We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderfully charming château in a magnificent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de la Marronniere
Ranked #2 of 4 Aizenay B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have just returned from a holiday in France touring Brittany and the Vendee region and I have to say the highlight was stumbling across this magnificent place to stay. The interior of the house is decorated so beautifully that my wife spent considerable time documenting it photographically. It really is finished with the utmost taste and French country style. Our hosts were so charming and helped us plan a few days exploring this wonderful area over maps spread out on the breakfast table each morning. And an excellent breakfast awaits as we were treated to all manner of home made wonders each morning although the highlight for me was the vanilla cream pudding we had on the first day. The pool is excellent although we didn't spend a lot of time there as there is so much in the area to go and explore with some dramatic scenery and great walks. And your host is more than happy to help you choose a restaurant each evening. We planned to stay one night, we ended up seeing out our holiday there. Very charming.

Room Tip: Oooh, go for the big room.. two rooms, a massive bathroom.. at 130 euros you can afford it..!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 52 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

Ever dreamt of spending a few days in a French chateau – then dream no more!

We have just spent four nights in this beautiful house. Accommodation and interior decoration is magnificent with a superb lounge and elegant dining room. Our room was ‘Le Petit Bois’ and it was a delight. It was beautifully furnished in keeping with the building and the most spacious bathroom imaginable. Shutters kept the airy bedroom cool during the day and ensured a good night’s sleep.

For warmth and friendliness, the owners, Marie-Hélène and Francois-Xavier are perfect hosts – with lots of thoughtful suggestions for local beaches and restaurants; even helping us plan a day out cycling around the Ile d’yeu (thoroughly recommended!).

The gardens are extensive and very quiet and the large swimming pool is a big bonus, especially after a hot tiring day.

For luxury, relaxation and great hospitality then La Marronnière is recommended.

Room Tip: Le Petit Bois is a spacious room with magnificant bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noxas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at Château de la Marronnière in mid-August 2012. Our time could not have been better and we really found a home-way-from-home in France's beautiful, green Vendee region. Our room "La Rotonde" was spacious, charmingly furnished, very clean, quiet and cool at night. The breakfast in the morning is simply delicious, and throughout our days we enjoyed the large pool, the green gardens, exploring the region or relaxed at the nearby beaches (~ 30km). Marie-Helene and Francois-Xavier are your perfect hosts for a trip to France if you do not want to stay in the very middle of typical, over-crowded touristic areas. We will definteley come back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EzPablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariefrance672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hubert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 413vm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delphine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau de la Marronniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Marronniere

Address: 12 la Marronniere, 85190 Aizenay, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > Aizenay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Aizenay
Price Range: $167 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located between sea and countryside, the Chateau de La Marronnière is a privileged place for soothing holidays and for exploring the Vendee. Established in a large park with secular trees, this awesome XVIII century residence, fully renovated in 2008, offers 3 elegant double rooms and one large family suite for four people, all equipped with spacious end comfortable bathrooms.On the estate, guests can just relax in the garden, enjoy the swimming pool (16x6 m) or multiple on-site leisures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chateau de la Marronniere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing