We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Worth seeing

We wanted a day away from the beaches so headed to the area for a walk. The tourist information... read more

Reviewed August 30, 2016
MMcDonald17
,
Bradford, United Kingdom
outstanding !

it is a unique type of cave that I never seen before. unfortunately they do not allow taking... read more

Reviewed October 29, 2015
Marius S
,
Marbella, Spain
via mobile
Read all 248 reviews
  
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveler rating
6
1
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
1
1
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed August 10, 2017 via mobile

We had been to the Karpin Abentura nearby and received a discount entry to these caves as part of our entrance fee. It seemed a shame not to visit as it was so close by. It's a winding road up to the cave car park, and we were surprised to find a restaurant bar there, with good views across the valley. The bar did a decent 'menu Del día' which we didn't sample but the drinks were good and very well priced. We had forty minutes to kill before our cave tour so this did the trick perfectly. The tour was scheduled to last for 35-40 minutes but lasted 55. We were given English translation handheld devices which was a nice touch, but they only gave sparse information, whilst the tour guide spoke at length and in detail. The cave itself is impressive. There is also an auditorium outside where they have live music performances so it seems a busy and well supported place. Entry for 2 adults and a toddler was only €11 with the 20% discount.

1  Thank TheLegendWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pozalagua, Responsable at Cuevas de Pozalagua, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Thank you for your opinion!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2016

We wanted a day away from the beaches so headed to the area for a walk. The tourist information pointed out the caves within the town and we booked on the day for the next tour.
Booking isn't essential although at busy times it may be advisable.
We were told to wear jumpers as the temperature certainly drops significantly in the cave.
The cave was enormous and worth seeing.
It should be noted that the guide speaks only Spanish for the tour but our guide stayed back with us part way through to translate a summary of what she had presented.
The cost was only 3 euros per person so very affordable.
No photographs are allowed but that wasn't an issue for us, we wanted the experience and it was actually rather nice being somewhere without cameras and mobiles everywhere.

1  Thank MMcDonald17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2015 via mobile

it is a unique type of cave that I never seen before.
unfortunately they do not allow taking pictures at all. you are requested to leave cameras outside.
very cold inside. . . please take warm clothes.

Thank Marius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2015 via mobile

This is the one think you must visit if you only do one thing when in Northern Spain.
About 10km south of Laredo on a fast road then a further 6km up a steep winding mountain road. But we'll worth the drive even if you have to drive rom Bilbao or even San Sebastian. The visit 7€ adults and 4€ kids is breath taking. As you descend into the cave the magnitude and beauty is immediately apparent and only gets better as walk deeper into the cave.
The formations are not to be seen anywhere else in the world,
I can't believe it is not better advertised as we were all in awe of it's beauty, take warmer clothes if visiting on a hot day as the temperature is always 13degrees C

1  Thank Marcel82014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2015

There was everything to like about these beautifully lit caves from the easy access to the informative guide and ultimately to the astounding phenomenon of horizontal stalactites which are only to be seen in one other location in the world. The information centre is well-resourced and has clear information..

Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2015

This caves are just incredible. No wonder Repsol consider them as Best Spanish Corner in 2014. The views from the 'mirador' are also spectacular... What a place...

1  Thank bg_glas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Highly spectacular and silenced our moaning children who were in full whinge mode after twisty journey to the cave.

We were given handheld audio guides, which added to the experience

1  Thank Muttons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing sight to visit. We didn't know what to expect when we read the very little amount of marketing material available on this cave - but don't let that fool you. He drive from Bilbao alone was amazing. Rural towns, mountains and very curvy roads (warning for weak tummies). Once nearly above the clouds, the old mine is visible. The tour is only in Spanish, but they do have language electronic devices to help. The tours are only when there are a minimum of 6 adults present. We had to wait an hour, but no problem with the views and mini-museum on site. The cava was incredible and so so worth the wait. A must see for everyone. Another hidden wonder in north Spain. Don't miss this one!

1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews