We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clisson- Worth a Visit”
Review of Cite Medievale

Cite Medievale
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Clisson
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cornwall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clisson- Worth a Visit”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Get restaurants, shops, Chateau and one of the best hotels we have stayed in for a many years. We found a bar just by the bridge which was the meeting point for all the locals. We spent over an hour people watching and were late for our dinner reservation.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AlHardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    55
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
209 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A misleading attraction heading”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is not a cite medievale but a 18th century romantic town built on a medieval site, with its original chateau and a few other vestigaes and street patern. I think this makes it unique, normally at that time they attempted recreations (for example Carcassonne) not introducing concepts from a different tradition. However, it is a facinating town to visit, especially when you consider that before the rebuilding, the town ruins were populated by wolves.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank railtraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One of the prettiest and strangest small towns in France”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The site is magical, set in a river valley at the junction of two streams, Le Sèvre and La Moine. One can see why two eccentric brothers decided to do a very odd repair job it in the early 19th century, by Tuscanizing it! When I first realized the extent to which they had red-tiled the place, I was appalled, but I soon learned that they had found the city in dire straits following the War of the Vendée, and had decided to do a massive renovation job. They must have asked many of the then property owners, "Would you like your house repaired for nothing?" I'm only guessing, but I can't imagine they had purchased more or less the whole town and repaired it that way. One wonders if there has ever been anything quite like it in the world – a small city totally renovated by two enterprising entrepreneurs.

Regardless of that (and the Tuscanizing does take a little getting used to) it is a very pretty town that still has sufficient traces of its medieval past, especially in its non-Tuscanized château (about the only thing they didn't touch) and its narrow streets and lanes. The city has spread considerably nowadays and is quite large compared with the old walled city of yore, but the centre is still there and you can get lovely views overlooking the river and La Trinité district from the castle side. A really lovely little town.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marrlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Brit in France
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful town”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Meander through the little streets, visit the church and chateau an absolute delight.Beautiful views of the river and chateau from the town.You can hire a canoe and go on the river on go for a walk through the park and down to the river,a wonderful day out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank zoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
404 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Typical town”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

If you wish to enjoy a walk in a typical french town with large history , you could try this one ; upper side of the city is nice but try also the walk near the river which give you a large view of the aera

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevelair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cite Medievale also viewed

Clisson, Loire-Atlantique
Clisson, Loire-Atlantique
 

Been to Cite Medievale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing