atmosphere very tranquil - it would not be ideal for children (which makes it perfect for honeymooners!)
The food was fantastic. A small-ish selection encourages you try new Moroccan things, and it was non-fussy and simple in itself. It has meal-times of about 2 hours and the restaurant is outside if the weather is good. This was my highlight: the lighting was gorgeous, and the views out of this world. There are lamps scattered about, canopies lit up, and intimate tables; the most romantic setting you can imagine.
The staff were very friendly, especially since it was Ramadan at the time, and very hot. The manageress there could not have been more lovely.
We did not go on any of the organised trips, and the kasbah is extremely remote. If that is what you are looking for out of your trip, then this could not be more perfect.
I am begging my husband to take us back for my 30th birthday!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I stayed at Kasbah Bab Ourika (980 m above sea level) with my husband for three nigths in late December 2011, and really had the most wonderful time there. Staff was very friendly and helpful, the room and the lodge was beautifully designed, food was good and the views the most amazing I have ever seen. We came there to relax, but also to walk in the nearby hills, forests and mountains. There are no maps of the Ourika valley that are easily available (seems that they have to be ordered from a special goverment office), so we were unsure if we had to hire a guide. It turned out that there are several treks and roads nearby the kasbah that are easy to find and that offers walks with wonderful views. We chose to walk on our own two of the days we were there, and found all the people we met in the numerous berber villages in the area, very friendly. On the third day we hired a guide through the hotel, a berber guy who had spent most summers in the area as a child. With him we designed a walk exactly as we wanted; 4 hours of walking up in the mountains on treks we would never have spotted ourselves (up to 1600-1700 m), and he also shared a lot of local knowledge with us, about the current conditions for the local berbers. The kasbah can really be recommended and I hope to go back there in the nearest future. Mariann

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We spent only two nights at Bab Ourika, in early December 2011, but we will certainly be going back. The setting and surroundings are fantastic, the food is very good (albeit more European than Moroccan), and the staff friendly and efficient. We were lucky enough to get an upgrade (to an amazing suite) so cannot comment on the rooms but I'm sure they are great. Almost worth going just for the gardens!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorsetHedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

By far the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in. My boyfriend and I spent three nights at Bab Ourika, having come from 3 nights in Marrakech. Amanda and her team could not do enough to make us welcome and relaxed. Whether you want to go horse riding, have a hammam, go for a swim or have a massage in your room this place has it all - if they don't just ask and it can be arranged. We hotel is intimate, staffed almost entirely by local Berber people and was simply fantastic. April was a little chilly but not cold (after all you are 1000ft up) but the whole experience was amazing. Would really recommend a visit here...we had such a fantastic time!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kateroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ourika
2.3 mi away
Kasbah Agounsane
Kasbah Agounsane
#3 of 3 in Ourika
77 reviews
15.5 mi away
Kasbah Tamadot
Kasbah Tamadot
#1 of 4 in Asni
812 reviews
3.1 mi away
Auberge Le Maquis
Auberge Le Maquis
#2 of 3 in Ourika
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel
20.7 mi away
Domaine Malika
Domaine Malika
#1 of 2 in Ouirgane
510 reviews
23.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#18 of 502 in Marrakech
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Bab Ourika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Bab Ourika

Address: Tnine Ourika, Ourika, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Ourika
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ourika
Price Range: $171 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasbah Bab Ourika 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bab Ourika perches majestically on a hilltop at the apex of the Ourika Valley, guarding the gateway to the snow-capped Atlas Mountains – yet it is only 45 minutes from Marrakech’s International airport. With 360 degree panoramic views, this innovative new hotel receives warm sunlight all day, ending in spectacular sunsets. From its unique eyrie-like position it offers a birds eye view of the Atlas, of traditional Berber villages and of the lush river valley below. The Kasbah is one of the most eco-friendly hotels in Morocco; constructed principally from rammed earth, the traditional Berber building technique, it seems almost to have grown out of the rocks beneath. The thick walls provide such good insulation that air-conditioning is unnecessary. Solar panels provide hot water for the hotel and and the underfloor heating in the dining and bar area. Soon a biodigester will provide electricity and compost not only for the hotel but also for the village below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Kasbah Bab Ourika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Bab Ourika Hotel Ourika

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing