We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Domaine de Pine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blaymont
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Domaine de Pine
Ranked #1 of 1 Blaymont B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highlight of our trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We have just spent two weeks travelling through France and can say, without a doubt, that our stay at Domaine de Pine was the highlight of our whole trip. We travel a great deal and this sort of a gem is a rare find. From the moment you arrive, until the moment you leave, you are made to feel special. We stayed in the main house and were able to catch up with all the action at the Olympics in the very lounge every evening before dinner with a lovely glass of ice cold wine. The standard of food is excellent and all freshly prepared and cooked daily. We are planning to return again next year but this time we will stay longer. Special thanks to Sharon and Cathy for the AMAZING meal they cooked for us on our last night!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcusbecker, Owner at Domaine de Pine, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It really is greatly appreciated. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Domaine de Pine. We loved having you as our guests. I shall pass your compliments on to Sharon and Cathy who take a pride in making the dining experience very special. We look forward to welcoming you here again next year. Kindest Regards. Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    9
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
17
47
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

My last trip to Domaine de Pine was in August 2010, a romantic weekend away, this year i returned with my two children, aged 4 and 5. Marcus and Cathy were delighted to see us again, and greeted us as old friends, (even though we had two children in tow) and they did everything they could to accommodate us as a family group. I am delighted to say that de pine has been sympathetically developed since my last visit. the pool is now heated, and the children played for hours in it enclosed location, the 'secret garden' made for a wonderful adventure area for my sons, and for the adults BBQ and Tuesday Chef night was a delight, cathy and marcus arranged a earlier dinner for the children so we could have the 'night off'. The room was spotless, and i mean spotless, with a room tidy every day it remained so. yes i received a bill at the end, and in relation to surrounding prices i thought it was very fair, and given the personal service,actually very reasonable. i will be returning and recommend to anyone looking for a week of time well spent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsFitzgerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcusbecker, Owner at Domaine de Pine, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review for Domaine de Pine. It was lovely to see you again and great fun to spend some time with your children! We all thoroughly enjoyed having you as our guests and it was our pleasure to look after you. We hope to welcome you all back again very soon. Kindest Reagrds. Marcus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Domaine de Pine is a really special place, in a beautiful part of France. The house is gorgeous and the rooms are large, very comfortable and beautifully decorated. We stayed in The Francoise Room which has a really modern shower room with under floor heating and nice soaps etc are all supplied. The pool area is a haven and a real sun trap having been built within the walls of an old stone barn. The food is of an excellent standard and we particularly enjoyed out Tuesday night, as every Tuesday a different chef comes and cook a four course dinner. We were made to feel very special by everyone and nothing was too much trouble. Thank you for a wonderful time and a brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcusbecker, Owner at Domaine de Pine, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your great review of Domaine de Pine. I'm really delighted that you enjoyed our 'Chefs Tuesday' as this is something new we have done this summer. It was an absolute pleasure to have you and your husband stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again very soon. Kindest Regards - Marcus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Emilion, France
Level Contributor
150 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

He stayed here for one night, the staff was extremely friendly and courteous. The grounds were beautiful, relaxing and very quiet. We wish we could have spent more time there. The food was excellent. Breakfast on the terrace was a dream. There is a breakfast menu its not included with the room. They use high quality ingredients and they will make you pretty much what you want. Rooms were very clean, modern and nicely decorated. Service was impeccable, would definitely go back.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank synthiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcusbecker, Owner at Domaine de Pine, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review! It is sincerely and whole heartedly appreciated by all of us at Domaine de Pine. Cathy and Sharon take a real pride in their cooking and try to make every meal a memorable feast! We look forward to welcoming you back very soon - Marcus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Quite simply the worst holiday experience we have had. The place itself is gorgeous, however as the owners had family staying with them, we were the only guests there. We were made to feel like we were imposing on their family holiday, whereas we should have been the priority given the €700+ we paid to stay. I just wish the owner had told us it wasn't possible given this, but instead was happy to take our hard earned money and deliver a 3rd rate experience.

I was in fact told the opposite before hand; that the owner had friends and family staying but that this wouldn't be a problem and in fact would give us the run of the place. Instead we had to put up with blaring music well into the evening on the first few nights and the pool was dominated by this music and the family (mainly teenagers and their friends). Who would want to deny them the chance to enjoy themselves? Certainly not us, but as paying guests, after the first time of asking, there should have been a response. We should have been respected and should have been the priority, otherwise, don't agree to having us stay. We were however marginal and irrelevant.

There are certainly positives, most notably Chris and Sharon who were running the place on behalf of the owners. They couldn't have done enough but were put in an awkward position by the owners. They also seemed to sympathise with our predicament and said they had spoken to them about some of our concerns, however nothing came of this. One of the owners collected us from the nearest village when we couldn't get a taxi, which was very good of him...for a fee of course.

I was quite shocked with the final bill, not because there were things I hadn't expected, but because I couldn't believe there was no recognition of the issues we had had.

Chris and Sharon, if they stick around, are a shining light in an otherwise unpredictable setup. And as I have said, the site is beautiful.

However I would warn anyone considering booking this place to think twice. It appears this is not their only business and this is reflected in their attitude, which is blasé to say the least. It is not the first time I have experienced businesses where the owners livelihood does not depend on you enjoying and spending your money with them.

If you do stay here, always make sure you know exactly what the costs will be before you accept anything. You won't want any surprises.

Ultimately, if you have the money to stay here, you should stay somewhere else. And that's an honest reflection of our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 349JamesW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcusbecker, Owner at Domaine de Pine, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
I fell in love with this area of France and knew when I first saw Domaine de Pine that I had found my new home. Creating a luxury guest house in rural France has not been easy and I am very proud of what we have been able to create. I can absolutely assure you that I value every single guest. I truely try hard to take on board all critisms to learn and continually improve what we do and offer, even when I feel they are unjustified.

Prior to booking the self contained Gate Keeper's Cottage I personally told you about that my family would be there for 3 nights of your 6 night stay and subsequently offered you a discounted price on the gite, which you accepted. When you complained that the music around the pool was a bit loud, it was immediately turned down and that night you were given a complimentary bottle of wine.

Despite strongly advising you that you needed a car, you had no mode of transport and actually 'got a lift' every morning with Chris (our manager) into the local town, when he went to collected the breakfast croissants etc. You were never charged for these lifts - we were just happy to help. When we had to make special journeys to collect you, pick you up etc we made a nominal charge.

You never gave us the opportunity to cook lunch or dinner for you - you wanted to be self catering, which we totally respect. However, we are all therefore completely puzzled why you would be shocked at the final bill as it only consisted of your transfers to and from Agen train station (which we had previously advised you of the cost) and the cost of collecting you one night from Rocacor?

Your 'terrible' review implies that we did not make you feel special. You booked the self contained gite and dispite numerous offers for drinks, food etc you declined absolutely all hospitality. I am utterly at a loss as to what more we could have offered you? Yet, more than two months later, you choose to write such a horrid review?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pau, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

We have just spent 4 great days, being wined and dined superbly. The accommodation was great with food of an excellent standard. The hosts really catered for all of our needs and were most charming company. I would without hesitation recommend staying here and I feel sure that we will return.
Julie and Phillipe Ross

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilippeR752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcusbecker, Owner at Domaine de Pine, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely comments! We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Domaine de Pine. We enjoyed having you stay as our guests and look forward to welcoming you again. Kindest Regards, Marcus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

We arrived on 24th September 2011 for a much anticipated week’s stay in the Gatekeeper’s Cottage at Domaine de Pine. The grounds are lovely and the residence set in picturesque surrounds in a beautiful part of France.
However, what should have been a delightful French experience evolved into one of our most disappointing ever travel experiences.
We chose Domaine de Pine because the hosts/owners lived on-site in what is a relatively isolated area. Per their website at the time, and literature in the Cottage, it offered luncheon hampers, breakfasts and dinners on request.
Early the morning after our arrival, our breakfast was served in the grounds on a very chilly morning. Within 30 minutes the hosts/owners waved us goodbye and set off on their planned holiday.
Our dissatisfaction stems from the fact that the hosts/owners were not on-site to provide the additional services they offered on their website. No-one was on hand when there were power blackouts at night, problems with the washing machine, and no clear maps or directions in English, of local attractions. No access to UK Sky TV (as advertised) as the Sky TV Card had expired.
There was no-one living on the premises to assist during the entire length of our stay. We did not have the option of the ‘Barbeque’ as advertised. We were on our own, and the only guests for the week. We had paid in full for the ‘privilege’ of staying at Domaine de Pine months in advance. We were not given an option to choose alternative accommodation when the hosts/owners made their plans to be absent the entire length of our stay.
As stated it was a bitter disappointment and we certainly would not recommend this establishment to friends or to our local travel agents in Australia.

Jan and Sherril
Sydney
Australia

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RobynS50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fieldview730, Public Relations Manager at Domaine de Pine, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
We are so very sorry that you were disappointed that the owners of Domaine de Pine were unable to be present during your stay in the self contained gate keepers cottage. We are delighted that you liked the property and the surrounding area ( and pleased we were able to offer you exclusive use of the pool for the week to enjoy.) Although the gate keeper cottage is self contained, guests may request breakfast, luch and diner served by the pool or on one of the beautiful terraces.

The property owners, Cathy and Marcus, take great pride in Domaine de Pine and the services offered to all guests. They personally introduced you to the staff at Domaine de Pine and stressed that if you wanted anything, to simply ask. Cathy also gave you her mobile number and again stressed that if you wanted to speak to her at any time, to simply call. You didn't call.

Cathy telephoned you mid-week but was unable to speak to you and so left a message on your voicemail asking if you were having a lovely holiday and to give her a call back if there was anything you needed? You didn't call.

If you had wanted a picnic hamper, lunch by the pool or indeed anything, the staff were on hand daily to assist you with any request or a call/text to Cathy and she would have happily arranged anything for you.

However we must sincerely apologise for the lack of the sky card. This mistake was due to human error, for which we are very sorry. A new system has now been introduced so that this error can never occur again.

Apologies again for the electricity power failure. There are occasional problems with the French power grid which unfortunately cannot be avoided in this rural area.

Although we are obviously hugely disappointed with this review, we do appreciate the feeback as we continue to learn and improve the quality of service we offer at Domaine de Pine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Domaine de Pine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Pine

Property: Domaine de Pine
Address: Blaymont, 47470 Blaymont, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Lot-et-Garonne > Blaymont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Blaymont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A meticulously retored 17th century manor house set within a 52 acre private estate transformed into a wonderfully luxurious boutique hotel with individually designed bedroom suites and also one self contained gate keeper's cottage. One of the most beautiful features of the property is a heated swimming pool set built within the walls of an old stone barn, surrounded by wicker loungers with deep comfortable cushions.Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be provided by arrangement . New fitness room for 2014 ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing