We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bed and Breakfast of a very High Standard”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
front terrace with view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Montpeyroux, Puy-de-Dome, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Ted H
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Bed and Breakfast of a very High Standard”
Reviewed May 3, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Chez Helen offers perfection in every sense. The location of this quirky ancient property juxtaposed in one of the ‘Beaux Villages de France’ is in itself very central, being immediately beneath the Donjon tower. It has one of the finest views imaginable out towards the volcanic heights of the Auvergne, (when we visited, they offered a distant dreamy snow-capped fairy tale appearance). Parking for visitors in this essentially car-free medieval village is not permitted, however Helen provides a parking space mmediately adjacent to the B&B suite.

The accommodation is second to none, being very comfortable, lavishly appointed and spacious and having its own private terrace overlooking the stupendous view. Breakfast is served in the medieval bare rock barrel-roofed salon and it is a well designed and filling meal: Helen could not have been more obliging or thoughtful over every detail. I thoroughly recommend this jewel.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mifanning
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb property in central France”
Reviewed June 17, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The Auvergne region of France is noted for its rustic beauty, fantastic cheeses and magnificent "puys" (ancient volcanoes) strung along the Massif Central. Well, you can add "Chez Helen" to the list of notables in the region. Situated in one of France's certified "most beautiful villages," this B&B run by transplanted Brit Helen Pittman, with the able assistance of husband, Kevin, is delightful on several counts: the home itself sits high in this medieval village, nestled under an ancient Roman tower, which affords it terrific views of the surrounding Allier valley; composed of beautiful arkose golden sandstone, the home is beautiful to behold and cozy and warm inside; Helen is wonderfully accommodating and her varied breakfasts are sure to please; finally, the room itself is charming, with an en-suite bathroom and a window overlooking the surrounding countryside. It has our highest recommendation.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful kind review! So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Chez Helen .... it was lovely to meet you both and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at some point in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oonitoon
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Simply Delightful”
Reviewed January 10, 2017 for a stay in November 2016

What a wonderful little find. Echoing the other reviews Helen and her husband Kevin were just lovely, could not do enough to ensure our stay was enjoyable. When we arrived the weather was cold and dreary but the Chambre was warm and inviting. Helen was so helpful in arranging dinner for our second night of stay and offered lots of suggestions for places to visit and shared her maps of the local area with us. This village is beautiful and very historic. Even though the weather was not very good it did not matter. Helen is just delightful. Could not recommend this place highly enough. (and Brock - sorry if I got his name wrong - the dog is a joy)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 12, 2017
Thank you so much Oonagh for your lovely review! So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we will have the pleasure hosting you again at some point in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karensfre...
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Chez Helen was pure excellence!”
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Helen and Kevin were lovely hosts and their BNB is in a beautiful historic town with incredible views. The room was comfortable and well appointed; Helen was the consummate host. She helped us get a last minute dinner reservation when we arrived very late, which was quite kind. Her breakfast the next morning was amazing - yogurt and berries with homemade compote, a selection of meats and cheeses, and a variety of breads and homemade croissants. On top of all of this, the view both from the room and your private terrace was unbelievable. We would love to come visit Helen, Kevin, and their dog Brock again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, the food, the hosts!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2016
Thank you very much Karen I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in Europe. Hope to see you both again sometime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anguskeit...
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
Reviewed June 15, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

After more than twenty years staying at bed and breakfasts in France this was without doubt one of the best. Beautiful accommodation, decorated in great taste and with a stunning view from your own private terrace. Add to this a great breakfast including home made jams and you have the perfect place to break your stay if you are travelling South . All of this in a fabulous historic village in the beautiful Auvergne that really deserves a two day visit. However above all it was the great service we loved! Thank you- we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: everything!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2016
Thank you so much for the great review! I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It would be lovely to see you again when you are on your travels and passing through the Auvergne .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluebellp...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
722 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed June 3, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This B&B is within a mile from the autoroute and extremely convenient for travellers. It is in a medieval hilltop village that has been beautifully restored with numerous old worlde steps and cellars. As expected the village is now full of artisans and excellent restaurants but you would be advised to ask Helen to book dinner before you arrive. All are within walking distance. The roads are very narrow and parking outside a property can be problematic. However there is plenty of safe parking spaces around. Our room had a separate entrance with a very comfortable bed and great views across the mountains. The furnishings are bright and modern and the adjacent living room, with a good wifi signal, is a relaxing place. Helen and her husband are knowledgable and personable hosts and we were welcomed with a glass of wine. Indeed Helen went out of her way to ensure we had a good time. The house is most unusual and it is worth asking for a look around. Breakfast is served in the living room with a selection of breads, cereals, hams and cheese but also homemade jams. Overall, bearing in mind the quality of the accommodation and local restaurants, it is worth altering your route to stay here. We shall certainly return.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2016
Thank you so much for your great review! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Chez Helen and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHeig...
Winchester, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful and tranquil stay in the very heart of the village.”
Reviewed April 11, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The B&B is located right below the old donjon that dominates the village. There are wonderful views from the terraces across open countryside and on to the mountains in the distance (still snow capped when we visited!).
Our room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable, with modern ensuite facilities. Our host, Helen, (English but a long term resident of the Auvergne region) could not have been more welcoming and provided lots of advice and guidance on what to do and see during our stay. We were provided with a plentiful and enjoyable breakfast each day of our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly welcome and excellent location
Liked least: We couldn't stay longer!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2016
Thanks so much for your very kind review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Chez Helen... It was lovely to meet you both and I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing