We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil and very high standards”
Review of Domaine de Pine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blaymont
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Domaine de Pine
Ranked #1 of 1 Blaymont B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed in the Gatekeeper's cottage (a studio apartment) for a week in August 2012. Marcus and Cathy and Chris and Sharon made us feel most welcome and helpfully pointed us in the direction of local places to visit. Marcus and Cathy have ensured that the Gatekeeper's cottage and the rooms in the main house (which we were shown) have been established to a very high standard. The heated swimming pool set within 4 walls was one of the best we have encountered and the "loungers" are of a high quality. The scenery and rolling countryside in the surrounding area is a joy to behold.The area is peaceful and yet only about 10 minutes by car to a small village with local facilities and an excellent bakery. We took advantage of one evening meal on the terrace where the views are superb. The meal was homely but the 4 courses were a little more than we could manage. Cathy kindly offered us the cheese course the following evening which we very much appreciated. We would definitely return if we decide to visit that area of France again

Room Tip: The Gatekeeper's cottage offers an excellent self catering opportunity. It is well equipped for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montyglos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcusbecker, Owner at Domaine de Pine, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you so very much for the lovely review. It is greatly appreciated and I shall pass your compliments onto Cathy, Chris and Sharon. It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us. We truely take a pride in what we offer at Domaine de Pine and (hopefully) look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again very soon. Kindest Regards. Marcus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 84 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is an incredibly beautifully renovated property, with extremely tasteful fabrics and furnishings. The outside courtyard and gardens are also fabulously cared for and maintained, giving a very luxurious feel throughout. It wouldn't look out of place in an interior design magazine!

We stayed in the Gatekeeper's lodge - across the courtyard from the main house, for a week in August with our 2 children. I would advise not to stay in the Gatekeepers Lodge if you do have children (OK if you have a baby in a cot) due to the one-room and the fact it is more of a 'studio/room' than a 'gite', which made it too cramped really for a family of 4. However, we were made fully aware of the size of the room and set up by Cathy, who very kindly called us to explain in advance, it was just a case of us realising we need separate rooms next year!

Whilst the pool setting was beautiful, in a walled area filled with flowers, it was quite small, so if one other family with children were in the pool, it felt pretty crowded, and the entrance to our room was right in front of the pool entrance.

We had 2 dinners and 1 breakfast prepared by the owners and the quality of the dinner was outstanding; fresh and tasty. Unfortunately the cost of the breakfast at 18 euros per adult and just 15% discount for children meant that it was the most expensive cereal, pastries and melon we have ever come across! Cathy was, however, very flexible when I questioned the children's prices. The breakfast was very fresh and the view from the outside table is breathtaking, but I would recommend the lovely bakery 10 minutes drive away, especially if you have children.

The owners were very helpful and very friendly at all times, with great attention to detail, and made us feel very welcome. They have done an amazing job making such a luxury, high quality place (a rarity in France!) and I would definitely recommend it, particularly for couples. My personal highlight was the hammock in the cool shady lawned garden, and the table by the little dovecot, where we often took our breakfast or supper.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyGreatDunmow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcusbecker, Owner at Domaine de Pine, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you very much for your lovely compliments! It has been tremendous fun creating Domaine de Pine and we still have lots of ideas on how we can continue to improve with plans for a fantastic outdoor kitchen next summer. It would be great to see you and your family again and perhaps you should consider staying in the Manor House Family Suite affording you alot more space?

With regards to the price of breakfast, the standard of breakfast required by our guests seems to vary enormously from those just wanting a black coffee to those wanting everything on the menu and to linger on the terrace most of the morning! Being a boutique Guest House, we dont carry large stocks and buy everything fresh, so breakfast is a difficult meal to cater and to cost. Perhaps I could suggest that if you do wish to return next year, we can discuss your specific breakfast requirements in advance? Having the ability to be flexible is one of the advantages of having a boutique Guest House!! Kindest Regards Marcus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We have just spent two weeks travelling through France and can say, without a doubt, that our stay at Domaine de Pine was the highlight of our whole trip. We travel a great deal and this sort of a gem is a rare find. From the moment you arrive, until the moment you leave, you are made to feel special. We stayed in the main house and were able to catch up with all the action at the Olympics in the very lounge every evening before dinner with a lovely glass of ice cold wine. The standard of food is excellent and all freshly prepared and cooked daily. We are planning to return again next year but this time we will stay longer. Special thanks to Sharon and Cathy for the AMAZING meal they cooked for us on our last night!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcusbecker, Owner at Domaine de Pine, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It really is greatly appreciated. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Domaine de Pine. We loved having you as our guests. I shall pass your compliments on to Sharon and Cathy who take a pride in making the dining experience very special. We look forward to welcoming you here again next year. Kindest Regards. Marcus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My last trip to Domaine de Pine was in August 2010, a romantic weekend away, this year i returned with my two children, aged 4 and 5. Marcus and Cathy were delighted to see us again, and greeted us as old friends, (even though we had two children in tow) and they did everything they could to accommodate us as a family group. I am delighted to say that de pine has been sympathetically developed since my last visit. the pool is now heated, and the children played for hours in it enclosed location, the 'secret garden' made for a wonderful adventure area for my sons, and for the adults BBQ and Tuesday Chef night was a delight, cathy and marcus arranged a earlier dinner for the children so we could have the 'night off'. The room was spotless, and i mean spotless, with a room tidy every day it remained so. yes i received a bill at the end, and in relation to surrounding prices i thought it was very fair, and given the personal service,actually very reasonable. i will be returning and recommend to anyone looking for a week of time well spent.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsFitzgerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcusbecker, Owner at Domaine de Pine, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review for Domaine de Pine. It was lovely to see you again and great fun to spend some time with your children! We all thoroughly enjoyed having you as our guests and it was our pleasure to look after you. We hope to welcome you all back again very soon. Kindest Reagrds. Marcus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Domaine de Pine is a really special place, in a beautiful part of France. The house is gorgeous and the rooms are large, very comfortable and beautifully decorated. We stayed in The Francoise Room which has a really modern shower room with under floor heating and nice soaps etc are all supplied. The pool area is a haven and a real sun trap having been built within the walls of an old stone barn. The food is of an excellent standard and we particularly enjoyed out Tuesday night, as every Tuesday a different chef comes and cook a four course dinner. We were made to feel very special by everyone and nothing was too much trouble. Thank you for a wonderful time and a brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcusbecker, Owner at Domaine de Pine, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you very much for your great review of Domaine de Pine. I'm really delighted that you enjoyed our 'Chefs Tuesday' as this is something new we have done this summer. It was an absolute pleasure to have you and your husband stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again very soon. Kindest Regards - Marcus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

He stayed here for one night, the staff was extremely friendly and courteous. The grounds were beautiful, relaxing and very quiet. We wish we could have spent more time there. The food was excellent. Breakfast on the terrace was a dream. There is a breakfast menu its not included with the room. They use high quality ingredients and they will make you pretty much what you want. Rooms were very clean, modern and nicely decorated. Service was impeccable, would definitely go back.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank synthiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcusbecker, Owner at Domaine de Pine, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you very much for your lovely review! It is sincerely and whole heartedly appreciated by all of us at Domaine de Pine. Cathy and Sharon take a real pride in their cooking and try to make every meal a memorable feast! We look forward to welcoming you back very soon - Marcus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Quite simply the worst holiday experience we have had. The place itself is gorgeous, however as the owners had family staying with them, we were the only guests there. We were made to feel like we were imposing on their family holiday, whereas we should have been the priority given the €700+ we paid to stay. I just wish the owner had told us it wasn't possible given this, but instead was happy to take our hard earned money and deliver a 3rd rate experience.

I was in fact told the opposite before hand; that the owner had friends and family staying but that this wouldn't be a problem and in fact would give us the run of the place. Instead we had to put up with blaring music well into the evening on the first few nights and the pool was dominated by this music and the family (mainly teenagers and their friends). Who would want to deny them the chance to enjoy themselves? Certainly not us, but as paying guests, after the first time of asking, there should have been a response. We should have been respected and should have been the priority, otherwise, don't agree to having us stay. We were however marginal and irrelevant.

There are certainly positives, most notably Chris and Sharon who were running the place on behalf of the owners. They couldn't have done enough but were put in an awkward position by the owners. They also seemed to sympathise with our predicament and said they had spoken to them about some of our concerns, however nothing came of this. One of the owners collected us from the nearest village when we couldn't get a taxi, which was very good of him...for a fee of course.

I was quite shocked with the final bill, not because there were things I hadn't expected, but because I couldn't believe there was no recognition of the issues we had had.

Chris and Sharon, if they stick around, are a shining light in an otherwise unpredictable setup. And as I have said, the site is beautiful.

However I would warn anyone considering booking this place to think twice. It appears this is not their only business and this is reflected in their attitude, which is blasé to say the least. It is not the first time I have experienced businesses where the owners livelihood does not depend on you enjoying and spending your money with them.

If you do stay here, always make sure you know exactly what the costs will be before you accept anything. You won't want any surprises.

Ultimately, if you have the money to stay here, you should stay somewhere else. And that's an honest reflection of our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 349JamesW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcusbecker, Owner at Domaine de Pine, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

I fell in love with this area of France and knew when I first saw Domaine de Pine that I had found my new home. Creating a luxury guest house in rural France has not been easy and I am very proud of what we have been able to create. I can absolutely assure you that I value every single guest. I truely try hard to take on board all critisms to learn and continually improve what we do and offer, even when I feel they are unjustified.

Prior to booking the self contained Gate Keeper's Cottage I personally told you about that my family would be there for 3 nights of your 6 night stay and subsequently offered you a discounted price on the gite, which you accepted. When you complained that the music around the pool was a bit loud, it was immediately turned down and that night you were given a complimentary bottle of wine.

Despite strongly advising you that you needed a car, you had no mode of transport and actually 'got a lift' every morning with Chris (our manager) into the local town, when he went to collected the breakfast croissants etc. You were never charged for these lifts - we were just happy to help. When we had to make special journeys to collect you, pick you up etc we made a nominal charge.

You never gave us the opportunity to cook lunch or dinner for you - you wanted to be self catering, which we totally respect. However, we are all therefore completely puzzled why you would be shocked at the final bill as it only consisted of your transfers to and from Agen train station (which we had previously advised you of the cost) and the cost of collecting you one night from Rocacor?

Your 'terrible' review implies that we did not make you feel special. You booked the self contained gite and dispite numerous offers for drinks, food etc you declined absolutely all hospitality. I am utterly at a loss as to what more we could have offered you? Yet, more than two months later, you choose to write such a horrid review?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Domaine de Pine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Pine

Address: Blaymont, 47470 Blaymont, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Lot-et-Garonne > Blaymont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Blaymont
Price Range: $99 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A meticulously retored 17th century manor house set within a 52 acre private estate transformed into a wonderfully luxurious boutique hotel with individually designed bedroom suites and also one self contained gate keeper's cottage. One of the most beautiful features of the property is a heated swimming pool set built within the walls of an old stone barn, surrounded by wicker loungers with deep comfortable cushions.Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be provided by arrangement . New fitness room for 2014 ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing