We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stopped here by accident”
Review of Hotel U Castellu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel U Castellu
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vivario
Swannanoa, North Carolina
Level Contributor
137 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“We stopped here by accident”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We were going North on the central road and found a place we might like, but there were many barking dogs. Because we had not booked ahead, we ended up stopping at this hotel. Even when we parked, there wasn't much room, which told us it was popular. So, we parked our hideously large Mercedes (junk) car and checked in. The stairs were old and steep, the room was OK but not great. The price turned out to be, by far, the largest we paid in 14 days in Corsica. As we had eaten a huge lunch not too many miles away, we stayed in our room. We had been told that that night there was a big meal and music. Yes, we heard the music, but weren't in any mood to go and visit. That may have been our own fault. By going to their web site since, I've seen that they like to offer two nights for the price of one (115Euros) and throw in dinner and the whole singing stuff. It seems like you stop here by accident and gain by doing so. Had we known this, we might have stopped a little longer and paid the same price!

Room Tip: I'm not sure, but they all seem to be upstairs and a long drag with any baggage. It was a long w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    25
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
9
39
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
New South Wales
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We spent two nights at this delightful small hotel located right in the centre of Corsica. Comfortable room, friendly staff, very good food. Not far from several towns but the sense of isolation is apparent due to the mountainous terrain. Located in a beautiful forested area, with extensive walking trails and a nearby railway which would offer impressive views of the countryside if time permits a half day return trip. Corsican drivers are very 'confident' about their share of the narrow roads, but it's well worth exploring their fascinating island.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BathurstBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed two nights in Hotel U Castellu. It is a small multi-story inn with a charming little social gathering area on the ground floor, where they serve food, and where they sometimes have a folk music night. We were there for the music night and it was a perfect and memorable evening, along with the wine and great conversation among ourselves. They also invited me to play guitar with them, so I did, and that was even more amusing for our group.

The restaurant was good but not excellent. The service was excellent.

The setting is at high elevation in the mountains, in a forest of 150+ foot tall trees. You can hike right off the back of the hotel into the mountain trails--day hikes or more. In the hotel were hikers taking a good night's sleep during the GR20 hike.

We were the only Americans anywhere to be found; there were Europeans from all over there. People were so friendly!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We ended up staying for dinner and night in this small charming hotel on our way to Ajaccio as we got stuck in the snow in the Vezzanova pass.
We enjoyed chatting around the fire place with the owner and the crew. The rooms and bathrooms are lovely.
We did not have it but they offer music / singing performances on a regular basis and there are lots of hikes accessible from the hotel.
the landscape covered in snow was wonderful with the morning sun.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArnoFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vivario
3.5 mi away
Le Vizzavona
Le Vizzavona
#1 of 1 in Vizzavona
18 reviews
8.5 mi away
Les Jardins De La Glaciere
4.0 mi away
Hotel E Caselle
Hotel E Caselle
#2 of 3 in Venaco
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Hotel Arena Le Refuge
4.1 mi away
U Palazzu
U Palazzu
#3 of 3 in Venaco
41 reviews
13.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Artemisia
Boutique Hotel Artemisia
#1 of 1 in Bastelica
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Castellu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Castellu

Property: Hotel U Castellu
Address: Rn 193, 20219 Vivario, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Vivario
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vivario
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel U Castellu 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of Corsica, in the heart of the forest Vizzavona. U Castellu is a charming hotel opened in July 2010 offering comfortable rooms in a charming and an exceptional site! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel U Castellu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing