We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Disappointment !”
Review of Domaine de Pine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blaymont
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Domaine de Pine
Ranked #1 of 1 Blaymont B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We arrived on 24th September 2011 for a much anticipated week’s stay in the Gatekeeper’s Cottage at Domaine de Pine. The grounds are lovely and the residence set in picturesque surrounds in a beautiful part of France.
However, what should have been a delightful French experience evolved into one of our most disappointing ever travel experiences.
We chose Domaine de Pine because the hosts/owners lived on-site in what is a relatively isolated area. Per their website at the time, and literature in the Cottage, it offered luncheon hampers, breakfasts and dinners on request.
Early the morning after our arrival, our breakfast was served in the grounds on a very chilly morning. Within 30 minutes the hosts/owners waved us goodbye and set off on their planned holiday.
Our dissatisfaction stems from the fact that the hosts/owners were not on-site to provide the additional services they offered on their website. No-one was on hand when there were power blackouts at night, problems with the washing machine, and no clear maps or directions in English, of local attractions. No access to UK Sky TV (as advertised) as the Sky TV Card had expired.
There was no-one living on the premises to assist during the entire length of our stay. We did not have the option of the ‘Barbeque’ as advertised. We were on our own, and the only guests for the week. We had paid in full for the ‘privilege’ of staying at Domaine de Pine months in advance. We were not given an option to choose alternative accommodation when the hosts/owners made their plans to be absent the entire length of our stay.
As stated it was a bitter disappointment and we certainly would not recommend this establishment to friends or to our local travel agents in Australia.

Jan and Sherril
Sydney
Australia

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RobynS50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fieldview730, Public Relations Manager at Domaine de Pine, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

We are so very sorry that you were disappointed that the owners of Domaine de Pine were unable to be present during your stay in the self contained gate keepers cottage. We are delighted that you liked the property and the surrounding area ( and pleased we were able to offer you exclusive use of the pool for the week to enjoy.) Although the gate keeper cottage is self contained, guests may request breakfast, luch and diner served by the pool or on one of the beautiful terraces.

The property owners, Cathy and Marcus, take great pride in Domaine de Pine and the services offered to all guests. They personally introduced you to the staff at Domaine de Pine and stressed that if you wanted anything, to simply ask. Cathy also gave you her mobile number and again stressed that if you wanted to speak to her at any time, to simply call. You didn't call.

Cathy telephoned you mid-week but was unable to speak to you and so left a message on your voicemail asking if you were having a lovely holiday and to give her a call back if there was anything you needed? You didn't call.

If you had wanted a picnic hamper, lunch by the pool or indeed anything, the staff were on hand daily to assist you with any request or a call/text to Cathy and she would have happily arranged anything for you.

However we must sincerely apologise for the lack of the sky card. This mistake was due to human error, for which we are very sorry. A new system has now been introduced so that this error can never occur again.

Apologies again for the electricity power failure. There are occasional problems with the French power grid which unfortunately cannot be avoided in this rural area.

Although we are obviously hugely disappointed with this review, we do appreciate the feeback as we continue to learn and improve the quality of service we offer at Domaine de Pine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 85 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2011

Our stay here for 5 nights in August was the highlight of my summer. Cathy and Marcus were exceptional hosts and the entire ambience,Cathy's magnificent cooking and quality of everything from the bed linen to the pool loungers make this place very special. Do dine there, do have an alfresco lunch by the pool, do relax on the terrace with one of Marcus' legendary Harvey Wallbangers and you will go back! Enjoy your Italy trip guys and thank you so very much. Ewan and Dee.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EwanDSuffolk_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Where do I start with commending the owners, Marcus & Cathie, of this beautiful property and what they have achieved to make this place extra special? It was simply stunning. From the moment we arrived we were greeted to hospitality that was second to none.

Drinks were served on the terrace and Cathie ensured that these were replenished continuously without being intrusive. We had opted to have dinner for our first night - a sumptuous 5 course meal that competed with any Michelin star restaurant. Cathie ensured attention to detail in her setting of the table and provided her superb culinary delights on the terrace (under a gazebo with fairy lights & music of your choice) overlooking the stunning valley views. So impressed we were by our first meal we decided that we would not eat anywhere else for our 8 night stay. We were even more impressed to be asked what we would like cooked as everything that Cathie prepared was freshly bought & cooked for us that day....My, oh my, we are much heavier as a result, even when we were completely full Cathie asked if we were ready for the cheese, biscuits & bread. As in true Cathie style this consisited of 6-7 different types of cheeses & breads of many varieties!

Drinks are very fairly & reasonably priced and in accordance with any other accommodation of this standard.

Our stay was further enhanced by our beautiful bedroom, the Opaline room which has double aspect views of the valley and garden. This bedroom was huge; the bed was enormous and extremely comfortable! We were fortunate enough to be shown around the property and viewed all of the other bedrooms within the house - which would not disappoint - all are done to a high standard with "what would our guests like" in mind.

The lounge area was very tastefully done - a large lounge perfect for relaxing or even socialiising, if desired, with other guests.

We were fortunate to meet another couple whilst there, who were excellent company throughout our stay. We all had dinner together on the terrace, although Cathie was always mindful to offer other areas within the grounds should we have wished to have a quiet meal for two - there were plenty of tables to choose from should we have so desired. Our evenings were spent sitting on the terrace enjoying drinks with Marcus & Cathie at the end of the meal.

There are many other superlatives that I could use to describe our stay - it was eveything that we wanted from a holiday and more. I felt that we got good value for money and selfishly I would like to keep this retreat a secret as we want it all to ourselves!

The property is very well hidden - secluded far enough from the main road to provide a peaceful retreat, yet within easy access for visiting the local pretty villages.

We arrived at Domaine de PIne as guests, but I felt we left there as friends & this is truly thanks to Cathie & Marcus. We will return in 2012. Memories of such good times do last a lifeltime, but I think we need to keep revisiting to remind ourselves about this one....

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SAHPGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcusbecker, Owner at Domaine de Pine, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed exploring this region of France and made Domaine de Pine your 'home'. It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back very soon. Kindest Regards, Marcus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We have stayed in many self catering / B & B's through out the South and South West of France and can say that Domaine de Pine is in a league on its own, totally fantastic.
We were fortunate to stay in both the Gate Keepers Cottage and one of the rooms which were both of very high standard and offered all you would want from your stay in either of these options.
Location was ideal to either relax by the superb pool area or visit the many medieval towns and local markets. Then come the evening, either enjoy your own private terrace at the Gate Keepers Cottage or take in the stunning views on the main terrace enjoying a well earned cold beer and a class of Rose ( or two ) and then if you didn't want to venture to a local restaurant or cater for yourself, do enjoy the excellent dinner cooked by your hosts in the wonderful surroundings.
Both Cathy and Marcus were wonderful hosts, very attentive to ensure you wanted for nothing so your stay fulfilled all expectations.
It's not very often you come across a gem like this, therefore didn't really want to write a review as I wanted to keep this my secret as we will with out a doubt be going back but something as good as this you just have to share.

Neil and Alison Mellon, Cookham Dean

Room Tip: The Gate Keepers Cottage is a fantastic self catering unit and all Manor House rooms are of the high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mellon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcusbecker, Owner at Domaine de Pine, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Thank you very much for your lovely review. It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us at Domaine de Pine both in the Gate Keeper's Cottage and the Manor House. Cathy does pride herself on really looking after every guests individual cullinary needs, so I will pass on your compliments. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to Domaine de Pine. Kindest Regards. Marcus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Touring France in two weeks sounded like a leisure amount of time but I quickly realized the 14 day time allotment barely allowed my friends and I to scratch the surface of what French culture has to offer. The most memorable place I enjoyed staying at out the five stops we made was the "glorious" Domaine de Pine in Aquitaine.
For starters the views of the picturesque countryside as you wind your way to Domaine de Pine's hidden locale, made you feel like you were truly getting lost in a euphoric garden. It was a lovely and needed escape from the hype of Paris and the bustle of Marseilles, yet still close to all of the wonderful boutiques and cafes you crave while in France.
I was very impressed with the service we received from the owners who personally prepared our food...what a treat! Opposed to the previous places we had stayed that only offered bread and juice for breakfast, Domaine de Pine advised us personally of our plentiful options produced locally. With a spread of fresh fruit and croissants, coffee to die for, and hot savory dishes from the kitchen....sigh, just remembering makes me smile!
The rooms were lovely, well kept, and I felt very accommodated with the amenities provided. The owners continued their friendly hosting by providing us the history of the area as well as excellent recommendations for places to see and cafes/restaurants to dine at in town and in neighboring villages.
I can't lie that coming from America I have slightly high standards for service (which I cannot say was uniformly given throughout my trip) but at Domaine de Pine, the manor style hotel gave me the "home away from home" feel that one longs for on a vacation while still being very much in France.
The value we received for how much we paid along with the fantastic experience has already inspired our planned trip back!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gilbertkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcusbecker, Owner at Domaine de Pine, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Thank you very much indeed for your wonderful review. It was such a pleasure to have you stay as guetsts at Domaine de Pine. We rarely have American's stay, so I am delighted we managed to make you feel completely at home! If you need any help planning your next trip to France, do give me a call. Kindest Regards, Marcus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Excellent food and hospitality. The 'Opaline' room was wonderful and very romantic with a large, heavenly comfortable bed! A very enjoyable and relaxing stay in a lovely tranquil setting. The ideal "getaway from it all experience" surrounded by beautiful countryside. We explored the surrounding towns and villages by car and fell in love with the whole area. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Getaway105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcusbecker, Owner at Domaine de Pine, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am delighted that you liked the Opaline room and that you are thinking of returning. It was an absolute pleasure to have you as our guest and if I can be of any assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me. Kindest Regards. Marcus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

I don't often recommend places on here but felt I had to express our thanks to Cathy and Marcus for their welcome and attention to us during our short week with them. The setting is stunning and remote, which suited us, yet had a wealth of places to visit. Cathy was most helpful in making suggestions on where to visit and where we could have lunch. The meals were excelently cooked and presented and Cathy booked us in at local retaurants on the nights we wanted to eat out. They could not have been more helpful. We certainly could not do breakfast justice (so much choice) and the setting on the terrace was just perfect. The room we stayed in was just beautiful with great views.
Will definately be staying again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcusbecker, Owner at Domaine de Pine, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Thank you very much for your lovely review. It was an absolute pleasure to have you as our guests. Cathy really does take great pride in looking after the needs of each guests, so I will pass on your compliments. Thank you for choosing Domaine de Pine and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kindest Regards. Marcus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Domaine de Pine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Pine

Address: Blaymont, 47470 Blaymont, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Lot-et-Garonne > Blaymont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Blaymont
Price Range: $99 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A meticulously retored 17th century manor house set within a 52 acre private estate transformed into a wonderfully luxurious boutique hotel with individually designed bedroom suites and also one self contained gate keeper's cottage. One of the most beautiful features of the property is a heated swimming pool set built within the walls of an old stone barn, surrounded by wicker loungers with deep comfortable cushions.Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be provided by arrangement . New fitness room for 2014 ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing