We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“De Lucia Inn Hotel - Costa Rica”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel De Lucia Inn

Hotel De Lucia Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel De Lucia Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Cerro Plano B&B and Inns
Michigan
Level Contributor
257 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 567 helpful votes
“De Lucia Inn Hotel - Costa Rica”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2009

We stayed at the De Lucia Inn Hotel for one night with a small tour group (12 people).

The room doors only stayed shut when locked. Our room smelled musty. I killed at least ten different types of bugs and spiders during our short stay in our room. Upon arrival there was also a cigarette butt in the toilet and a used bandaid in the shower.
There was no air conditioning.

The hotel has a restaurant across the road where we ate dinner and breakfast. I thought that it was some of the worst food that we had the entire time in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lithlith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    2
    6
    0
See reviews for
1
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2009

The room we stayed in was large (16 vaulted ceiling), very clean, and the bathroom was also, large, clean, and very nice. However, it was very loud at night... I'm not sure if it was just our suite but the wind seemed to get into the roof and it created enough of a racket that we couldn't sleep without ear plugs. The staff was very nice and helpful, and as mentioned the rooms were large and clean, the only reason I would recommend not staying there was due to noise (and maybe it only affects some rooms)... but it was very noisy and we couldn't sleep.

However, we would strongly recommend the restaurant... best meal I had in all of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgainOnTheRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
262 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2009

Stayed 2 nights as part of a group tour. We were all in the original 12 room block and the upstairs balcony was great for a pre-dinner drink. The room was fine - try not to have one of the middle rooms downstairs because all the plumbing from the three rooms above goes down a trunking in the corner. Free internet at reception. Hotel in a very quiet situation, but only a short walk from its own (very good) restaurant and two or three more just up the road. The sandwich shop run by the two American ladies (top of the road, turn left and it's just past the first restaurant) was brilliant. Night walks into the forest about 200m away. Also a tram that ran round the forest taking about 1 1/2 hours was very interesting.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank martyngs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2008

Check in and out was very easy and pleasant and the staff are very helpful, let me use the reception PC to check my emails etc at no charge.

The room comes with complimentary breakfast across the road in the restaurant, which is VERY nice and the servers are very kind. The food was a good selection, cereals, fruits, eggs, breads/toast, tea, coffee and juices. VERY impressed.

Problem with this place is the rooms. They are dark, slightly smelly (damp?) and feel very enclosed due to the lack of light and the wood panelling on the walls. The room is generally very dated and I would struggle to recommend this hotel to anyone for this reason.

The staff work hard, but they have a very old styled property with which they are working with. Needs significant renovations.

  • Liked — Go to the sandwich shop at the top of the road (opposite Sophia's restaurant), great service & sandwiches to DIE FOR!
  • Disliked — Old dated rooms
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Carpediem-mmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2008

de Lucia Inn was very clean and nice. No bugs or anything as I was reading about in other places. Showers were hot. Price included breakfast and got a huge serving of fruit, granola, yogurt, coffee and juice.

Only drawbacks when we went were that reception wasn't always covered but you could go to the restaurant across the street and they helped you out. We had one of the 7:30AM guided tours and needed to leave by 7AM were told that the restaurant opens at 6:30AM but it didn't open until 6:45AM. But it could have only been that one day.

The ecological sanctuary and butterfly farm are just down the road and restaurant Sofia just down the road is fabulous. I would recommend that over the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debsen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2007

We spent 1night at De Lucia Inn and loved it. Rooms were clean & tidy, the staff were great.
The resturant across the road was excellent, if you left there hungry, there is only one person you could blame.... youself!! We had an evening meal and breakfast.
We loved the area and if we ever return to Costa Rica, we WILL be going back there.

  • Liked — Clean & tidy
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2003, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BazilBrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The location of this hotel was perfect. It's close to everything. Taxi-ride was cheap and it could take you everywhere. The room was clean and the building was well-maintained. You could use the internet at the reception desk free-of-charge. Of course, there was an 1-hr limit and there was only 1 station. Hotel staff was friendly. We especially liked the restaurant of the hotel. The food was very delicious and it's highly recommended. The hotel is very close to the butterfly garden (10-min walk). It's a very nice garden. It's worth to spend a couple of hours there to see different kinds of beautiful butterflies.

  • Liked — great food
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank happyziggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cerro Plano hotels
0.0 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.0 mi away
Casas del Toro Apartments
Casas del Toro Apartments
#1 of 2 in Cerro Plano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Forest Dreams Hotel
Forest Dreams Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cerro Plano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Lucia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Lucia Inn

Property: Hotel De Lucia Inn
Address: Cerro Plano 5655, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Cerro Plano
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cerro Plano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel De Lucia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Lucia Inn Costa Rica/Cerro Plano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing