We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Presbytere - best French cooking, by an Irish chef”
Review of Le Presbytere

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thezan-Les-Beziers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Presbytere
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was our first experience of Le Presbytere and the hospitality offered by Síle and Martin Dwyer but we hope it won't be our last. From the instant we arrived everything was done to make our stay a delight. Going canoeing? Síle proffered towels and river shoes. To the beach? Martin produced a beach umbrella. But it is the food, cooked enthusiastically by Martin that completes the experience. Dinner each evening consisted of great food and interesting conversation - while we were there we met guests from Ireland, the UK, Spain, Germany, Holland and France. On our last evening there we had dinner that started with prawns cooked in butter with sorrel grown in their own garden, chicken with lemon and thyme and dessert of caramelized puff pastry with nectarines cooked in brandy and walnut and toffee ice cream. Dinner is served on the terrace overlooking the garden and with lovely views of the evening sky. There is even a nightingale singing from the tree in the garden. And our bedroom was very comfortable with great attention to detail, including proper bedside reading lamps. This is indeed a very special place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank margaretdancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 51 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

Having already experienced Martin & Síle's hospitality in their previous Irish restaurant 'Dwyer's' of Waterford, myself and three friends arrived at Le Presbytere, Chambre d'hote, with high hopes. We were not disappointed and in fact have left, just today, full of memories of hearty laughter, excellent food and delicious local wine. Our accommodation was delightful. All four double, en-suite rooms elegantly decorated with views of the pyrenees or swallows flying criss-cross the Eglise. The old town of Thezan is worth exploring on foot, with wine-tasting close-by. But a car is essential to take full advantage of all the local attractions. The mediterranean is only 20 mins away, there are beautiful old towns and cities like Carcasson, Narbonne and Agde a short drive away, and vineyards everywhere - with 'degustations' (wine-tasting) in many of the local 'caves'. We dined at the Le Presbytere on our first night, a 5-course extravaganza, and myself and one other vegetarian were well catered for. Our meat-eating friends quacked their way to bed after duck comfi with orange and ginger sauce. After breakfasting on fig jam with Martin's French brioche version of his Mother's classic Irish currant cake (local orange peel the addition) Martin and Síle sat down and helped us plan our days excursion. This became a morning ritual and we were despatched with sun umbrellas, maps and water - all eventualities covered! Having said that we were always eager to get back to enjoy a glass of Kir on the veranda with our hosts and other guests! You will definitely feel part of the family and leave promising that the next trip will be longer still!

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the house may be cooler, although the back have more long-reaching views. Ben...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RuthW_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

What a delight this place is - I was struggling to find accommodation in Beziers and came across Le Presbytere by chance. What a find! Run by Martin and Sile Dwyer, Irish expats and absolutely charming hosts, they make you feel right at home as soon as you arrive. Kettle on or a cold beer - whichever you fancy. Wonderfully located in the heart of the village of Thezans les Beziers, they've done a beautiful job upgrading this lovely old house into a delightful chambre d'hote. Each of the 4 rooms is simply but elegantly furnished with really effective use of the colour of the orginal floor tiles, quality fabric and attention to detail. As a former restauranteur, Martin effortlessly knocks up a 3 course dinner each evening, taking the very best of local ingredients to create simple, fresh and very tasty menus. The aperitifs and wine flow as does the conversation. Amazing value and high recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank The_travelgurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Is this the best place to stay in the Beziers area?. We cerrtainly think so!!

Martin and Sile Dwyer offer the warmest Irish welcome,in their beautifully restored house in Thezan les Beziers. The rooms are elegant and comfortable, Great beds and beautifully chosen furniture to match the wonderful fin de siecle tiles. Martin cooks the local produce with flair, respect and understanding, and matches with local wines - just a delight. We stayed with the Dwyers when purchasing our own home near by. The warmth, assistance and local knowledge that we found was exceptional. If you get a chance...just go!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Fionnuala22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We recently enjoyed three days of gourmet dinners, comfortable accommodation and lavish French style breakfasts at Le Presbytere. After years of running a highly rated restaurant in Ireland, Martin Dwyer and his wife Sile are the most congenial and hospitable of hosts, and Martin's culinary and social skills make dinner a truly delicious, gourmet affair.
Bezier is well situated for exploring the South of France and Spain, if you feel inclined, and our favourite discovery was Aigues Mortes in the Camargue, an amazing walled town built by Louis IX in 1241.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VickiSharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Charming restored presbytery with wonderful breakfast. We had evening dinner too– and what a dinner! Four superb courses with aperitifs and wine for €30 per head served on delightful terrace. Informal, friendly and very welcoming. It’s a little hard to find but it’s beautifully situated in a lovely village and well worth the effort. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iolarwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JEAN-MICHEL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Presbytere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Presbytere

Address: 14 rue Rene Lentheric, 34490 Thezan-Les-Beziers, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Thezan-Les-Beziers
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thezan-Les-Beziers
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing